We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, super friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value, super friendly staff.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We visit this hotel two or three times a year and have never been disappointed. The hotel is in a good position in the village. The staff are great and the food is excellent. There is a lovely swimming pool and fitness room. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichM151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your great review.

It’s brilliant to hear that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    481
    184
    70
    36
See reviews for
244
858
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ballymoney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What a disappointment our stay was in this hotel. We have stayed several times before but this time we were allocated a room in the attic despite having spoken to the manager while booking. You couldn't whip a cat in it even with a small balcony, also a sliding door to the ensuite. We were still charged the same price as someone in one of their big rooms. Hotel in general in bad need of refurbishing, very dated, food in restaurant ok, staff in general friendly and helpful, when we complained about the size of our room the young lad at reception was not very helpful. We will not be staying there again

Room Tip: make sure you ring hotel to choose your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Stanley

Thank you for sharing your points regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly I would like to just point out that you did requests the room with the balcony knowing that this room was refurbished and smaller than the other standard rooms.

Your room rate was discounted extensively due to you being unhappy with your room whilst you were here with us. I do believe we did everything to make your stay stress free and enjoyable as we are passionate about all our guests leaving with a positive attitude.

It’s very sad to hear that after several happy stays you feel you won't return due to one issue. I would like to speak to you direct regarding this.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location is perfect, Grasmere is a really beautiful place, but the hotel needs a refurbishment. It is in the same condition as when we visited about 5 years ago. Clean, but worn. The receptionist on arrival was not very friendly, but all the other staff, especially the breakfast staff, were brilliant, very helpful. The swimming pool is very welcome, but again needs updating. Food at breakfast was excellent. The Lamb Inn (pub attached) has been refurbished and provides good food at reasonable prices. It was a bit expensive for the room provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.

The hotel is about to start a refurbishment programme so we hope you return to us in the future.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A wonderful location in the heart of this beautiful village but the over-arching impression is the friendliness of staff. This applied especially the restaurant where the (mainly Hungarian) staff could not do enough to make your visit enjoyable. The food was of an exceptionally high standard (venison, champagne sorbet were just some of the items on offer). A nice touch was the coffee lounge for use after the evening meal. Fantastic breakfast - it had everything, again accompanied by excellent service. Food was very well priced (as long as you book the dinner, bed and breakfast package). Facilities were of a very high standard. Our room, the Ruskin, had wonderful views from windows on the opposite walls: a slight snag was the fact that one had to climb 15 steps to get to the room.. Spacious, clean and very comfortable - but would have preferred decent-sized mugs, rather than the relatively small cups, for refreshments. Parking is a bit tight but we got a space each day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your great review.

Your comments come very rewarding to the team and its great you made the most of your stay.

We look forward to a return village.

Kind Regards

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Red Lion Hotel is the ideal place to get away from it all - Its situated in Grasmere which is a small and very quiet village , the hotel is lovely so are the staff, we had the use of the swimming pool ,sauna and steam room which was very welcome after the long walks we took on a beautiful weekend , try it , you wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laundrymancheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest

Your review is great and very much appreciated.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards


Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights after the Bank Holiday weekend! It is a very welcoming hotel and the staff are all excellent - especially the restaurant staff who go out of their way to make sure everyone is happy with their food. Our room (106) was cosy - very clean and well furnished. The heating was on all the time if you needed it unlike many hotels nowadays where the heating only comes on in the late afternoon. The bathroom had an extra long bath and an excellent shower. The lounge downstairs is excellent with plenty of comfortable sofas to sit and relax and complementary coffee is served there after dinner. Grasmere itself has plenty to offer and the walk up to Easedale Tarn is well worth doing as is a visit to Allen Bank, a former home of William Wordsworth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc51England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your excellent review.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

May 2013. We had a four night stay at this lovely hotel. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by the reception staff and throughout our stay all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were very attentive and there was no delay between the courses at dinner and breakfast. Our room was spacious and comfortable and kept clean and tidy. There is a comfortable lounge and bar with a very relaxing atmosphere. Full marks to a very dedicated staff for making our stay a memorable one. We will be back!
Bob & Barbara,
Preston.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guests

Your review is great and really appreciated.

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing