We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Holiday Away With New Dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We have a 6month old puppy and looked for a dog friendly place to stay on our first break away with her.
The red lion fitted the bill perfectly. We were booked in very swiftly, shown to a large room with a separate loung area with sofa bed and arm chair. There was plenty of room for our dog's crate. Bathroom fairly recently refurbished I think, room furniture(especially bed) and decor may be a little tired. We had a nice view towards the hills (Easdale?)from the room. The negatives i mention were more of an observation NOT a problem. Parking can be tight, I dread to think what it is like in the summer.
Breakfast was excellent, a buffet style continental with a very good cooked to order breakfast. waiting staff were very efficient, friendly and welcoming. In fact all the staff at the hotel were very good from start to fininsh. My other half made use of the small swimming pool and rated it. Hotel provided good local information.
Walks around Grasmere for all abilities(Easdale Tarn a good walk ) and most cafes, etc are dog friendly. We were also blessed with glorious spring sunshine which helped make our stay a great one. For wet weather Ambleside is easily accessible by bus or car.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

Its a bit old fashioned, but its clean and the staff in the hotel and the restaurant are really friendly. We arrived a little late and the restaurant was closed - but we still were offered tasty food. Our room was lovely - a small balcony at the back of the hotel where the view was not too good, but the view from the side was across rolling countryside. Amazing - that's all you're getting :-)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Stayed here (for second time) in mid January as it is one of only a few hotels that allow dogs & Grasmere is a great base for fell walking. Hotel is fine - currently undergoing needed refurbishment. We looked at some of the refurbished rooms and they look good. Room rates a little pricey & seem to charge £20 for the dog - no matter how long the stay which seems odd - surely there should be a per day charge if this is to cover the cost of additional cleaning? Seemed excessive for only 2 nights and no additional mess. Swimming pool area is very pleasant & gym, sauna & steam room are perfectly fine. Did not eat dinner at the hotel on this occasion, but breakfast was good & plentiful.
Service was fine & we also like the pub next door (also dog-friendly) although this could be made a little cosier and less bright.

Ate at Tweedies both nights - food very good, although had a complaint on the second evening which wasn't addressed by anyone. Why ask if you enjoyed your meal if they're not going to do anything about it if you didn't & have explained why you didn't? Also a little dark in the restaurant area, but otherwise good atmosphere.

All in all, very pleasant stay and hope to stay there again, despite it being a little pricey at weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyRubyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We have stayed in this hotel many times now & as ever we have always found every thing to our satisfaction. The reception staff are very friendly & polite They all seem to be well trained at the job they do & are happy to help with any requests you may have.
The rooms are well decorated with matching bed covers & cutains. The wardrobes are large enough to hang quite a few items of clothing & there are plenty of drawers. The dressing table is big enough to put a laptop on If you need to do some work on the computer. I never take mine away with me though so i do not know if they have the internet at the hotel.
The swimming pool is large enough to have a swim & more often than not we have had the pool to ourselves. We do usually go mid week though, weekends are probably busier & during school holidays which we avoid. The sauna & steam room are big enough for approx 5/6 people. We had a swim, went in the jacuzzi, steam room, then went up to the room & had a spa bath. After all that we did not have the energy to use the gym which we intended to do later in the evening.
We had our evening meal in The Lamb Inn next to the hotel. The pub has an adjoining door from the Hotel. When it is raining you don't even have to step outside. The food is really good & as well as the standard menu there is a specials board. You get plenty of food & it is always very hot. I can not eat my food if it is only warm. They have a TV in the pub with sport on if you chose to watch it & there is part of the pub set out like a small restaurant where you can not see the TV & is quite cozy.
Do bear in mind the parking is limited, we always get there about an hour before check in. We have never had a problem though.
Grasmere is a beautiful little village & is in a great location for visiting other places.

After reading some of the other reveiws on this site i find it hard to believe they are talking about the same Hotel. I can not help but think some of them are from local competition in the village, & yes we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine-Sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

It has been quite a few years since we last stayed at the Red Lion,Grasmere. At that time,the hotel had the feel of an older coaching Inn with an entrance hall having a large Grand Father clock,hat and coat racks and a roaring log fire to welcome guests on a cold Winters eve. Our room,on that occasion,was of a barely acceptable standard.
And so it was that in that space between Christmas and New Year we once again returned to the Red Lion for a short break. The hotel has undergone considerable refurbishment since our previous visit. The Entrance hall is bright and well decorated and presented and includes a resident’s lounge and bar area. The residents lounge is bright and comfortable with large comfy sofas and complimentary coffee. I was immediately drawn toward two large book cases which seemed to display a large collection of interesting books but on closer inspection were found to be plastic fakes and purely decorative ! What a disappointment and a seemingly pointless waste of wall space. Why not have some real books? Indeed any kind of reading material seemed to be in short supply save for a couple of outdated copies of Cumbrian Life, one dated 2004 !
The lounge would have much benefited had it had a fire of some sort,be it traditional open log/coal or faux modern gas. Maybe also some seasonal mulled wine/mine pies?
No matter..I passed some time demonstrating my skills on the rather nice upright piano. It is such a joy to play that I’m sure anyone could play it !
Unfortunately I didn’t use the leisure centre though the pool looked very bright,pleasant and appealing.
My allotted room proved to be much better than my previous visit. Well presented and decorated with modern fixtures,lighting,a flat screen tv,cd player/radio etc etc very nice,warm and comfortable.. Also the bathroom ,very bright and nicely tiled with a Jacuzzi type bath. We were on the top floor and the hot water seemed to take quite a while to run through.
Breakfast-very good and a great selection. The staff were pleasant, efficient and approachable despite it being very busy. We did not use the restaurant for dinner but I have no doubt it was equally good.
On our first evening we chose to dine at the adjoining Lamb Inn. There is an internal door from the Red Lion to the Lamb Inn and I have no idea whether they are one and the same or a separate establishment. The Lamb Inn is,unfortunately,not a particularly appealing eaterie. Although the service is pleasant and efficient, the surroundings are less so. The place is in desperate need of refurbishment and even on a freezing Winters evening, the big log open fire remained unlit and the place decidedly chilly. Surely a roaring log fire is a staple of such establishments? We ate quickly and left.
I would suggest that anyone seeking a good evening meal without formalities should adjourn to Tweedies bar around the corner where a good selection can be had along with a good spread of local brew real ales. Get there early as it is popular.
Also the dinner menu at the Red Lion looked appealing.
Parking-The Red Lion does have residents parking on the frontage. When we arrived,the car park was full and the receptionist seemed unable to confidently suggest an alternative. I have stayed at other Lakeland hotels who have voucher schemes in which you put a hotel ID badge in the window and use another car park. Curiously,none of the cars seemed to move from the car park so I can only conclude that most were staff cars? We parked some distance away around the corner and hoped that we didn’t get ticketed/clamped/otherwise admonished.

All in all a good stay at the Red Lion. Some learning points for the benefit of the Hotel and future guests-Make parking arrangements, Put some proper books/reading/periodicals in the lounge,maybe a real fire?. Lamb Inn-light your fire when its freezing,redecorate,sort your menu out with some good hearty pub food.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We stayed here for one night when we were evacuated from another hotel during the Cumbrian Floods.
The hotel is relatively large and we stayed on the 3rd floor, we access by the lft, The reception is bright and well decorated and in good condition. The lounge and bar area for the guests in large with loads of sofa's and tea and coffee that you can help yourself to for a charge, but you also have the choice of going into the public bar area which also has seating and serves food, We didn't eat dinner here but the beakfast was huge and there was good choice of items. The car park is quite tight. And the pool and spa was closed due to floods so can't comment on this. The room was clean, very modern and well decorated with A/C, operable heating which meant we could turn it down, good range of channels on the TV. The bathroom was also modern and had a rainshower.
The hotel is very central in the village. I would recommend this hotel for the older generation however or for families rather than younger couples.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancycakefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Rooms an okay size. Spa bath and small flatscreen TV. Food very good. Grasmere a great little place

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £79 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing