We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, UK
2 reviews
“Lovely Hotel and friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I organised a reunion weekend stay for 7 friends at the Red Lion and we all enjoyed our time there. Our rooms were not particularly large but were well equipped and comfortable. The food we had there was excellent (the breakfasts are particularly generous) and the staff were cheerful and helpful. The hotel has a really friendly atmosphere. The Red Lion is surrounded by some good places to eat out if you want a change from the excellent restaurant. I find Grasmere has a timeless relaxing atmosphere and I could stroll round all day - even in the rain, which it did. The Lake District is never a cheap place to stay but I thought the Red Lion was pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob4366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    481
    186
    71
    36
See reviews for
244
859
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

After reading reviews about the Red Lion being 'tired' we were very pleasantly surprised. Our top floor family room was very large and had been recently refurbished. It was very clean and had a flat screen TV with freeview, plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, etc. and lots of room for 2 adults and 3 children. Bed very comfortable. Views from the windows lovely. Only a couple of niggles, mainly the shower going hot and cold. Staff were all very friendly and downstairs areas nice too. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice and good service. Only disappointing part was pool which needs refurbishing - smelt a bit and was freezing. Would stay again but not bother with pool!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemimaLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Spent 4 nights with family last week. We had booked and read mixed reviews on Trip Advisor before we arrived with some trepidation.
Don't believe all you read!
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, we had no problem finding the hotel or parking.
We were put placed in their most recently refurbished room which was spacious, warm and comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent and the service for the cooked breakfast was great. Even many 5 star hotels seem to have forgotten about table service for breakfast.
The rooms were clean and kept clean. The hotel info on walks and local amenities was also good.
We felt the evening dinner was a little expensive unless you had 4 courses, 2 for £20 for a fruit starter and piece of fish not great value but £26 for a full dinner not bad if you choose wisely.
The pool was cold when we stayed so didnt use it but didnt have that much time so not really missed.
I enjoyed the real ale at the adjoining pub and the regular throughput of different ales was impressive.
We ate one late afternoon in the pub, the service was a bit haphazard but the food was good and better value than the hotel.
Overall a very comfortable hotel, speak to them direct regarding rooms, I think some are great, others sound a little tired and enjoy the breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TARGA4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We have just returned from a two night visit to the above hotel and am concerned that no one has to share our experience !!

On our arrival, we were allocated a bedroom immediately to the rear of the hotel laundry facility. I went to reception to seek assurance that the facility would not be noisy late in the day. Reception confirmed that the facility would not be in use after 20.00.

That evening, we were unable to sleep due to the noise and heat from what I thought was the laundry and reported same to the manager first thing the following morning. He was unable to assist us in any way as “..the hotel is full tonight and anyway, I looked in at the laundry at 9.00 pm last night and it was not in use then..”

We also pointed out that the "double bed" was so narrow that it seemd to be a large single rather than a double but the manager just disagreed .. placing two pillows side by side at the head of the bed resulted in the pillows overlapping beyond the bed !!

We were not at all satisfied by his response and asked again to be moved but he was unable to be of any assistance.

On the second night neither my wife nor myself had any sleep and we almost left the hotel at 3am but decided to stay until morning and report our dissatisfaction again. (The noise / heat in our room sounded and felt like it came from the laundry but on checking that room no one was present and none of the machines was in operation so I was unable to locate the source of the noise but there certainly was what sounded like a washing machine working it’s way through the washing cycle again and again and again all night until 4 am when it stopped !!!)

Again, we reported same to reception on checking out where we received no satisfaction !!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeDistrictTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Spent six nights at the Red Lion in Grasmere in July 2008 as base camp for exploring the Lake District by car and on foot. Grasmere is a lovely village and the Red Lion is a prominent building in it.

Echoing some of the more recent comments on the three stars and under side, sadly, I think time is catching up with this place as my room, while generally comfortable and blessed with a little balcony to sit on and look out on the fells, was a little ragged. The mattress had probably seen its last good night's sleep five or more years ago. Everything had a dusty feel and air to it, as though the place needed a good airing out. A functional hotel but nothing remarkable at all.

Ate downstairs the first night in town and then took to the other spots in the village (of which I can highly recommend the Tweedies Bar at the Dale Lodge Hotel (food and especially drink) and the Jumble Room just around the corner for great food and an even greater host).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Stayed for a three night mid week break. Check in was fine despite the jazz concert going on in the lounge, room was nice, clean and comfortable and bedroom was modern. Bathroom clean but old and worn. Bed was comfy and everything worked well. The pool, sauna etc was lovely. We didn't visit the attached pub. Was not cheap but as its right in the middle of Grasmere, (we had a semi fell view) its worth it. Staff were a mixed bag, mostly very helpful but often distracted by phone calls. Breakfast was good, the service was very friendly and genuine, very filling.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernSoul94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redfive5
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

My wife & I have just returned from a 1 night stay at the Red Lion. We stayed arounf 4 years ago & it was fantastic. This time dare I say it but it was even better. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing