We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Italian meals I have ever had!!”
Review of Potted Out Cafe

Potted Out Cafe
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian meals I have ever had!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The food was fantastic and excellent value for money, Decoration was lovely and food come out very quickly. the only downside was the waiter could have been a little more friendly!
there was a group of 4 of us and we were all amazed at the flavours in our food.

If i get the chance to come back to Grasmere i will be sure to come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    262
    75
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely little Cafe Bistro”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped in for a drink and a quick lunch and was surprised. I had the salmon sandwich which was delicious. The scones were very large and good also. Good service. Clean. I wasn't overly struck on the menu, needed more choice.

But a very good find and would definitely return if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank family70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great scones, mixed service, Good and bad.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

On entering I asked the waiter at the counter if we could move two chairs to make a table of 4. he smiled and said yes. Then another waiter who was hovering said sorry there are no tables. I explained and he said ok.
We ordered tea/ coffee and scones and carrot cake. The Hungarian waiter was very friendly and we chatted as he served great food and drinks. he would have made a much better job of welcoming customers in to the establishment, than the person on duty on Saturday. Nice café nice décor, everything good with the exception of one surly waiter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happygal060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Food ranges from good to excellent in this likeable bistro”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I ate here alone for a very early dinner after a tiring day driving to the Lakes.
Potted Out had been recommended to me by my sister and she did not err. I have also reviewed the comparable and nearby Goody Blake's and, whilst both venues are worth a try if you're in Grasmere for a while, Potted Out wins my vote, with superior food and substantially better value.
The restaurant is airy, tasteful and homelike. The service is friendly and attentive.
My starter of pressed pork neck with homemade black pudding was absolutely wonderful and my main course of Gnocchi carbonara was also very good.
Many other items on the substantial menu also looked very tempting and this would be my first choice when visiting Grasmere again - a feeling reinforced by the extremely reasonable bill!
Very much recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mid Walk Lunch”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped off during a walk from Ambleside, and had a very pleasant lunch. We both decided on the sharing platters which was very good. Plenty of fresh warm bread to go with the meats and salad. Had a slice of lemon cake which, although a bit dry was tasty. Washed down with a hot cup of tea provided in a pot. Staff very quick to serve and very attentive. Good value !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potted Out Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Potted Out Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing