We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location, friendly staff and great food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, friendly staff and great food!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have lost count of how many times we have returned to stay at the Best Western Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, but on every visit we are given a very warm welcome by the friendly staff. All of the rooms that we have stayed in have been both comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel means that the views are spectacular, and the food is really lovely.
When we go for a break, I am accompanied by my mum and my daughter. My mum loves the views, walks, and the places that she can go to read a book or have a coffee. My daughter loves the pool and being made a fuss of by the staff. I love to go because of all of this and the warmth of the hospitality.....just excellent, see you again soon!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. One side of the hotel has stunning views over the fells and the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    462
    174
    68
    34
See reviews for
239
835
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It's the second time we have visited this hotel and once again we had an excellent stay.
The room was spacious and clean albeit a little warm on a night, staff friendly and helpful as usual, the pool and steam room are a bonus after a long day walking. There is always a nice relaxing atmosphere at this hotel which is one of its biggest selling points. I am sure we will be returning here again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed their for three nights. The hotel needs updating TLC, but as I spoke with the manager. He confirmed the new owners are planning to spend some money on updating hotel. For us the staff and service we received were second to none. Really friendly people and always ready to help. The location is perfect in small village, We will definately visit them again. Just one suggestion, please have more Vege option though the food was fantastic.

Many thanks to all the member of Best Western in Grasmere for your help and friendly service.

Viral Shah

Room Tip: Do not take room 106 which is over looking to the balcony of the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We based ourselves here for a week and enjoyed our stay.

Our room overlooked a field towards Allan Banks and Helm Crag so the view couldn't be faulted. The room was clean though a touch dated (but not to the extent that it caused us any worry). The bathroom was spotless and always toasty warm (enough to dry out wet walking gear).

The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful; the breakfast service was excellent - prompt and polite, the food itself couldn't be faulted.

Limited on site car parking might cause you concern although there is a free to use (from 18:00) public car park a 5 min walk away.

Good value, perfect location and a friendly feel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at the Red lion last weekend. Hotel ok but the bedroom had no ventilation windows would only open an inch (health and safety I was told!!)
Room needed a complete refurb, although the bed was comfortable, bathroom ancient!!
Staff at breakfast hovered over you, a bit uncomfortable.
Hotel not unlike most hotels in the Lakes, which describe themselves as 'full of Lakeland charm' which really means tired and shabby!!

Room Tip: On a par with most hotels in this price range. The Lakes is a bit of a rip off but people will come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely room, great, central location in Grasmere, food good, staff welcoming, fabulous walks on the doorstep, swimming pool welcome at the end of a day hiking in the hills. Will definitely return when we get a chance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 158Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a romantic break to Grasmere and stayed here for the first time. It is in an excellent central location, all of the staff were pleasant and helpful without fail, the hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was very good in general. Our room did not include a TV remote but on ringing reception, we were delivered one within 5 minutes. The room on the 2nd floor, average but acceptable for a three star hotel. Parking is limited but we found there were plenty of places to park around the hotel if you don't get in the car park itself. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have better views and rooms at the back of hotel, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiemhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing