We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights bed breakfast and last night evening meal... Breakfast is really good, evening meal was excellent.. hotel is in heart of grassmere. Chris the manager was very helpful and could not do enough for us... All staff are helpful and very friendly. The leisure facilities were very good. If u are thinking of staying in the lakes would highly recommend u stay here.. we will definately be going back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnaandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Grasmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel location is right in the middle of Grasmere, which is a quiet village in an excellent part of the Lake District. Walks are available straight from the front door of the Hotel, so you don't need to drive at all if you don't want to. When we booked, we originally requested a room suitable for my husband and I and a dog (which they accommodate for £20) but we managed to leave the dog with neighbours. The room, we therefore, go was a room which had not been upgraded (217) and did look quite shabby to be honest. It did have a new bed, and luxurious bedding and towels which was very comfortable. The room was dual aspect which meant we had a lovely view of the hills on 1 side and the rooftops on the other. The room had a telly and everything you could want really so overall we liked it although not posh! But with this said, the room was a bit dated BUT so very comfortable, it meant you could relax easily without feeling under pressure because of the price paid. The hotel lounge again very comfortable with shabby sofas but comfortable. Great breakfast - lots of choice and staff amazing. We would return definately but perhaps request an updated room next time.

Room Tip: Request an updated room, unless of course you have a dog.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ju38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was our forst trip to the Red Lion and would definitely go again! The hotel lobby and lounges were excellent providing lots of room on very comfy furniture. This was especially welcomed after dinner in the evening when we could have coffee in the lounge. The reception staff were even kind enough to loan us a pack of cards to play with in the lounge over coffee in a very relaxed atmosphere. The food in the restuarant was of a very high standard, and varied, and the wait staff were superb. Klaudia, Tamas and Connor could not do enough for you and were most courteous, knowledgeable and attentive. Breakfast was plentiful with lots to choose from and certainly not rushed, with once again the same attentive staff.
We only used the pool and leisure facilities once and they are looking a little tired but the pool was a good temperature and the steam room I had to myself. If I had gone to the hotel just for those facilities I would have been a little disappointed.
The room was lovely, clean and well decorated. My only complaint was that the shower ran a little hot and cold which we did mention on checking out. We oly ate in the bar/Lamb Inn one lunch time and that to be honest was enough. It felt a little lacking in atmosphere and the food was poor. The couple on the next table also complained about their food so we were not the only ones to be under impressed...this was a real shame when compared to the high quality in the restuarant.
All in all a very good stay with excellent staff in reception, the restuarant and housekeeping, very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We're to begin?Check in ok,room dated and smelt of dog,breakfast good,the pool area must contravene certain health and safety rules,the stairwell leading down to it is has cracked and broken tiles which when combined with wet feet is an accident waiting to happen.Jacuzzi has stained sealant around it and the changing room you couldn't,t fit mor than three people in it.I tried getting a drink in the pub next door one afternoon but found the bar staff in the hotel watching football.The car parking is poor but worst is the dog friendly avenue the hotel has decided to go down,dogs barking,being let loose to run up the stairs while their owners chatted in reception and worst of all shaking water off their wet coats over other guests.Stayed here a few times over the years but never again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bouncetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A few galleries, a coop and lots of hotels. Good bars good food but nothing else. A walkers retreat. Red Lion has a good pool but its all a little dated now. I was here on business. Cant compain, very relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda_lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our fourth or fifth visit to the Red Lion. The hotel was as good as ever. Our room this time was 'Coleridge', a beautiful room with fantastic views. The soundproofing could have been better but that did not spoil our stay. The staff at the hotel are very good in particular the staff in the restaurant. (Klaudia and Tomas were very caring and attentive) All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms and Coleridge on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roytoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Easy to find. Great location.
Parking limited, but not too much of a problem as hotel staff can point you in the right direction.
Room - hot! No aircon (it is UK). Good size 'suite' with a sofa bed.
Pool OK. Fitness suite - poor. Treadmill, resistance machine and stepper/climber all non functional.
Sauna and steam rooms small!
Breakfast was good.
Redeeming features revolve around the friendliness of the staff. The place could do with a makeover as its a bit tired.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g4Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
220 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £75 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing