We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Took my wife for a surprise on her birthday . After been highly recommend by friends when wa arrived the village location is just like a winter post card seen. The welcome on arriving at the red lion wa very warm and welcoming . If your looking for a romantic break . Give this hotel a look you wont be disappointed. If having a evening meal you will not be disappointed service was brilliant ....we will definitely be going back .x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    488
    189
    72
    36
See reviews for
249
872
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We are Lakeland lovers who usually go self-catering but decided on a short break to enjoy our passion for fell-walking, with spa facilities to enjoy at the end of the short December days. We took an on-line out of season deal which was good value. The hotel décor is a little 'tired' in places (we had minor issues with the electrics in our room) but were informed the hotel is due for refurbishment in the new year (Jan 2014). The hotel's location is right in the middle of Grasmere village and has free parking for about 20 cars. This is a significant bonus since the National Park Authority hiked parking fees in the region. The walking options are many and varied from the front door of the hotel. We took two evening meals in the Lamb Inn, the bar now incorporated with the hotel. Neither meal could be described as 'haut cuisine' but they were decent 'pub grub'. Breakfast is taken in the hotel's own restaurant, which has a dinner menu for evening meals. The pool and jacuzzi area was clean. It was disappointing that the sauna was out of order for all of our stay, but we made full use of the steam room which was available. Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and helpful without exception, and we noticed they were particularly patient and kind towards some elderly guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twasthatgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This lovely hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the Lakes. Warm and very comfortable, with excellent staff and service, the Red Lion has long been a favourite of ours. The lounge area is welcoming and delightful to sit in. The food is great and the spa/swimming pool a bonus. The hotel has recently been sold and is about to undergo a major refurbishment. I understand that the existing staff will be retained, which is good. It is due to be completed by the early spring, so it will be interesting to see what improvements are made.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeamasterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

good points ,almost everything.. the facilities in the hotel were very good ,not perfect but close.. the pool area was very clean as was the jacuzzi , we used this area on two occaisions ,the steam room was good aswell, there was a couple of running machines and rowing machine and bike in the gym area ,no weights .. all in all enough to keep most people happy... in the room.. slightly small but big enough if you dont live in the room. onsuit very nice , now the only bad point ..we had a very uncomfortable bed ..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A return to this old favourite and a stay in the lovely Coleridge Suite in the eaves of the hotel. Windows on both sides and a gorgeous bathroom. The food is great and we like to sit in the lounge bar with coffee. A smaller traditional pub attached too. Comfortable and a thoroughly good breakfast. Will be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan0764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel all the staff we meet there were friendly and welcoming.Could not fault either the food or the service in the restaurant ,both were excellent.Can't decide which main course I liked the best but if pushed I think the shin of beef would win! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tizzy2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We visited the lakes in October as it’s a lovely place to visit in Autumn. I would definitely recommend visiting Grasmere and staying in this hotel. What a great place to stay! We used the leisure facilities (pool, sauna, gym, jacuzzi) which were lovely (the pool lights up at night). We also decided to eat in the restaurant and it was delicious! The best lamb shank I’ve ever eaten!

I would definitely recommend staying here! We wished we had booked more nights, however we do plan to go back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing