We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Grasmere
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,732)
Filter reviews
1,734 results
Traveller rating
853
556
204
82
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
853
556
204
82
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionclub roomcourtyard restaurantparking is limitedleisure facilitieslake districtgin and tonicpool and jacuzzilovely hotellambthird floorsmall balconylounge areaevening mealsister hotelnight breakshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,281 - 1,286 of 1,734 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great hotel large room stayed in July 2013.
Perfect location in the centre of the village, Food was good plenty of choice for breakfast.
Great facilities steam room, sauna, jaquzzi and pool to relax-in after a long hike all round great stay for my partner & I.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at red lion for our wedding anniversary, 8-10 th sept 13. our anniversary was on the ninth and we went to the theatre at keswick, got back to the hotel at 22. 50. and decided to have a glass of wine to celebrate as with driving had not any alcohol all day. we were told that the bar was shut. In the blurb it says the residents bar is open till 23.30. No offer was made by staff to supply either a glass each or to buy a bottle of wine, I was not too sure of licence regulations to argue about residents being able to buy drinks at any time so let it go. We have been to this hotel twice before and we like it, but it is in administration which may have something to do with it. Ian and Glenys.

Room Tip: room 111 is huge with a walk in shower.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I were there from Sept. 6-9, 2013, as part of a Road Scholar (Elderhostel) tour. Although there were many good traits, there were conspicuous problems, and I doubt we would return. It's an old building and the routes on the upper floors are a maze of narrow twisting corridors, with paths between sets of stairs requiring search and discovery. Our room had a slightly tilted floor, the carpet had unexpected soft depressions where your foot sinks down an inch or so, as if the rug pad had gone soft or the floor was uneven. Near our window was an exhaust vent for the motel that operated often and was so noisy that we closed our window on a warm night to get it quiet enough for sleep. But that created another problem: we couldn't cool off the room because there are no customer-operated controls over heating and cooling. Like several other British hotels we have visited, there are no customer controls over heating on cool days, so when the room was cold, we had to dress warmly at times in our room.

More difficult was the shower/bathtub. We could not take baths because the faucets were locked shut. As for taking a shower, it took an abnormally long time to get lukewarm water, which alternately came and then cooled and then warmed and cooled, no hot water. Setting the control for warm-cold didn't help.

Most annoying was the toilet's incomplete flushing. When we arrived, we found a wad of toilet paper floating in the toilet and our attempts to flush it down failed. We called the desk, got a polite young man who tested it and agreed we had a problem and that he'd fix it next day. We worried that our bowel movements next morning might create a problem and discreetly alluded to it, but he refused to deal with the issue and left. Nest day, sometimes b.m.'s flushed out toilet paper, sometimes not. He never returned, never apologized, and the toilet continued it's difficult ways.

The housekeeping was erratic. Obvious dust on the floors.

Yet they make the beds, have a modern elevator, and prepare good food.

In the mean time, we would not go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Myself and my partner visited the Red Lion hotel in Grasmere from 14/09/13 for a birthday break away. To put it mildly we were very disappointed.

We were greeted on arrival by a very unfriendly receptionist who handed over the room card and gave no information regarding the facilities, breakfast etc. We were expecting the hotel to be a bit dated due to the reviews we had previously read but not only was it dated, it was run-down and in desperate need of some TLC. Our room number 101, was tiny, you could barely move in the en-suite, the grout around the sink tiles was black and the shower was appalling. However the bed was comfy and the sheets were clean as you would expect.

Unfortunately the weather was terrible and we spent more time than we would have liked in the hotel, we had planned on using the pool but were put off by the cleanliness of other areas of the hotel. Breakfast was okay, we were amused at one the waiters using one of the breakfast menus as a tool to brush the crumbs from a used table onto the carpet when he was cleaning. Other than that the restaurant staff were friendly, and the service speed was good.

The location of this hotel is great, right in the centre of lovely Grasmere, however for £120 per room per night we were left feeling robbed. We ended up checking out a day early as we felt our money would be much better spent elsewhere. This is something we have never had to do anywhere before.

After staying in other Best Western Hotels in the past we were expecting a lot more, please think again before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

once again you have done my wife and i proud,when we arrived a great welcome as per usual,went straight up to room which was a lovely room very clean could not fault it,excellent food
in the evening,also breakfast was great,looking forward to next visit. By the way i am glad that you removed the bench at entrance to car park as you have guessed yes it was me who complained about it last year,it is never easy to park when you are busy,anyway see you again soon.

Room Tip: corner suites
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews