We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,825)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveller rating
887
585
219
89
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
585
219
89
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionclub roomcourtyard restaurantparking is limitedleisure facilitieslake districtgin and tonicpool and jacuzzilovely hotellambthird floorsmall balconylounge areadog friendly hotelevening mealshort breaknight break
Filter
Updating list...
1,781 - 1,786 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Just returned home after spending two nights at the Red Lion, Grasmere. My partner and I booked a double room on a b+b basis for two nights with Superbreak.com for £215.00. Compared to other hotels within Grasmere village this seemed like a good deal.

The hotel has both positives and negatives. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly and courteous receptionist who checked us in quickly and efficiently.

The reception area and lounge is welcoming and comfortable and has a nice bar area with plenty of sofas to relax in. Attached to the hotel is a public bar which serves bar meals. The style of the hotel is not trendy and modern, more olde worlde charm.

We stayed in Room 121 on the first floor. It was a standard room situated at the rear of the hotel with a view of the hills. To be honest, the room was a little disappointing as it was a bit on the shabby side. The wallpaper was torn in parts, the decor dated and the bathroom small. The bed and pillows were not the most comfortable and the heat in the room was somewhat unbearable. Air conditioning would greatly improve the comfort of the room.

However, the room was clean and tidy and the bedding and towels were spotless.

The hotel has a pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and small gym. We used the pool on both days. It didn't appear to be popular and at most we were joined by another couple. The pool was clean and really well maintained. The pool area also had a jacuzzi.

We didn't take dinner in the hotel as there are many places to eat within the village, however we did have breakfast. The usual buffet items were available and a really good choice of cooked items which arrived very quickly. Overall, an excellent breakfast served by helpful and friendly staff.

Car parking is available at the hotel and is free for guests, which is fantastic. If you plan to just stay in and around Grasmere then you can park the car and forget about it until you leave.

Grasmere itself is a lovely village surrounded by hills and a beautiful lake. There are plenty of places to eat and of course Wordsworth's house and the famous Gingerbread shop. We ate at Sara's bistro on the first night, which we would highly recommend. We wanted to try The Jumble Room the following night, but unfortunately, it was fully booked.

Overall, The Red Lion hotel is OK. There are a lot of places to stay within the village and if I were to return to Grasmere I think I would try one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SJE1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

stayed for 3 nights on aug 24th- room very clean although double bed quite small - flat pillows. Breakfast lots of choice- pleasant staff. didnt use restaurante ate at the pub next door a bit pricey. Paid 117 pounds per room for 2 adults. Limited drinking spots in Grasmere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

This hotel was very clean, nicely furnished and the room was very comfortable apart from the smell of cigarette smoke coming through the vent in the en suite from other ensuites. It is a non smoking hotel and we think that the smokers were going into their bathroom to smoke as the bedroom has a smoke detector installed and so the rest of the hotel guests were having to put up with the awful smell. The hotel is right in the centre of Grasmere and although our room was on the front we didn't get a lot of noise late at night. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Each morning we were served a great full English breakfast. We didn't have dinner or a bar meal at all so we can't comment on that but the menu in the bar was good. We didn't like the part of the bar where they served the food. It could do with an upgrade to make it more comfortable. The main lounge was large and very comfortable with lovely sofas and chairs. We would stay in this hotel again providing we got a completely smoke free room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We stayed at the Red Lion for two nights while walking in the Lake District. It was excellent. Great rooms which were kept clean and had a brilliant spa bath!. Lovely pool to chill out in after getting rained on during the day and really nice bar/seating area for a drink and chat. Staff were really good and the manager was very friendly and always willing to do anything to help. Great location in the village with it's own pub next door which again had very friendly staff and good food.

We would reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-and-Mel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

The hotel is clean, friendly and comfortable. The rooms are slightly dated but it has that "lake district feel".

Check in was good and friendly, and the champagne and chocolates were waiting for us in the room as ordered. We had booked a club room which turned out to be the Ruskin Suite. It was enourmous! The sitting area was comfortable, the air conditioning very good and the views amazing. Could even see the cows on the hills! The room was fairly quiet, only hearing next door noise for 5 minutes that evening. For the size of the room, however, the TV was a bit small - could hardly see it from the bed! The bathroom was also clean and comfortable with amazing views of the hills whilst in the shower! Only criticism would be the bed and pillows - it was uncomfortable. Not good for bad backs!

The bar area was very comfortable, with a lovely conservatory to have sundowners before dinner. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel. We went to Sara's but would go to the Jumble room the next time we visit as it looks cosy and have heard about the good food.

There is a large sitting area next to the bar - a nice place to read the newspaper in the morning.

My husband used the swimming pool which he said was very clean and relaxing.

Location is very good - our view looked out over the centre of Grasmere which is a small village with a nice feel about it. Try the gingerbread shop - wonderfull!!!

Breakfast was very fresh, made to order and service was good. It was also served from 8-10 so could have a lie in if wanted!

Overall a very comfortable stay- no major problems apart from the bed!

Would stay again, but with so many other hotels in the area would like to try them out also.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Saaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews