We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

As the weather has been so lovely, my husband had the idea of us going to the Lakes for a couple of days walking. We love Grasmere, and went onto late rooms website to see what was available there at short notice.

We have passed this hotel many times, and thought that it would be nice to stay there, the rate offered was a £60 saving on the usual tariff, so we booked it. We arrived mid afternoon, after a morning's walking near Keswick. Our room was ready, and the welcome we received from the staff was excellent. Very friendly but efficient at the same time. We were escorted to the room, along with offer to carry our bags, which is rare these days. The gentleman spent time in explaining where every thing was and how it all worked. I wish I had read the website more closely, as there is a spa, which looked absolutely lovely, but I hadn't brought a swimming swimming costume! Next time!!!

Our room was fine, not a great view as it overlooked the road, but as we had such a discounted rate I was expecting the room to be so so. The furnishings were good, plenty of storage space etc. The bathroom was quite large, with a good shower over the bath. If I was to be really picky, the duvet was too small for the bed, and for the duvet cover, which was difficult at times. Also the room was over the bar, no noise from the other guests, but there was some sort of thermostat driven machine, which was constantly going off and on. Again the perils f booking a room through " late rooms" I guess. These little niggles wouldn't put me off going back, I would be a bit more specific as to which room I had.

The gardens are lovely, and we sat outside in the sunshine enjoying a drink, late afternoon. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but obviously had breakfast in the beautiful dining room the following morning. It is a lovely room, well designed so that each table has a view to the garden. The extensions to the main building have been done with a great deal of thought, ensuring that the character of the original house has been maintained. That said, it is all very lovely, modern and immaculate inside.

We would definitely return to this hotel. The friendliness of the staff made us feel comfortable immediately and continued throughout our very brief stay. I would encourage anyone to stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just had 3 nights at hotel for our 20th Wedding Anniversary, we know Grasmere well and stayed at this hotel many years ago. The refurbishment has been done extremely well. Stayed in Room 21 a larger Grasmere Room which was large with big comfy bed, the small balcony with table and chairs overlooks the river and hills, only faults were small bathroom (for price) and small television, a DVD player would be a useful addition.
The ambience of the hotel is very relaxing, quiet and sophisticated. The conservatory restaurant was excellent, well designed with different floor levels, food very well prepared, small portions but enough courses to fill. Enjoyed lingering with last of wine and cheese board before returning to bar/lounge for coffee, petit fours and drinks. Majority of staff were very attentive and helpful, one or two could just smile a little bit.
Did not use the spa but does look a little goldfish bowl as you can be seen from hotel and garden!
Overall a lovely short break although a little more expensive than similar in the lakes.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durhamsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

For my Wife and I, another pleasant week spent at this hotel. We have been returning here annually for a number of years. It has always been comfortable and welcoming with good food but over the last 4-5 years the proprietor, Chris Carss, has spent a fortune on upgrading works and the amenities are now second to none. We particularly love the new split level restaurant which, wherever one is sitting, affords views out over the well manicured garden - an experience to be savoured in conjunction with an excellent and varied Dinner menu, especially as, with this month, the nights start to draw in and the lights in the garden illuminate. Just one minor criticism: the wines tend to be a little over-priced but I think we can put up with that, given all else that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary at the beginning of September.
Wow!! What an absolutely amazing hotel, with fantastic facilities, and wonderful restaurant. We stayed in the Butter Crag Suite, which was decorated beautifully. We were very much looking forward to our weekend break, and once we had arrived and checked in, could not believe the room we were shown to. Stunning just doesn't cover it. We made use of the new spa during our stay, and to our surprise we had it all to ourselves. A really lovely treat, and relaxing way to spend an afternoon in the Lakes! If you are thinking of staying here, we would highly recommend it. We are already trying to think of an excuse for a return visit!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at start of September for a few days walking. Room (21) was very good, very clean and spacious, amenities excellent and food was also very good. Cannot fault, arranged flowers and cake for my wife's birthday and made her day very special. Staff were efficient, friendly but not stuffy - will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have just come back from a lovely weekend at this hotel. The decor in the hotel is lovely and you feel relaxed the minute you walk through the door. Check in was effortless. Room exceeded expectations - pure luxury. Staff, especially the male manager, were very friendly throughout the stay. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Overall a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary/husbands birthday. The hotel is in a nice quiet location and is within 5 minutes walk of Grasmere. It was obvious that a lot of hard work and thought has gone into the refurbishment, both the hotel and the gardens were immaculate. Our room was beautifully furnished and comfortable, the food was some of the best in the lakes with multi choices and the breakfast choices set you up for the day. The staff were very cheerful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. We didn't use the Spa but wished we had packed our cozzies! Recommended for anyone wishing to spoil themselves. A great base to explore the many walks in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BossPrestonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
9.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £114 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing