We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Potted Out Cafe

Potted Out Cafe
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had several good meals at this cafe. Lunches (4.5) tended to be better than dinner (3.5). The food was overall good. I particularly enjoyed the gnocchi carbonara. The staff were absolutely lovely, helpful and friendly. Their internationalism added wonderfully to the relaxed atmosphere. I definitely recommend the cafe for frequent lunches, if you are staying in Grasmere or visiting. It is quite central and conveniently located near the coach park if you are visiting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    248
    70
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous food, wide variety, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here on both nights of our weekend trip as we liked it so much the first night. The sun was shining and we sat outside we could have been in Spain! Great choice of foods for vegetarians too. Friendly staff, great location, if you want to eat out in Grasmere you shout try Potted out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice food.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time I have tried this restaurant, since going to Grasmere, and was very impressed with the food, presentation and quality. Service was very quick....prices reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Sat outside in the sunshine and watched the Lakeland world wander by. Lovely spot - great food - good service

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidsontrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been here every time we have stayed in Grasmere. The food is always tasty and high quality. The service is good and the staff are friendly. If you like Dodds in Ambleside give this a go, it is just as nice but a slightly different menu

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katkrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potted Out Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Potted Out Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing