We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We recently stayed at Grasmere Red Lion Hotel for a short break and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and staff were very welcoming. The room was very homely and comfortable. The breakfast bar was excellent with a large selection to choose from followed by a deilicious cooked breakfast - thank you for a very pleasant break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your great review.

The staff regularly get commented on about how friendly and helpful they are.

We aim to please and it's great to hear that we succeeded.

Many Thanks & see you again soon.

Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    455
    167
    68
    34
See reviews for
237
818
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel for three days, we got a great deal for 99pounds for the two of us with breakfast.

The hotel is in a nice quiet location, walking distance to a decent pub (Tweedies I think its called).

The rooms are a little dated, and the pool could do with a good clean (Mold on the inside of the pool). However for the price we paid we cant complain too much.

Food - We ate in the pub attached to the hotel, the food was amazing, a little dear for pub food but with the choices in the area being rather minimal it was good enough.

Windermere is only a 15minute drive away which offers more places to eat,shop and drink.

Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pmash88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your point's.

We act on all feedback and I have noted your issues.

We do look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We've just returned on 29March after a 5 night stay and have stayed at the Grasmere Red Lion many times now and love it. The hotel has charm, is clean and is dog friendly so we can take our pooch if we book selected rooms. It has a relaxed atmosphere and a very friendly staff team from the cleaners, bar and restaurant staff through to the management. We've got to know many quite well now.
We wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else in Grasmere. We've never written feedback before but felt we wanted to this time to give potential guests a wider perspective of our experience over about 8 yrs rather than a snapshot of just one stay. We hope to be back soon and hope one day to be given a very preferential rate for our loyalty!?? Just kidding.
Thanks to everyone at the Red Lion
James Moira and Scooby x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmsMoiScoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear James

Thank you for your kind words.

I will certainly look at a special rate for your next visit as we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and staff.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

we have just return from the red lion stayed for a short brek on Easter Saturday . our room was lovely over looking ash cottage , The staff were all really friendly , and made us most welcome . Grasmere village is lovely , and we will be back . thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekins666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to share your great feedback.

We look forward to you next visit.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Cosy - that's how I'd sum the Red Lion up. It's the hottest hotel I've ever been in (especially in snowy conditions) but the lounge has to be one of the most relaxing I've ever been in too. The whole place has got an old fashioned ambience to it so I guess some modern touches here and there wouldn't go amiss but there's nothing too disastrous. The male staff were all great, the females a little less friendly. The Lamb Inn food and staff were fantastic. Didn't eat in the restaurant at night but the breakfast was not so good, didn't taste that fresh and some things definitely re-heated (staff lovely though). Didn't try the pool as there was a warning in the room info about chemicals affecting jewellery that put me off... We stayed for free on our Best Western reward points so I don't know about value for money, but they do seem to offer some great packages on their website. Our room (304) absolutely stunk - source unknown, the jacuzzi bath was out of order and the bed was tiny but other than that was OK! I'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I will certainly look at the points you have raised and implement improvements.

I do hope you will return and thank you again.

Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable 2 night break away. The hotel is warm, welcoming and centrally located, with lovely walks straight from the doorstep.
Our room on the 3rd floor was very spacious, with a separate sitting room and wonderful views. The breakfast was good with a varied menu choice and the staff were friendly and efficient.
We can't wait to stay again and are planning a return trip very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest

It’s great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and your will be returning.

The staff are all very friendly at the hotel and this comes across in a lot of the reviews.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

My wife, myself and our 4 month old daughter stayed here for two nights and it was exactly what we needed. It was a nice clean hotel with nice rooms, yes it's a bit dated but hat just adds to its character with its lovely comfortable sofas, we loved it and will definitely go back. The staff were all really friendly and were constantly asking if we were alright and if they could get us anything. There was one young lad who was really pleasant and made the effort to speak to us every time he saw us and I just wish I had caught his name so I could leave a good comment. The breakfast was lovely and was served efficiently. This is a lovely hotel with nice people, it's clean and is ideal for a short break away with the family.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jonta7rug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the great feedback.

Its very rewarding for the team and great to hear you will be back!

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing