We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel and place to eat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We visited the lakes in October as it’s a lovely place to visit in Autumn. I would definitely recommend visiting Grasmere and staying in this hotel. What a great place to stay! We used the leisure facilities (pool, sauna, gym, jacuzzi) which were lovely (the pool lights up at night). We also decided to eat in the restaurant and it was delicious! The best lamb shank I’ve ever eaten!

I would definitely recommend staying here! We wished we had booked more nights, however we do plan to go back very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Grasmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just got back from an excellent overnight stay, We arrived early morning and left the car on the Red Lion car park, changed into hiking gear and enjoyed a day on the fells although it was cold, wet and windy on the tops. The hotel was far better than our expectations, everywhere was in good decorative order and was very warm and inviting, Our room was on the third floor with lovely views over the fells, and there was a lift to save tired legs. We ate in the bar rather than the restaurant and we both agreed that we had not had better food in a long time, washed down with a couple of pints of Cumberland ale. Our breakfast was of the same high standard served by very pleasant staff. We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our third stay at the Red Lion and we all agreed that it was the best. All aspects of the hotel were still very good, particularly the pool and steam room which are always appreciated.

It was the food that really made the difference this time. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and the food at breakfast was very good. It was dinner that made the difference - it was outstanding with great choice and well cooked, delicious food. I can recommend the duck with orange sauce, the Baileys crème brulee, the pannacotta and lamb shank but my party of eight all enjoyed their food. The service in the restaurant was impeccable - polite and discreet.

We can recommend the Alcock Tarn walk, having previously done Easedale Tarn and Grasmere/Rydal walk. The route up was steep but worth it for the fabulous views at the top.

Room Tip: Room 205 was very pleasant with a Jacuzzi bath!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

AA rate this as a 3 star but I have stayed in far worse 4 star hotels than this- the bedroom was fantastic and the views out of the bedroom window when we woke took our breath away - the 5 course evening meal had loads of choice and was very well presented and cooked 10 out of 10 for the friendly staff in the restaurant especially the Hungarian waitress - unlike so many places the wine list was very reasonable and the house wines very drinkable - The swimming pool was both clean and warm - only negative was the Village Inn attached was not of the same standard as it lacked atmosphere although the food was just as good better to go for a drink in the local area - we will be bak

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms afford the best views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is our second visit to this lovely hotel and this time we went for a dinner, bed and breakfast break with upgrade to superior room and were so delighted with the whole experience! We couldn't park when we arrived so went to reception to find out where to go and the lovely girl on reception immediately came out with us and gave us her parking space which we were really impressed by. We were in Crinkle Crag and loved the room (304 on the 3rd floor), great views and a balcony with sitting room and lovely thick fluffy towels, comfy bed and room newly redone.

Our four course meal was beautifully cooked, great quality food and the service was impeccable throughout. The staff are obviously happy and well looked after and really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable which is not that common nowadays and so refreshing. We loved the fact we could go to the lounge after our four courses and have unlimited tea/coffee and mints which we enjoyed in front of the fire. So good to be totally relaxed which is what you look for in a break away.

We slept well and had a gorgeous cooked breakfast then walked up Helm Crag which was well worth the steep climb as the views at the top are fabulous! Great to walk off all that food too!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Can't wait for our next trip and I can recommend spending a little more for the break we had as it was great value for money and we'll definitely do the same again next time.

Room Tip: Any room on the 3rd floor for space and balconies, we were in 304, Crinkle Crag which has been renov...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel, although a little tired, is in a fantastic position for walking the local fells which surround it in every direction. The front of office staff were extremely welcoming & helpful & constantly strived to do their best to help residents with limited parking. The hotel has a comfy spacious lounge & restaurant or bar for eating in. We ate in the latter which offered wholesome & filling traditional dishes--pies, Yorkshires etc. It is better than average but not very good. The Jacuzzi & pool was just warm & the sauna was out of action -- bit disappointing after long walks on the fells.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very welcoming staff in reception and the restaurant staff were superb. We were incorrectly advised by reception staff regarding the parking. Parking at hotel very poor and we had to park in the pay and display car park which was some distance away. The cost although not cheap did not really matter but we nearly incurred a fine due to the wrong information from hotel. They would be better not advising guests regarding times etc. the sauna and steam room were closed when we visited but the pool was open. The changing rooms offered no privacy at all and you could not lock the lockers either. The pool was not particularly warm either. The restaurant food was superb and made up for the poor leisure facilities. The bedroom although small was fine and the ensuite bathroom although tiny was adequate. It would have been better with just a shower instead of a bath with overhead shower and no curtain.0

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
220 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £75 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing