We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A very enjoyable stay. The hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere, especially the beautiful lounge where, on our first evening, we enjoyed listening to a guest playing the piano.Staff were friendly and helpful and we were thrilled, on arrival, to be given an upgrade to a suite. The hotel is in a brilliant location. Breakfast was delicious and there was an excellent selection. I wish I was back there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planesailing54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic two nights half board. Clean hotel. Friendly staff. Lovely room and two fantastic 5 course evening meals in restaurant. Food was superb. Only two minor issues of note were lack of enough parking and noisey air vents in bathrooms. Would definitely recommend

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy220270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Red Lion for 1 night. The location is brilliant, and the hotel is lovely.
The bedrooms are of a good size with really comfortable beds, had the best night sleep in ages. The rooms were clean and tidy.
We had dinner in the restaurant and was served by friendly staff and couldn't do enough for us.
The meal was great would recommend the Goats cheese as a starter.
Breakfast had a great selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals and full English breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisadurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose this hotel for the location and that didn't disappoint. We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package at £170 per room per night which I thought was great value. The food exceeded my expectation and we thoroughly enjoyed the 5 courses one of which was the coffee and mints although we found the second course of fruit sorbet with a white chocolate straw a little unusual. It was very relaxing to be served coffee in the lounge after dinner. The bedroom was a good size and very clean with tea and coffee making facilities that were replenished daily. The bathroom was as others have mentioned very small but had everything in it, the shower was really powerful and the towels were soft and fluffy.
We did use the leisure facilities and I would agree with others that have said the hotel is like a rabbit warren as you have to go up to the first floor to access the leisure centre but once in you go downstairs to the pool. The facilities were adequate but badly in need of refurbishment as the pool tiles, floor and columns were showing signs of water damage. The jacuzzi had been resealed but was looking a bit shabby.
The reason I gave the hotel 'average' rather than 'very good' was due to the standard of service. Firstly I want to acknowledge that all the staff work very hard, they were on duty at breakfast and again at dinner and this may account for the frequent delays that were experienced for example we had finished our 1st course before our wine arrived; the couple next to us sent their breakfast back twice as the order was wrong; a couple in the lounge who left the dining room before us having ordered their coffee for the lounge were still waiting for their coffee after we'd had ours; our friends ordered tea and scones but had drunk their tea before the scones arrived, they did ask the receptionist it the scones were on the way and she responded, "If they've been ordered they'll arrive." When they did finally arrive she commented, "You'll not eat your dinner after eating all that." Fortunately we admire the Cumbrian bluntness and found the comments amusing but some clients didn't seem as amused. I found the hotel very quirky and for that reason very appealing and I will certainly return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel allow you to watch the world go by outside but if you want your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the Red Lion for 3 nights. The location in the centre of Grasmere was perfect, the hotel was lovely from the outside and unlike others we had no problem parking. The fitness centre was adequate for us, with a nice, but small pool. The rooms were clean, but needed some TLC. The second morning we were woken by water leaking from the ceiling above. The maintenance man told us he couldn't find a leak, but when we looked at the ceiling and walls, it was obvious that this had happened before. We got the impression that he wasn't that bothered. On the plus side, most of the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was great and the bed really comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank roy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by the receptionist in the back room having a telephone conversation he popped his head round the door and asked us to take a seat and he would be with us shortly, this i wasn't happy to do as we had , had a long journey and wanted to freshen up may i also say the telephone call was a private call from the context of what he was saying and it was well after the check in time of 15:00. Eventually another receptionist appeared and checked us in. We Stayed here on the wine dine and unwind deal for 3 nights in room 304. It was a club room with a separate good sized sitting area with no view as the window was too high up. However the small bedroom had a small balcony accessed through French doors which had a view of the roof tops at the side of the hotel. The french doors needed to be open at night as this was the only way of getting fresh air into the bedroom but at 5;15 every morning a generator or fan from building below kicked in and the noise woke us up this continued all day and until very late at night. The bathroom was very small and needed attention, there was an expected spa bath which we looked forward to using but when we had a closer look there was a sign saying the spa bath was no longer in use? The sign had been there obviously for some time so why not fixed or replaced? The tea tray was found in a cupboard which couldn't be removed from this location and hard to get to and see what was in there. There was a television in both the lounge and bedroom which were the smallest I have seen in any hotel with very little channels available. The cream tea we had on arrival was lovely but the rest of the food was poor again not what we expected having stopped at the glendower in lytham on the same sort of deal we thought the food would be the same standard. One off putting thing to us that a member of the waiting staff obviously nipped out for a cigarette break in the middle is service as he came back to out table to take our order smelling of smoke with nicotine stained fingers. This should never happen. I could go on but feel I have said enough about the stay. Grasmere is a lovely place to stay with a regular buses to other parts of the Lake District if you want to leave the car behind. A great base for walkers. We have stayed at this hotel before which prompted our return but would look for another hotel next time as there are plenty available in the area and this is sadly not what you would expect from best western.

Room Tip: Can you choose your room??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Central location with high standard of food. The bar restaurant was full when we came down but as residents the staff set up tables promptly for us in the residents lounge. Lovely food. Used the swimming pool but quite difficult to find initially and changing facilities/ spa at a different level. Our room was supposed to be twin bedded but set up as a double and we changed ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,230 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £78 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing