We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“regular stayers at red lion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

my wife and I stayed here in feburary for three nights had a great time staff great, food spot on returned two weeks later for a weekend break and was not disappointed, great location for touring walking and shops we stay at this hotel often its friendly and always a warm welcome awaits you nothing is too much bother rebooked for easter cant wait good all round including price could do with a lick of paint ,but it is in process to be extensive refurbishment hope this does not reflect in big price rise ,because it is used by a wide variety of people ,keep up the good work all at red lion you cannot please everyone especially if they did not give a try but it would be a sad world if we were all perfect

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback. It is very rewarding to the team to know that you keep coming back to us. We have also made a start this week on the refurbishment works.

You are right you can't please everyone, but we aim to try and nothing is too much trouble, we are here to create memories and relaxing breaks for all our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Easter!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel in February to celebrate a family birthday. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff, the room was beautiful and recently refurbished with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. We ate in the restaurant and the pub over the 3 days we stayed, the food was lovely and the service was flawless. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in the lakes - it is very hard to find a fantastic hotel right in the heart of a lake district village that offers as much as the Grasmere Red Lion does.

Room Tip: Can't beat the Ruskin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great review and taking time out to share your feedback.

It is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist , however we were a bit disappointed by the size of our standard room and bathroom , both pretty small. The room looked freshly painted and was clean. Breakfast was a really good selection of cold and cooked items and friendly staff. Internet was only reliable in the public areas

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a more spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff here at the Grasmere Red Lion.

With regards to your room, with the hotel being a old inn all the rooms are very different in size and shape.
We do hope you will visit us again and when booking please contact our reception team who will advise you on the best room that ticks all the boxes for you.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

..... and booked again for April taking my two friends with me who also stayed last year. You can park your car up and not touch it again until you leave as fabulous walking from the front door for all levels of walker. I must stay in over fifty hotels a year but this is the one I choose to return to over and over again for my own holiday. I find the staff without exception friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts excellent and set you up for a long walk on the fells.

Room Tip: Must have stayed in most rooms over the years but definitely worth upgrading to Silverhow, Helm Crag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for your great feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.

Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was surprised & dismayed to read some of the recent reviews of this hotel. We have stayed there quite a few times and most of what I have read this week I do not recognise. My partner & I were also there on the weekend 28th Feb to Monday March 3rd. It was also a treat for his birthday and we had an excellent experience. I should therefore like to redress the balance.
I acknowledge that there is a need for redecoration and refurbishment in some of the public areas of the hotel. Some of the carpets are worn and the guttering needs to be cleaned out - as demonstrated by the heavy rain on Sunday. However, I understand that the hotel is in the process of changing ownership and a total refurbishment will occur.
On arrival we were welcomed and the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Parking can be difficult but we found a space with no problem. On a previous occasion, when there were no spaces, we simply pulled up outside the hotel entrance, unloaded our luggage and then drove to the parking area 'around the corner'. It's a no brainer really!
Our room, Ruskin, on the 3rd floor was very clean, spacious and well-appointed. It is one of the club/ superior rooms and is like a mini-suite. The bed we used (there are 2 double beds in that room!) was wonderfully comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with a large bath & shower, lovely fluffy white towels and toiletries provided. We also had - but did not use - the shower robes & slippers. With lots of windows on 2 sides we had lovely views of the hills and the village.
The food is, and has always been, lovely. The manager of the Courtyard Restaurant is charming and attentive. He seems to have a team of new young people who, although inexperienced, struck me as being pleasant and eager to please. The breakfast menu is wide and varied. There are many options of fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, cereals, juices, croissants etc and the hot menu is also good. This includes kippers, poached haddock, porridge, and the full English which my partner had. It looked like a considerable plateful to me! It was hot and well presented.
The dinner menu was also excellent. Four courses and an alternative vegetarian menu with several choices - at least five. Portion size was normal! At no point did we feel rushed and when we did have coffee in the lounge, it was relaxed and I saw no tables left with discarded glasses, cups or cafetieres.
The Lamb Inn also struck me as a good venue for walkers or residents after a day in the hills. The staff were extremely helpful and we certainly had good service. We also went to Tweedies Bar which is attached to another hotel in the village. It's a good place, nice ambience, but our round of a pint of lager & a 175mil size Pinot Grigio was £9+ - £2 more than the Lamb Inn. We did go back to Tweedies but it is expensive.
In summary, some of the public areas may be an issue for some people - depends how much time you intend to spend there really. In essence, this is still a really good hotel with lovely food, comfortable rooms and very nice staff.

Room Tip: Look on the website or ring up and ask for what you want. I always choose Ruskin and make sure it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very kind and much appreciated. It is a shame regarding some these recent reviews unfortunately you just can't please everyone. We believe very strongly about sorting all problems out for guest to prevent negative feedback, however some people just don't tell us the issues so we can't rectify the problem.

Thank you also for your email and support, I we all look forward to your return. I have also replied to your email with a special thank you.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we recently booked a weekend break at the best western Grasmere red lion hotel via booking.com for fri 28th feb 2014 to mon 3rd mar 2014 in a double room with balcony for bed breakfast and evening meal.

on arrival the hotel smelt musty and was very run down in appearance (we had seen trip advisor reviews warning of this so accepted it)

we booked in and were given keys to a standard double room without a balcony, when we questioned this we were told that there were no balcony rooms available (again we accepted this) the room was drab and small with small high windows, not at all inviting, the bathroom did have an air spa bath but was dirty and growing mould it corners. then we opened a draw to find someone's swimwear in it. I took this to reception and asked to speak to a manager, a young girl came to the desk, I placed the swimwear on the desk and stated I had just found this in the drawers in our room, she took it off the desk and said ‘thank you, the housekeepers must have missed it’ then turned away (as if to continue what she was doing) I waited until she turned back, appearing shocked to find me still stood there, I said ‘its not acceptable is it’ she replied ‘no’ then looked at me expressionlessly. at this point obviously annoy and upset I told her we would not be staying and to please not bother charging us anything for the booking. she replied ‘ok’ no apology was offered. we had to spend a further hour finding alternative accommodation and I remained upset and angered by this whole experience for the rest of the day.

I have been informed by booking.com that our booking was cancelled by the hotel and the cancellation fee was waived (my answer to this has to be I should think so too)

we have stayed in many best western hotels and have never suffered such bad service in such a terrible run down environment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dawnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

This guest did not stay at the hotel and has been replied to by email, bw, medallia, twitter all the sites this lady left feedback on. (Twitter comments were removed as verbal abuse will not be tolerated by twitter).

It is a shame that you did not stay with us and get to meet some of the wonderful staff that have made a lot of special memories for our guests.

We hope you find a property that suits your needs.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wife's 50th Birthday break to Grasmere. Red Lion promotes a friendly welcome. Where? Staff all appear to be completely fed up. Rooms & restaurant décor very tired & shabby. My wife has never had curry flavoured porridge before. Probably made in unwashed pots. Young waiters looked tired & unshaven. The restaurant experience was more like any standard pub chain. Get them in sit them down feed them & get rid. The Lamb Inn adjoining was the same. Bit shabby uninterested staff & pub chain food. Dined in the restaurant on 1st night then found the Wordsworth Bistro across the road on the other 2 nights. Proper food with superb décor. Bedroom was like a furness & had fan going all night. Bathroom was the worst condition of all. Floor tiles cracked bath panel crumbling & dirty bath. Grasmere itself is lovely & can't wait to return. The £60 B&B room rate was very good but is reflected in the hotel condition. Will be surprised if it manages to stay open. Sorry about all the negatives but they are just facts.
Sue & Geoff Ipswich

Room Tip: Can't really help with this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Geoff

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have shared your comments with the team and implemented improvements to ensure this does not come across again.

We value all feedback and do hope you give us a second chance to prove you wrong. The hotel will be starting the refurbishment very soon so it’s a very exciting year for the property with a lot of changes ahead.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,229 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £78 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing