We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the second time we've stopped here and for the second time we had a great time. The last time we stopped in a room with a four poster bed, this time we stopped in room 5, which has had bad reviews. Whilst I accept what people's views are I have to say there was nothing wrong with it. Yes, it's the smallest room in the hotel however it is more than adequate and has a certain character to it. It's got everything you need. The hotel is perfectly located. The staff are friendly and will do all they can to help, the food is lovely. Yes the hotel needs updating however I would recommend this place more than others in grassmere

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budwasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    62
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had driven just over 300 miles and were greeted with Room 6 this is situated over the kitchen and was like an absolute sauna! opening the windows revealed the two vents from the kitchen which expelled hot steam and food smells, after 2 hours of our clothes being there they smelt of fried food!, we complained to the evening staff who could only offer a fan which was from the Kitchen and was caked in grease, the bed was like a plank of wood with no comfort at all and really the whole hotel was tired and really needs some attention. we have stayed in Grasmere before and enjoyed it this really put a dampener on our break and will not be recommending the Bridge house at all and it SHOULD BE AVOIDED

Room Tip: Do Not Choose Room 6 pay the extra and stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Taken from your subscribers, found it was a good decision, originally booked a third floor room, but due to "oldies" problems, quickly changed to first floor..
Questioned standard charge for evening meal of £25.00,but choice, quality and presentation was good value. Breakfast individually well cooked ,but slightly let down by pre-packed jams etc.
The central situation enabled easy walking access to all the local sights ,and parking within the hotel grounds was a bonus.
The owners of the Bridge House appear to have ,a large number of "returning " guests which is an indication of "customer care "and marketing expertise however, would it not assist the very pleasant waitresses if they were provided with round , instead of oblong plates which are rather large in relation to table size.!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gruyere
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic building, friendly staff. Good Breakfast. Unfortunately the bed quality was very poor and uncomfortable. They do allow dogs which is great but do not allow them in the bar which is limiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Walk in booking, very last minute. Accommodated myself, my son and our new puppy, without fuss.
Great breakfast. Brill location for walks. Staff recommended silver Howe walk, which we did this morning. Steep uphill, but levels off and fabulous views over the lake. Nice and quiet, a bit twee, but that is very refreshing! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Chaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Beautifully located and at first sight a good hotel - BUT everything about the detail was cheap and certainly not worth £110 per night B&B. The mattress in our double was the cheapest you could buy, the breakfast was an insult - the usual packaged jams, cereals and cheap sliced bread, with coffee that was undrinkable. Local B&Bs put it to shame. A total rip off all for the sake of cutting corners to maximise profits.
The staff however were exceptionally kind, patient and courteous. If it hadn't been for them I'd have given it a 1 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walter053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

myself and my wife,stayed at this hotel,over easter break,in april,2014,for two nights,the hotel itself,is fantastic,cosmetically looking,we stayed in double room,no 5,the room,in general was ok,my main problem,was with the en suite bathroom,the shower,whilst i am not a exceptionally large person,i had to step,into it sideways,if you dropped your soap,whilst in shower,you had to turn off,and get out of shower ,to retrieve the soap,also forget about lifting your legs up ,to wash eg,feet,as impossible,for space,not to mention,bits falling off shower,head,and then the en suite,room,itself,i tried to place my sponge,and shaver ,on glass shelf,in en suite,room,which promptly fell off the wall,and hit me on head,luckily shelf was so light weight,did not do any damage,i fixed it back up myself,shelf was above head height,there was a general lack of space,to leave your washing gear here,as well,the toilet had the towels hanging over it,on heated towel rail,which meant that we had to keep toilet lid down constantly,for hygiene reasons,also room not tiled ,or lino,but carpet,big no,no,for hygiene,breakfast,and evening meals were excellent and well organised,though

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roland c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: Stock Lane, Grasmere LA22 9SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your world and into ours. Bridge House Hotel Grasmere - right in the heart of England’s Lake District National Park. Perfect for a walking holiday - park the car and take a new route every day. Fairfield Horseshoe, Helvellyn, Langdale Pikes plus many easier low-level routes available. Right on our doorstep is some of the finest scenery in the world... Come and share it with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grasmere
Bridge House Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing