We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little cafe”

Grasmere Tea Gardens
Ranked #3 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Grasmere Tea Gardens provides a lovely respite after a long walk up the fells, or a quick enjoyable stop over for diverse coach parties. We offer an array of homemade soups, sandwiches, paninis, chilli, and jacket potatoes, as well as home baked cakes and scones. As well as a variety of teas and coffees, we serve a selection of cold beer and wine, and yummy soft serve ice-cream. Our staff provide quick and friendly service for those on a tight schedule, or beautiful views, rain or shine, from our outdoor terrace, overlooking the Grasmere Church and famous grave site of poet William Wordsworth.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful little cafe”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We made a little stop for lunch at this cafe next to St.Oswald's Church. The place has a very interesting location, as it overlooks a small river and the churchyard, where the grave of William Wordsworth is. The atmosphere is beautiful and rather peaceful. We had a lovely time. In terms of food, there are not many things on the menu. Most of them are cakes and sandwiches and the portion is not big, suitable for those who just want to sit down and have some light snacks. The taste is good (as good as sandwiches can be). I would recommend their lemon drizzle cake. The prices are acceptable, considering its touristy location. The service is okay. I would go back there just for the scenery alone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    81
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We had our cake and ate it!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We visited the Grasmere Tea Gardens twice during a 4 night stay in the lake district and on each occasion the weather couldn't have been more contrasting! on our first visit we were met with glorious sunshine and sat on the terrace with two paninis and a slice of cake. The second time, the heavens had opened and we sat under the covered part of the terrace and had the same again. Food was beautiful and great value for money. The service was good and all staff were polite and relaxed, helping create a welcome atmosphere. If you are in the area make sure you visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesMatthewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, with dog friendly terrace overlooking the river.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Popped in here for lunch with the dog, who was made welcome on the terrace with a freshly filled water bowl. Excellent homemade soup & a great sandwich. Good value for money & the staff were very friendly. Also great clean loo!
Presume however that it is only suitable with a dog in fine weather.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeyorelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good brew and slice of cake”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We chose this pleasant light and airy tea room from it's rating from trip adviser and we were not disappointed. It's not always easy to find somewhere that does a pot of decaffinated tea but it was no problem here. The lemon drizzle and coffee and walnut cake were a delight and very moist.
The service is quick and polite and there are plenty of tables although it can get very busy.
On a sunny day a table in the terrace would be ideal but we sought shelter in the main tea room on this overcast day.

Helpful?
Thank DaftD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch and enjoyed delicious jacket potatoes. Quite often jacket potatoes aren't properly cooked but these were perfect! Shame it wasn't a warm and sunny day else we could have sat outside beside the river and enjoyed the pretty view.

Helpful?
Thank Clare_BearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grasmere Tea Gardens also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Grasmere Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing