We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the Lakes”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently in this hotel, which at £55 pppnight dinner, bed & breakfast in Grasmere is very good value. Rooms nicely appointed, superior ones with river view and trees. Easy parking and very good central location for Grasmere. Staff nearly all Eastern European and very pleasant & helpful. Manager Jane works 5 days a week from 8am ish to 3.30pm, but feel it needs more management, the owners of the hotel never seem to appear. Jane is excellent but of course isnt there all the time. Breakfast is excellent, best poached eggs I've ever had, and the full English great, presentation too is excellent. Dinner very good, starters not as good as the soup and main course, but overall very good food.
The advertised log fires sometimes fall short as unless the staff are told they dont maintain the one and only log fire, in the first lounge, which is lovely and cosy on a winters night, but the first night we were there it was allowed to go out, We told Jane who was quite cross and told the staff to keep it in, which they did the following day until dinner, which again it was almost out until my husband saved it. Everyone remarked what a difference a fire made to the room, the one in the other lounge is apparently never lit. Bit dated, but a comfortable hotel, without an awful lot of atmosphere though. Our king size bed was a little hard, but the room was lovely, plenty of tea & coffee, and lots of king size toiletries in the bathroom, also plenty of hot water. All in all we had a lovely stay, would just say it needs a bit more tlc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Bridge House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked into the Bridge House at short notice via booking.com and without having looked at any reviews before doing so. Our brief stay there wasn't entirely without mishaps but we quite liked it and would have been happy to stay for longer. So what we're the mishaps and what made up for them? The location of the hotel is God whether you like walking or just short strolls around the Wordsworth attractions and the shops, being close to the church and right on the bank of the River Rothay. If you want a room overlooking the river these are to the rear of the hotel while those at the front overlook the lawn and the car park. While this may sound like an easy choice, the hotel faces southeast so the rooms at the front catch the sun better. The views are reasonably good and the surrounding peaks can be seen, though for the most part they are screened from view by the trees close by and from experience better views can certainly be found. That said, for the best views you will be stepping out of your hotel anyway so is it a deciding factor?


With 18 rooms available we booked a 'superior double' room at the front of the hotel, that gave us a comfortable four poster bed. There was a fitted wardrobe with a free safe secured to the floor inside. If you need to use a safe I would recommend looking on its door for the instructions. There is a hotel guide in the room but this for me to set a three number combination and after doing so I found I couldn't get the thing open again! At that point I realised the instructions on the safe door ask for a four number combination. I obtained a pass key for it from reception and was told all the safes are different so look on the door not in the book. Incidentally, if you're wondering about the pass key, each safe has its own. Looking around the room there were a couple of comfortable chairs beside each other in the bay window but they didn't make me feel like I would like to spend some time relaxing in one to enjoy a book. Ok for a few minutes. The TV was a nice LCD model that did exactly what it was supposed to do and the complementary tea and coffee were well stocked. Two small improvements would be possible, the first to include some decaf coffee/tea for those who prefer it and the second to provide a small bag or bin for the used packets and plastic milk pots. The Bridge House appears to be on board with the principle of recycling and asks that these items from your tea and coffee making are not just thrown in the waste bin – the problem is they don’t offer an alternative and ask for them to be left on the tray which can become messy and cluttered after a few drinks. The bathroom was good with a nicely proportioned bath and shower, and overall room servicing couldn't be faulted - everything that was supposed to be there was and the room was spotlessly clean. There was quite a build up of condensation in the window and that obviously affects the view if it's important to you but it was winter and the day the hotel reopened following its winter closure.


So what went wrong? You may remember that I referred to a mishap and ours arose as I was lying on the bed, book in hand when my wife started shouting for me to come quickly. I didn't need to be a plumber to figure out the problem as my wife stood with the top of the cold tap in hand as our new ensuite fountain left an increasingly large pond on the floor - the whole thing had simply come unscrewed! The valve before the wash basin needed a screw driver so the water couldn't be shut off but I did manage to jam it on firmly enough to hold while I headed for reception and this is the important part. No hotel has a problem free existence it's how they dealt with it that mattered. In our case it seemed like the chef was good with a spanner and with the help of a colleague it looked like nothing had ever happened within 15-20 minutes. Not bad going and with just enough inconvenience to make the whole thing something to laugh about. Hence it had no adverse effect on our opinion of the Bridge House, but left us happy we hadn't had to decamp to another room and it was all sorted out quickly.


Downstairs there is a comfortable lounge to while away some time with a good book or you e-mail if you must with a bar area next door and a smaller lounge beyond that. Drinks are typically priced for a hotel but a rather nice touch was the addition of a complimentary tea and coffee machine at the end of the bar if that's all you want or you don't drink. There is a book Case in the lounge where you can take and leave books, so you don't have to worry about not being able to finish your choice before leaving. A simple idea that more places should adopt. For rainy days there is also a small range of games available.


The restaurant at the Bridge North is a good size and for a four course evening meal we paid £15 each (£25 for non-residents) and felt the quality very good indeed offering excellent value. It was a comfortable setting and the service was fast, friendly and attentive. At breakfast, each room was assigned a table number so everyone was seated close together with plenty of space around. It probably made service easier but we would have liked to choose our own table. Apart from that, eating at the Bridge House was a pleasure we wouldn't hesitate to repeat and breakfast too was well prepared. Cereals, yoghurt or fruit available to serve yourself, I followed it with poached egg and smoked haddock and it was delicious.


There is free Wi-Fi in the hotel after obtaining the password though we found it a little difficult to access at times. Using our tablets, an IPad and a Nexus 7, both identified up to four servers for the Bridge House. The best was listed as the Bridge House bar but by the time we reached our room it was shown as 'out of range'. I don't know if this is a commonly encountered problem but it makes a real difference these days to have a good connection, whether you want it for business, keeping in touch with family or planning your next walk. Incidentally, most of the pictures of fells and local scenery that adorn the walls seem to have been taken by the owner so he may be a good person to talk to it you want some first hand local knowledge before deciding on a walk.


Overall of impression of the Bridge House was a very positive one and we were happy with our choice. We quite liked the morning sun, especially on a winter's day so not having a room that overlooked the river didn't bother us but it might be something you want to think about if a choice of room is available. Parking is good, indeed guaranteed and the location is good fit walkers and strollers. Out room was well serviced, the staff friendly and helpful, and the food was great value and very well prepared. We would definitely consider staying there again if visiting Grasmere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front catch the sun while those at the back overlook the River Rothay.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geobar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was a family visit for a relative's 70th birthday, but we have stayed before and will definitely return. The family-run hotel is a haven of peace on the edge of Grasmere, separated from the village by the river, which ran under our bedroom window. It stands in tree-lined grounds and boasts comfortable lounges, a bar and a roaring fire to keep out the winter cold. A minor problem had cropped up with the room we originally booked, but we were shown to a much better one, with no extra charge. The dinner menus were well thought out and toothsome and the breakfasts large and tasty. The family and staff were friendly and helpful - even spending time sorting out a Wi-Fi problem for a new-bought gadget. The Bridge House has excellent, cosy facilities and a tranquil away-from-it-all atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you like to hear running water as you drift off, ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Second time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. Nice big car park, nice and friendly staff and outstanding food. Right in the middle of Grasmere and fantastic walks from the doorstep.
The 4 course meal was outstanding and very reasonable, a nice bottle of wine finished it off perfectly.
The hotel is spotless can't fault one little thing. Thanks.
Even had 2 days of sun in January 2014.

Room Tip: Room 12 had a nice view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave66672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for one night. We felt the check in was too clinical and not personal at all. We were pointed to our room and left to it. This is fine but I would have liked an offer of help up the stairs with our bags. The room was functional and the veiw onto the river was lovely. The bathroom was dated and the floor was carpeted - a big no in my opinion. Like others i disliked the large shampoo, soap and shower gel bottles. The bed was comfy enough without being a fantastic sleep. In the morning breakfast was nice enough and the servants were pleasant enough. All in all a good enough hotel for 1 or 2 nights but wouldnt want to stay for any longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our first visit to the Bridge House hotel, and we were given room 6 on the first floor. The room was more than adequate, the bathroom was reasonable although I don't like having carpet on the floor, and the shampoo, handwash, shower gell were in large pump bottles, these would have been much better in individual bottles. Also there was no glasses in the bathroom.
Those were the Negatives, but the positive was defiantly the evening meals, the food was delious,
And the service very good. We found it good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 6 was very hot, possibly above the kitchen!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A last minute booking at the beginning of half term - deal for 2 nights stay. Arrived in rain - myself & my 2 kids aged 9 & 11 to find the room in the attic up a steep second set of stairs. The attendant who greeted us didn't even offer to help with the bags even tho i was obviously struggling. The room was made up for 2 people even though i booked for 3 & was fine for my daughter who is 9 but i spent most of my time bent over avoiding the beams. Chintzy but clean. Breakfast limited & we where sat in a dark corner of the dining room both mornings despite asking if we could sit elsewhere. We left as early as we could on the second morning - very disappointed

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £83 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere
Bridge House Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing