We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

have visited this hotel 3 times and all employees are very friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble .I am disabled and they meet all my requirements We will be going back again Visitors needing bus service - there is a bus stop only a few yards away

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Thomas,

It is such a pleasure to receive great feedback from a loyal customer.
We hope to be welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Copeland - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,002 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary, and when I mentioned it during the booking process we were upgraded at no charge.
The 4 course plus coffee "table d' hote" dinner was excellent. We both had the venison which cooked perfectly and was very tender 10/10.
The room was lovely with a box of complimentary chocolates and the staff were very helpful and courteous 10/10 for customer service!
The only criticism was that there was not much hot water when I showered before breakfast the next morning, but it was 09:00 and a lot of the guests were probably up earlier to get out on the fells.
Unfortunately we did not use the spa so we cannot rate it.

Room Tip: When booking use the telephone and let the staff know if you are there for a celebration/special occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Ged,

We are so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary stay with us here, and hope that you can join us again on many more special occasions to come in the future! We will be sure to pass on the great feedback on to our chefs for the 10/10 food, and all other staff who made your stay so memorable.
We have taken on board your problems with the hot water, our apologies!

Regards

Chris Copeland - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel coped with large number of cyclists very well. Provided early breakfast and no problems. Rooms comfortable with good facilities and no problems at all.

location on the centre of Grasmere is good and would certainly suit those not using a car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Rob,

We aim to please everyones needs when they come and visit our hotel and it is great to hear that we succeded in doing so. Thank you for taking the time out to share your fantastic feedback with us.

Regards

Chris Copeland - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We took our parents for a 4 day break to Grasmere on the basis that the location was fantastic for us to walk whilst they relaxed in the hotel and around the village. As soon as we entered the hotel it was extremely welcoming (we parked easily despite some of the issues previous ratings have mentioned). Our rooms were clean, well furnished and spacious with one having a balcony. In terms of food we ate in the bar and restaurant and all the food was delicious especially the Bailey's Terrine! Breakfast selection was great too and nicely presented. The main strength however had to be the lovely friendly staff, when the restaurant menu wasn't suitable for our parents dietary requirements the staff could not have been more helpful and absolutely bent over backwards to help. All in all a great stay, will definitely go back, I understand the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment so it will be even better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank KarenandAndy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Karen & Andy,

We are delighted to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your stay here and would like to thank you for sharing this with us. We will be sure to pass on all your fabulous comments on to the chefs regarding your meals that you enjoyed whilst you were here with us and the rest of our staff for making your stay so enjoyable!

We hope to see you and your parents again in the near future!

Regards

Chris Copeland - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our May visit to this hotel was most enjoyable. We previously visited this hotel regularly but this was our first visit for 3 years and found it just as described.......comfortable and friendly. While our room was smaller than we would have preferred it was nevertheless adequate.. The lounges were comfortable and all of the dining room staff were attentive. The food was good although we felt the menu was a bit different from previous years. Our overall opinion was that the hotel was very good and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post such lovely feedback, it is great to pass on to all of our staff. Some of our bedrooms are larger than others, if you call and book directly with ourselves, you can request a larger room, our reception team will be more than happy to help.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards

Chris Copeland - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our second visit to the Red Lion and not our last we hope. Our room was well proportioned with a sitting area. The bathroom was great with a deep fast filling bath. Our bedroom recently decorated. We spent 2 nights here eating in the restaurant both nights. The food was good, but not exactly what you order, for example, we ordered Asparagus wrapped in Pancetta to start, but we think they had run out of Pancetta as it was wrapped in streaky bacon, which did not have the same affect as Pancetta. My hubbies steak was also extremely well done when he asked for medium. The waiter apologised for this and had the extra cost taken off the bill. The staff both in the restaurant and the front desk were very helpful. We were touring in a classic car and did not want to park overnight in the road, the receptionist kept a look out to make sure there was an available space when we were due to return. Thankfully there was. This Hotel is central in Grassmere with a Coop just along the road, cafés and tea shops locally and lots of browsing shops. As stated in a previous review, the pool is on the cool side, which meant I did not get to swim but the Jacuzzi was fine so we spent double time there instead. Will look forward to visiting again in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisManager, Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It is always good to hear the positive and the negative side of guests views, so we would like to thank you for taking the time out to do so. With the positive comments, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us, and the negative comments, we have taken on board and hopefully make your next stay with us perfect!

Regards

Chris Copeland - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £60 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing