We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ok, but could be better”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We booked one of the standard rooms. When we arrived and went to the room it was really shabby, with damp patches under the window, scuff marks all over the walls, and a tatty bathroom. Complained and got a free upgrade to a superior room which was a lot better, though still could do with a refurb. Very hot in the room, though it was a hot day - thankfully they had a fan in there. Staff were good, breakfasts were very nice and the public areas and pool are very nice. Overall its a nice place to stay if you get the right room - could do with a refurb though.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    481
    186
    71
    36
See reviews for
244
859
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Just finished a week at the Red Lion, with my wife and close friends. Grasmere is conveniently positioned in the Lake District, with easy access to everything. The Red Lion sits centrally in the village, through which a small river flows, and is close to a number of small shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel proved to be a perfect choice for our needs, and is a real gem, not too large to lose its individuality, with just 3 floors, and maintains the charm and individuality of the village. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished to high standards, although a little short with storage space - a chest of drawers would resolve this. Many of the bedrooms are towards the rear of the hotel and look out over fields and fells, which is a joy to see first thing in the morning. A small bar serves a very comfortable and inviting lounge, perfect to relax after experiencing the hills and lakes, and is complemented by a well presented dining room. Although the hotel serves dinner, we went for the B&B option, as we wanted to enjoy the variety of Cumbrian hospitality in nearby restaurants for dinner, but the hotel breakfasts would satisfy a king, with an expansive and superbly cooked menu. Best of all about the Red Lion is the hospitality of all the staff, from reception to bar and dining room staff, they are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. The adjacent Lamb Inn is convenient, offering food and real ales, but there are better pubs nearby. I would certainly go back to this hotel, it ticks all the boxes, offering high quality and outstanding service befitting far more expensive establishments. Would I recommend the Red Lion? Yes, yes, yes!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We have a 6month old puppy and looked for a dog friendly place to stay on our first break away with her.
The red lion fitted the bill perfectly. We were booked in very swiftly, shown to a large room with a separate loung area with sofa bed and arm chair. There was plenty of room for our dog's crate. Bathroom fairly recently refurbished I think, room furniture(especially bed) and decor may be a little tired. We had a nice view towards the hills (Easdale?)from the room. The negatives i mention were more of an observation NOT a problem. Parking can be tight, I dread to think what it is like in the summer.
Breakfast was excellent, a buffet style continental with a very good cooked to order breakfast. waiting staff were very efficient, friendly and welcoming. In fact all the staff at the hotel were very good from start to fininsh. My other half made use of the small swimming pool and rated it. Hotel provided good local information.
Walks around Grasmere for all abilities(Easdale Tarn a good walk ) and most cafes, etc are dog friendly. We were also blessed with glorious spring sunshine which helped make our stay a great one. For wet weather Ambleside is easily accessible by bus or car.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Its a bit old fashioned, but its clean and the staff in the hotel and the restaurant are really friendly. We arrived a little late and the restaurant was closed - but we still were offered tasty food. Our room was lovely - a small balcony at the back of the hotel where the view was not too good, but the view from the side was across rolling countryside. Amazing - that's all you're getting :-)

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Stayed here (for second time) in mid January as it is one of only a few hotels that allow dogs & Grasmere is a great base for fell walking. Hotel is fine - currently undergoing needed refurbishment. We looked at some of the refurbished rooms and they look good. Room rates a little pricey & seem to charge £20 for the dog - no matter how long the stay which seems odd - surely there should be a per day charge if this is to cover the cost of additional cleaning? Seemed excessive for only 2 nights and no additional mess. Swimming pool area is very pleasant & gym, sauna & steam room are perfectly fine. Did not eat dinner at the hotel on this occasion, but breakfast was good & plentiful.
Service was fine & we also like the pub next door (also dog-friendly) although this could be made a little cosier and less bright.

Ate at Tweedies both nights - food very good, although had a complaint on the second evening which wasn't addressed by anyone. Why ask if you enjoyed your meal if they're not going to do anything about it if you didn't & have explained why you didn't? Also a little dark in the restaurant area, but otherwise good atmosphere.

All in all, very pleasant stay and hope to stay there again, despite it being a little pricey at weekends.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyRubyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We have stayed in this hotel many times now & as ever we have always found every thing to our satisfaction. The reception staff are very friendly & polite They all seem to be well trained at the job they do & are happy to help with any requests you may have.
The rooms are well decorated with matching bed covers & cutains. The wardrobes are large enough to hang quite a few items of clothing & there are plenty of drawers. The dressing table is big enough to put a laptop on If you need to do some work on the computer. I never take mine away with me though so i do not know if they have the internet at the hotel.
The swimming pool is large enough to have a swim & more often than not we have had the pool to ourselves. We do usually go mid week though, weekends are probably busier & during school holidays which we avoid. The sauna & steam room are big enough for approx 5/6 people. We had a swim, went in the jacuzzi, steam room, then went up to the room & had a spa bath. After all that we did not have the energy to use the gym which we intended to do later in the evening.
We had our evening meal in The Lamb Inn next to the hotel. The pub has an adjoining door from the Hotel. When it is raining you don't even have to step outside. The food is really good & as well as the standard menu there is a specials board. You get plenty of food & it is always very hot. I can not eat my food if it is only warm. They have a TV in the pub with sport on if you chose to watch it & there is part of the pub set out like a small restaurant where you can not see the TV & is quite cozy.
Do bear in mind the parking is limited, we always get there about an hour before check in. We have never had a problem though.
Grasmere is a beautiful little village & is in a great location for visiting other places.

After reading some of the other reveiws on this site i find it hard to believe they are talking about the same Hotel. I can not help but think some of them are from local competition in the village, & yes we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine-Sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

It has been quite a few years since we last stayed at the Red Lion,Grasmere. At that time,the hotel had the feel of an older coaching Inn with an entrance hall having a large Grand Father clock,hat and coat racks and a roaring log fire to welcome guests on a cold Winters eve. Our room,on that occasion,was of a barely acceptable standard.
And so it was that in that space between Christmas and New Year we once again returned to the Red Lion for a short break. The hotel has undergone considerable refurbishment since our previous visit. The Entrance hall is bright and well decorated and presented and includes a resident’s lounge and bar area. The residents lounge is bright and comfortable with large comfy sofas and complimentary coffee. I was immediately drawn toward two large book cases which seemed to display a large collection of interesting books but on closer inspection were found to be plastic fakes and purely decorative ! What a disappointment and a seemingly pointless waste of wall space. Why not have some real books? Indeed any kind of reading material seemed to be in short supply save for a couple of outdated copies of Cumbrian Life, one dated 2004 !
The lounge would have much benefited had it had a fire of some sort,be it traditional open log/coal or faux modern gas. Maybe also some seasonal mulled wine/mine pies?
No matter..I passed some time demonstrating my skills on the rather nice upright piano. It is such a joy to play that I’m sure anyone could play it !
Unfortunately I didn’t use the leisure centre though the pool looked very bright,pleasant and appealing.
My allotted room proved to be much better than my previous visit. Well presented and decorated with modern fixtures,lighting,a flat screen tv,cd player/radio etc etc very nice,warm and comfortable.. Also the bathroom ,very bright and nicely tiled with a Jacuzzi type bath. We were on the top floor and the hot water seemed to take quite a while to run through.
Breakfast-very good and a great selection. The staff were pleasant, efficient and approachable despite it being very busy. We did not use the restaurant for dinner but I have no doubt it was equally good.
On our first evening we chose to dine at the adjoining Lamb Inn. There is an internal door from the Red Lion to the Lamb Inn and I have no idea whether they are one and the same or a separate establishment. The Lamb Inn is,unfortunately,not a particularly appealing eaterie. Although the service is pleasant and efficient, the surroundings are less so. The place is in desperate need of refurbishment and even on a freezing Winters evening, the big log open fire remained unlit and the place decidedly chilly. Surely a roaring log fire is a staple of such establishments? We ate quickly and left.
I would suggest that anyone seeking a good evening meal without formalities should adjourn to Tweedies bar around the corner where a good selection can be had along with a good spread of local brew real ales. Get there early as it is popular.
Also the dinner menu at the Red Lion looked appealing.
Parking-The Red Lion does have residents parking on the frontage. When we arrived,the car park was full and the receptionist seemed unable to confidently suggest an alternative. I have stayed at other Lakeland hotels who have voucher schemes in which you put a hotel ID badge in the window and use another car park. Curiously,none of the cars seemed to move from the car park so I can only conclude that most were staff cars? We parked some distance away around the corner and hoped that we didn’t get ticketed/clamped/otherwise admonished.

All in all a good stay at the Red Lion. Some learning points for the benefit of the Hotel and future guests-Make parking arrangements, Put some proper books/reading/periodicals in the lounge,maybe a real fire?. Lamb Inn-light your fire when its freezing,redecorate,sort your menu out with some good hearty pub food.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing