We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for 2 nights as a minimoon and after mentioning this when booking were delighted to find our room was upgraded and some champers in our room, along with a little card which was a lovely touch! Best of all was your lovely friendly and polite staff and the wonderful food. Really couldn't ask for more - as if the views weren't enough! Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will definitely reccomend, and be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissHighMaintenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Guy's,

Many thanks for the great feedback! You are very welcome for the little treats. Once again from all of us here at the Red Lion congratulations on your wedding! And we hope to see you both again soon.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

987 - 993 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

went for 2 nights on 3rd and 4th of april with my girlfriend,and our dog .from the moment we arried till the moment we left we were made to feel welcome and comfortable,the staff are delightful,from check in to bar and from cleaners to waiting on staff,the room was large and spotless with a great view.yes its a little dated but it more than makes up for this in other ways,breakfast great ,evening meal great,nice bar lovely lounge,and the dog loved it too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

No! we couldn't ask for better! Thanks for the great feedback its very rewarding for the team.

Thanks for the great headline also!

We hope to see you both and the dog again soon!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked a 2-night stay here at the end of March and got a very reasonable deal direct through the hotel. When we arrived late Sunday afternoon we easily found a space in the adjoining car park. Check-in was easy and pleasant and we were directed to the Coleridge room, which was at the far end of the hotel, up a private staircase. This is one of their Club rooms and so included robes, slippers and complimentary bottled water. The description also said there was a separate seating area, which there was, but I had mistakenly assumed that it would be a separate room so this gave us a few difficulties as it meant we had to share a room with our 18 month old son so none of us got much sleep! Just thought I would mention this in case any other parents of young children assume the same thing.

The room itself was lovely, very comfortable and huge bed, nice bathroom, everywhere was spotless and had some lovely views out onto the fells on one side and down onto Grasmere on the other. We also heard no noise from other guests so I hope that they also didn't hear any from our room (the toddler can be very loud!).

Breakfast was impressive, there was a huge choice of food and all the hot food was cooked to order which puts it a step up in my opinion from other chain hotels. The croissants deserve a special mention as they were the best I've had outside France. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as the restaurant was closed for refurbishment and although they were serving dinner (and breakfast) in the adjoining pub we decided to go elsewhere. We did however get dessert from there one night which was nice but nothing special.

All the staff we encountered were very helpful and professional, they were also very tolerant of our toddler and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

The pool was a nice extra, although unfortunately the water was a touch too cold for our son so we only managed about ten minutes in there. Can imagine it would be very refreshing in the summer months though.

Grasmere itself is gorgeous, a really pretty, chocolate-box Lakeland village. There are plenty of places to eat, drink and shop (although it should be noted that many places close on a Monday night) and everyone was so friendly! We were offered sweets or chocolates in most of the shops and in the restaurants and cafes, everyone was so accommodating and helpful.

I happily recommend this hotel and Grasmere as a whole, thank you Red Lion for a very pleasant break!

Room Tip: Coleridge is great if you want a quiet room but is no good for those with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlackpoolRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great feedback. With regards to the Coleridge Suite, yes this is a superior room however it is not a family room. All the other 'superior/family rooms' do in fact have a separate area to put the children. If this was requested at the time of booking it would have been perfectly fine. Unfortunately with us being fully booked most nights it’s difficult to move rooms around at short notice.

Once again thank you kindly for your great review! And we hope to see you both and the little one soon!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

stayed here on two occasions both times very very happy, had dinner both times and found the food excellent with charming staff in attendance,
Breakfast was very fulfilling and again cheerful staff.
Clean and pleasant rooms and in some cases magnificent outlook.
Have recommended to many family and friends.
Great location also

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ron,

Thanks for the great feedback & for promoting us to all your friends & family, this is much appreciated.

On behalf of myself and all the staff here at the Grasmere Red Lion Hotel thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great hotel right in the centre of Grasmere. The only drawback is lack of parking - a common problem in Lakeland villages. However there's a public car park 3 minutes away.

The hotel is fine good food in the main restaurant and more than adequate bar food in the adjoining Lamb Inn. The food is cooked in the same kitchen, so no compromise on quality. We had the baked sole in the Lamb it was large and excellent value for money. The next night we had duck in the main restaurant and although we wanted it cooked differently, they got it spot on for taste for both of us.

Bedroom most comfortable and en suite most acceptable.
Staff were excellent at their job, a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear John,

Many thanks for the review! It was a pleasure to have you with us!

Thank you for mentioning all areas of the hotel and we look forward to having you with us again.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found it a very friendly, relaxed hotel. Following a speedy check-in at 3 pm, we were unpacked and walking around the lake half an hour later on a beautiful, calm and sunny afternoon. Returned two hours later for an excellent, powerful shower, with instant hot water, and the room was cosy with controllable heating both in the bathroom and the bedroom. We had a corner room on the second floor with three windows, views of the fells, including Allan Bank, and we could people watch too. We dined in the adjacent Lamb Inn, the food was filling and good value (though the 5 course set menu in the hotel restaurant did sound tempting). The hotel has lots of comfy sofas and easy chairs, and a newly refurbished conservatory (painted and carpeted whilst we were there). Grasmere gets quite busy with tourists so the Red Lion is a good place to escape and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne_Stu_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Anne

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share you very positive feedback. It is great to know that you enjoyed all aspects of stay.

We hope to see you again in the not to distance future!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Red Lion.
Super warm welcome by the reception staff. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly attentive and helpful.
Our room was a standard room. Which we had no complaint with, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, flat screen television, two armchairs, big bath and shower, hair dryer and comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. And spotlessly clean.
Overall the hotel does look a little tired in places. But this didn't undermine the wonderful atmosphere and pleasure of staying at the Red Lion. The decorators were in while we were there which we were told was the start of an extensive refurbishment.
We dined in the restaurant and was impressed with the choice, presentation, quality and flavours of the food. With a different menu every night. It was a credit to the chef and his staff. ( We wish it was a bit nearer home).
The breakfast was every bit as good with a large menu from fresh fruit, cereals, meats, cheese, yogurts, kippers etc. to a full English with any variation you wanted which meant a slight wait as they were all cooked individually, but well worth the wait. What a lovely change from those awful buffet breakfasts.
The hotel is in a great location right in the centre of Grasmere. Plenty of good walks start from here. And if it is too wet to walk there is always the hourly bus service north or south and they do have a drying room if you get back too wet.
This was the first time we have stayed at the Red Lion but it won't be the last. We just hope the new owner doesn't make too many changes to the staff or to the way it is run. As the present system is brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaydavid20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your great feedback. It is very rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your staff so much and you were impressed by the great team we have here. Staff with personality is what you need to make it a home from home for the guests.

It’s wonderful to know we impress you so much and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you again kindly for this great review!

Kind Regards

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £78 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing