We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for dinner in Grasmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Potted Out Cafe

Potted Out Cafe
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place for dinner in Grasmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here after having eaten previous nights in other places in Grasmere, but this was by far the best. Excellent food - great taste and well cooked and presented. Very friendly efficient staff. Good value for money. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    248
    69
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Have seen this restaurant on a previous visit to Grasmere but never visited before. I am so glad we did as the whole experience was most enjoyable. They really have everything covered and are the complete package. They were very busy as it was a hot sunny day as there was a classic car show on in the fields close to the town but we didn't have to wait long and the gentleman that served us was very attentive and could not have done any more to accommodate us. The outside seating was very comfortable and it has lovely views down the main street of Grasmere or across the hills and fields in the other direction. We had sandwiches which were nicely presented and good value for money. Would definitely recommend anyone to visit here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrahagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Allie T”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely food, good service, very busy but didn't have to wait to long for food, we sat outside even though it was by the side at 7pm it was quiet

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from doing the coast to coast and this was the best restaurant we ate ate over the entire route, and there were some other good ones. The food here is excellent and the service was good too. Would come back any time.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Grasmere, though small is full of places to dine and I have eaten at many good restaurants here, but Potted out takes things to another level completely. When on such a scenic holiday, it's great to find a restaurant that has a good outside seated area, open to views and the vibrant bustle of the quiet little town. The food is fantastic, with plenty of tasty choices on the menu. The service is friendly, attentive (but not overly so) and impressively fast and for such high quality, it's unusual to find such great value. This was my favourite place to eat this holiday, in fact, so good that we went back a second time on our last night. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potted Out Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Potted Out Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing