We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre for walking in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Centre for walking in the Lakes”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Red Lion is an ideal place to stay for walkers and dogs are welcomed! Our room was comfortable with a king size bed and very good shower. The staff throughout were helpful and friendly and the restaurant provided excellent four course dinner and very good value, especially if booked in advance; the menu changed daily. The sauna and swimming pool were ideal after a day's walking . We will book again for a visit in the autumn.

Room Tip: Try and book your room on the first floor, less far to carry your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willaim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your great comments.

It is very rewarding for our team to get such positive feedback.

Please book direct with myself for you next stay so I can ensure you get a great deal.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    481
    184
    70
    36
See reviews for
244
858
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Booked late, good price and other hotel tried could not accommodate us. Located in centre of grasmere village, therefore close to many restaurants and shops. Good for people with reduced mobility. Friendly staff. Room clean, comfy bed, with bath and shower but a bit small and felt a bit cramped. Lovely lounge area on first floor. Breakfast good, prompt and friendly service, regular menu, cooked of continental. Gym really not adequate, old treadmill, bike missing, weights machine out of order, old rowing machine. I have to admit, good hotel, andmi would recommend, however I will try another hotel at our next visit for room size and gym.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your great comments.

I am very sorry you felt let down by our Gym. It is on our list of to do job's and hopefully will be refurbished in the coming months.

All our rooms are different shapes and size's and we do have alot of large rooms in the hotel. It would be great if you returned to us.

If you would like to book direct with myself next time I can ensure your receive the room you desire.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute and had a very enjoyable weekend. Our room, Stone Arthur was on the third floor and quite compact, but had lovely views over the fells and Allan Bank. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and the yummiest fresh croissants. we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stone Arthur has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazandPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent comments.

It is great to hear that you will return!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights during our driving holiday through the UK. We forward booked on the way as we were having difficulty to obtain accommodation in the Lakes District. Grasmere is a great location for a base in the Lakes District and I believe that we drove every roadway in the entire district. The hotel is getting very tired but still provided very comfortable accommodation. It is very clean and we found all members of staff very helpful and efficient. Meals were very good and the Grilled Cumberland Sausages and mash was to die for. The bedroom was quite large and king bed was so comfortable. Unfortunately the bathroom was rather small and cramped, but everything worked. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. All linen, including towels were very clean and soft and we noticed that the water was also very soft. One thing we were unhappy about was that dogs we allowed on the premises. Not sure whether they are allowed in rooms, but apparently dogs are tolerated here. We felt that compared with other accommodation we experienced on our, the B&B cost was high,but the hotel appears to be constantly full.

Room Tip: Any room along the front should be good as they overlook the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback.

We are a very busy hotel so it's hard to get the time for the refurbishment works, however I can assure you that we are committed to improving the hotel and have already started work in some areas.

We hope you will return to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a fish & chips and couple of pints in the Red Lion while our stay in Grasmere. The food was superb quality and portions were HUGE! It was a mistake to order two meals, instead of one to share between us. The local ale was wonderful.
Atmosphere in the pub is really welcome and cosy.
We love Red Lion

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your great comments.

These are very rewarding for our team.

We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is ideally located in the village of Grasmere. Own restaurant and separate bar together with a pool.
Hotel is nice and friendly ,the restaurant is good and the staff very attentive.
The pool was too cold to swim in which was a downer together with a lot of refurbishing of this area, ie the sauna and steam.
Great location for walkers.....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback.

The Sauna has just been refurbished which was around the time of your stay and is full working order now. I am very sorry this was off during your stay.

I hope this does not stop you returning to us.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here for 2nights in April and we could not fault the hotel, staff or location.
We had our 6month old daughter with us and the staff were helpful, friendly and polite.
Our room turned out to be a suite and was plenty big enough for the 3 of us and was spotless.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and are booking again for December.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest

Your review is great and very much appreciated.

I know you have booked in for our half price room sale in Decemeber so we look forward to welcoming you all back then.

Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing