We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HOTEL AND LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL AND LOCATION”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A lovely hotel situated in an beautiful part of the Lakes , staff are helpful and rooms clean and tidy the pool is well kept and local restaurants and pubs are handily placed . The hotel decor was being refurbished outside at the time of visit but would return again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank raymondo7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    474
    178
    68
    35
See reviews for
241
844
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived early but were allowed to check in earlier than expected. Room was nice and clean. Breakfasts in the restuarant were good with good service from all staff. Food in the lamb inn was nice and reasonbly priced. Overall a pleasant stay in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969simp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed her for 3 nights with my wife as our first visit to Grasmere. The village is very pretty but was built many years before the car was invented so parking is a problem if you get there late in the day. You'll find a spot but it might not be close to the hotel.

Reception was friendly and efficient. Out room on the 1st Floor was ok though a little dated furniture-wise but as the hotel is so old it does blend in. The requested double bed was two singles pushed together. The mattress was quite firm but the pillows were very hard. We had hot weather so the room was very warm and with only a small window was difficult to cool down although a fan was available.

There was a small TV with half a dozen channels but we didn't bother watching it anyway. The shower was good and powerful. A small bottle of shampoo and another of shower gel was provided but additional would have been welcome. There was a hair drier provided but no room safe. None of the room doors have quiet closing ability so every door slams shut which will disturb your sleep.

We didn't like the menu for the restaurant so ate in the Red Lion bar, which is part of the hotel. This food was excellent and plentiful. We ate breakfast at a nearby cafe.

My only real complaint is that Wifi is available in the Reception but not in the room. I queried this and was told that the router was broken but the engineer would be called out. 3 days later there was still no internet.

Overall this is a very good choice for a short break location and the staff I spoke with were all friendly and efficient. The village has plenty of options for food and drink if you find the hotel food and cost not to your liking. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor might be quieter due to less doors slamming shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We usually find, that visiting a Best Western, is a positive experience. On our visit, the staff DID NOT show much enthusiasm or efficiency !! When placing our order for a party of 6, we requested a small portion, for our elderly relative. (A smaller portion seems to be common practice, at a lot of eateries). The response to this, was a smaller portion could be served however, the price of a full portion would be charged :-\ The food itself was excellent, though we had to request a spoon twice, in order to consume our soup starter !! It is SUCH a shame that the staff seem to let this place down. Though our compliments DO go to the chef :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a great time at this hotel, and the icing on the cake was the free upgrade to the Silver How room, which was very large, and also had a lovely balcony with very nice furniture, which we used every day of our stay despite the weather. The food in the Lamb inn was good pub grub, and they serve an excellent pint of Guinness. Grasmere is a great place to unwind and relax, and the added pool and steam room at the hotel made this even better. we will definitely return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The club rooms are bigger and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsDen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had stayed at this hotel a while ago and had found it a nice relaxing place but would agree some of the staff could have been more helpful. However we have been to the Lamb Inn a number of times (which is part of the hotel) and had a few meals here,we found the food always good and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standawson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Second time at this hotel same friendly staff the room we had this time was on the third floor it have small balcony very nice the foods great we had a great time and yes we go again see tip about parking your car below.

Room Tip: Parking is very limited if you’re lucky you get a spot if you’re not you'll have to park in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing