We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Grasmere
Nearby Hotels
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$174
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,704)
Filter reviews
1,704 results
Traveller rating
825
555
203
82
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
825
555
203
82
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionclub roomcourtyard restaurantparking is limitedleisure facilitieslake districtgin and tonicpool and jacuzzilovely hotellambthird floorsmall balconylounge areaevening mealsister hotelnight breakshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,640 - 1,645 of 1,704 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I organised a reunion weekend stay for 7 friends at the Red Lion and we all enjoyed our time there. Our rooms were not particularly large but were well equipped and comfortable. The food we had there was excellent (the breakfasts are particularly generous) and the staff were cheerful and helpful. The hotel has a really friendly atmosphere. The Red Lion is surrounded by some good places to eat out if you want a change from the excellent restaurant. I find Grasmere has a timeless relaxing atmosphere and I could stroll round all day - even in the rain, which it did. The Lake District is never a cheap place to stay but I thought the Red Lion was pretty good value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob4366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

After reading reviews about the Red Lion being 'tired' we were very pleasantly surprised. Our top floor family room was very large and had been recently refurbished. It was very clean and had a flat screen TV with freeview, plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, etc. and lots of room for 2 adults and 3 children. Bed very comfortable. Views from the windows lovely. Only a couple of niggles, mainly the shower going hot and cold. Staff were all very friendly and downstairs areas nice too. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice and good service. Only disappointing part was pool which needs refurbishing - smelt a bit and was freezing. Would stay again but not bother with pool!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemimaLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Spent 4 nights with family last week. We had booked and read mixed reviews on Trip Advisor before we arrived with some trepidation.
Don't believe all you read!
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, we had no problem finding the hotel or parking.
We were put placed in their most recently refurbished room which was spacious, warm and comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent and the service for the cooked breakfast was great. Even many 5 star hotels seem to have forgotten about table service for breakfast.
The rooms were clean and kept clean. The hotel info on walks and local amenities was also good.
We felt the evening dinner was a little expensive unless you had 4 courses, 2 for £20 for a fruit starter and piece of fish not great value but £26 for a full dinner not bad if you choose wisely.
The pool was cold when we stayed so didnt use it but didnt have that much time so not really missed.
I enjoyed the real ale at the adjoining pub and the regular throughput of different ales was impressive.
We ate one late afternoon in the pub, the service was a bit haphazard but the food was good and better value than the hotel.
Overall a very comfortable hotel, speak to them direct regarding rooms, I think some are great, others sound a little tired and enjoy the breakfasts!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TARGA4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We have just returned from a two night visit to the above hotel and am concerned that no one has to share our experience !!

On our arrival, we were allocated a bedroom immediately to the rear of the hotel laundry facility. I went to reception to seek assurance that the facility would not be noisy late in the day. Reception confirmed that the facility would not be in use after 20.00.

That evening, we were unable to sleep due to the noise and heat from what I thought was the laundry and reported same to the manager first thing the following morning. He was unable to assist us in any way as “..the hotel is full tonight and anyway, I looked in at the laundry at 9.00 pm last night and it was not in use then..”

We also pointed out that the "double bed" was so narrow that it seemd to be a large single rather than a double but the manager just disagreed .. placing two pillows side by side at the head of the bed resulted in the pillows overlapping beyond the bed !!

We were not at all satisfied by his response and asked again to be moved but he was unable to be of any assistance.

On the second night neither my wife nor myself had any sleep and we almost left the hotel at 3am but decided to stay until morning and report our dissatisfaction again. (The noise / heat in our room sounded and felt like it came from the laundry but on checking that room no one was present and none of the machines was in operation so I was unable to locate the source of the noise but there certainly was what sounded like a washing machine working it’s way through the washing cycle again and again and again all night until 4 am when it stopped !!!)

Again, we reported same to reception on checking out where we received no satisfaction !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakeDistrictTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Spent six nights at the Red Lion in Grasmere in July 2008 as base camp for exploring the Lake District by car and on foot. Grasmere is a lovely village and the Red Lion is a prominent building in it.

Echoing some of the more recent comments on the three stars and under side, sadly, I think time is catching up with this place as my room, while generally comfortable and blessed with a little balcony to sit on and look out on the fells, was a little ragged. The mattress had probably seen its last good night's sleep five or more years ago. Everything had a dusty feel and air to it, as though the place needed a good airing out. A functional hotel but nothing remarkable at all.

Ate downstairs the first night in town and then took to the other spots in the village (of which I can highly recommend the Tweedies Bar at the Dale Lodge Hotel (food and especially drink) and the Jumble Room just around the corner for great food and an even greater host).

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews