We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value hotel and food in the Courtyard restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and i have a Groupon deal for the Red Lion and although we have been there before on two accessions (without a groupon deal) we have just had an incredible 5 course evening meal at a very very modest price with service and presentation second to none. We are in a standard twin room and although it's bathroom is quite small and the TV is small too it's more than adequate bearing in mind what we have paid. It is a very warm and comforting hotel and whoever put up the Christmas decorations deserves a special mention " Superb" highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atkins419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Atkins,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are very happy we have impressed you and look forward to a return visit.

Have a wonderful Christmas & New Year.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Grasmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

Having previously stayed at this hotel for a business conference I enjoyed a return trip. The staff are warm, friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. The food was excellent and the rooms very comfortable and warm on a freezing cold December weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning in the New Year. Thanks for a wonderful weekend and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor in a suite and it was a superb room with amazing views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Mel,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

It is always a pleasure to be able to serve your business.

And we look forward to many more visits.

On behalf of myself and all the staff Thank You! We wish you all a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Red Lion. It was warm, comfortable and well organised.The integral Lamb Inn was nicely presented and sold good real ale. Very well presented food. Hope to return in the New Year.

Room Tip: Ask for a CLub Room, which has separate seating area. Dressing gown and slippers are provided free o...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M4zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

Your comments are great and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We look forward to your return.

Many Thanks

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing nights stay at this hotel. The staff are amazing and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and to ensure we had everything we needed. The food was great and the relaxed atmosphere made our stay most enjoyable. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for posting your review.

Your comments are excellent and come very rewarding to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We visited this hotel last year and had a great time hence we decided to return again this year. Sadly we were not as impressed this time. The standard of service from some of the staff has slipped. The standard of food has dropped which we can only put down to it being a different chief from last year. Some parts of the hotel are now looking tired and need a little TLC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Janine,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I would like to find out more as this was not pointed out at the time of your stay to myself.

Please contact me direct regarding this.

Kind Regards

Chris

chris@grasmereredlionhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent service, excellent food what more can one say. Third year we have had an overnight stay at this hotel and again everything just great. Decorations for Christmas made it even more homely.

The only room problem is the bathroom shower which is in dire need of replacing. Bathroom became rather flooded when using it.

The only other problem is the parking. A large road works vehicle was using two of the very few parking spaces which caused a real problem. After driving around Grasmere 3 times we eventually dropped our spouses at the hotel and went to look for a place to park away from the hotel. However later on we managed to get a space.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel looks onto the swimming pool whilst the other into Grasmere. No problems with...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyer699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind review.

We hope the parking will not put you off returning. We always manage to find all our guest's parking.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Spent the weekend at the Red Lion in Grasmere for our works Christmas party and it was an absolutely fantastic night. The setting is beautiful and there's always a view from any window. The service was fantastic, the room was lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed the food. I would recommend it for any kind of trip.

Room Tip: All 36 of our group were incredibly happy with their rooms - and we were spread around the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Jake,

Thank you for taking time out to do your review.

We are very pleased you had such a great time!

Many Thanks

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
220 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £76 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing