We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with great staff”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

An excellent stay for 2 nights in Grasmere. Multicultural staff team was pleasant and polite and went out of their way to fix our telephone. Extensive menu with different food daily and fast service in restaurant. Ample off road parking. Overall, a great hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have just returned from staying at this hotel for three nights with my husband and elderly parents, my Father being disabled. My Parents were delighted to have a large comfortable ground floor room. The staff more than went out of their way to be extremely helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile. The food was truly excellent and fantastic value. Meal times were a delight.
The bedrooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Yes the Wi Fi is a little hit and miss,the TV has limited channels, the floorboards creaky and some of the decor a little dated but being in such a friendly place in walking distance of stunning scenery more than makes up for it and who needs it anyway!!.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G.GREENWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Nice hotel in a great location with ample off-road parking. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Restaurant serves excellent food and breakfasts are very good.
We have stayed at this hotel several times and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Lovely, family run hotel, wonderful service and helpful staff. Price includes full, four course dinner as well as breakfast so excellent value (and food is very good!). Kids meal (really good food) served from 5.15 so you can walk all day, feed the kids, put them to bed and then enjoy a quiet, lovely dinner together. One of the best areas to explore the lake district from, many easy and varied walks, as well as more challenging fells and lovely tea/coffee shops if it's raining. Wordsworth's Dove Cottage is nearby. Very relaxing and ideal for walkers.

Room Tip: Go on the website to see each of the rooms. Back rooms have lovely sound of river and ducks. Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is a wonderful base to explore the lake district. Food, service, relaxing atmosphere and the shared guest lounges are the hotel's strengths. Minor grumbles relate to the poor guest wifi, limited tv channels, hard mattress, ageing pillows and dated bedroom decor.
Guests overlook the weaknesses as it is such a relaxing base.

Room Tip: You either have a view of the garden or look out on the river. Choose the garden if the sound of run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Wordsworth said Grasmere was the loveliest place ever. He was not wrong. In a beautiful setting, the Bridge is a brilliant hotel. The food (and wine) were really good, and the staff were so helpful & friendly. We absolutely loved our stay in our new Lake District favourite

Room Tip: The river view was exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We had stayed here about 4 years ago & loved the food! Having travelled from Edinburgh as part of a road trip we questioned the price & were told £65 for DB&B so my daughter stated we had expected to pay £60... We were told we could have B&B for £55 so no real reduction for last minute... Room could have remained empty...but it was getting late so we booked in... Room was spacious.... Last time we were given a ground floor smaller room...however we weren't disappointed with the food...goat's cheese pate....lemon & orange sorbet.... Stir fry veg on noodles although amused when extra veg served with it then apple crumble & custard... So we slept on lovely full stomachs. We asked about soya milk when booking in but cow's milk was on the breakfast table so we questioned this... The 1st waitress insisted it was but later we realised lost in translation & she thought we said semi milk but later said that she'd put it on another table... However the 2nd waitress brought carton & jug ensuring soya...there was no veggie option on menu but when asked we were told there were beans so we had beans on toast that was fine! Although basic this is good value for money as it includes a 4 course meal & is in the centre of Grasmere!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Lancrigg
The Lancrigg
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £69 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere
Bridge House Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing