We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"This Hotel has it all" !!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"This Hotel has it all" !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have recently returned from six nights at the Rothay Garden, one of our many stays here. The hotel has always provided clean, comfortable accomodation and excellent food and has been enhanced by the refurbishment carried out in 2008, the recent re-styling of the restaurant and the addition of the spa. The staff are friendly, polite and always helpfull. The Hotel is situated on the edge of Grasmere village, the river Rothay running at the rear and with lovely views of the surrounding fells. The restaurant and some of the rooms look out onto the beautifully maintained garden. We are returning in October with friends who stayed in April following our recommendation.

Room Tip: The rooms are all of a good standard but we prefer rooms at the rear overlooking the river Rothay or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepollards1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    193
    56
    28
    11
See reviews for
43
664
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a very relaxing break at the Rothay Garden Hotel. We were very impressed by the standard of this hotel, from its welcoming staff to the comfort of the rooms. Our room had french doors and a balcony overlooking the river and spectacular views of the hills. The spa was a very welcome bonus and we spent several hours in there during our stay. Just a short walk into Grasmere village or a short drive into Keswick or Ambleside if you want to be out and about. I hope to return to the Rothay Garden in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickengirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

As the weather has been so lovely, my husband had the idea of us going to the Lakes for a couple of days walking. We love Grasmere, and went onto late rooms website to see what was available there at short notice.

We have passed this hotel many times, and thought that it would be nice to stay there, the rate offered was a £60 saving on the usual tariff, so we booked it. We arrived mid afternoon, after a morning's walking near Keswick. Our room was ready, and the welcome we received from the staff was excellent. Very friendly but efficient at the same time. We were escorted to the room, along with offer to carry our bags, which is rare these days. The gentleman spent time in explaining where every thing was and how it all worked. I wish I had read the website more closely, as there is a spa, which looked absolutely lovely, but I hadn't brought a swimming swimming costume! Next time!!!

Our room was fine, not a great view as it overlooked the road, but as we had such a discounted rate I was expecting the room to be so so. The furnishings were good, plenty of storage space etc. The bathroom was quite large, with a good shower over the bath. If I was to be really picky, the duvet was too small for the bed, and for the duvet cover, which was difficult at times. Also the room was over the bar, no noise from the other guests, but there was some sort of thermostat driven machine, which was constantly going off and on. Again the perils f booking a room through " late rooms" I guess. These little niggles wouldn't put me off going back, I would be a bit more specific as to which room I had.

The gardens are lovely, and we sat outside in the sunshine enjoying a drink, late afternoon. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but obviously had breakfast in the beautiful dining room the following morning. It is a lovely room, well designed so that each table has a view to the garden. The extensions to the main building have been done with a great deal of thought, ensuring that the character of the original house has been maintained. That said, it is all very lovely, modern and immaculate inside.

We would definitely return to this hotel. The friendliness of the staff made us feel comfortable immediately and continued throughout our very brief stay. I would encourage anyone to stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just had 3 nights at hotel for our 20th Wedding Anniversary, we know Grasmere well and stayed at this hotel many years ago. The refurbishment has been done extremely well. Stayed in Room 21 a larger Grasmere Room which was large with big comfy bed, the small balcony with table and chairs overlooks the river and hills, only faults were small bathroom (for price) and small television, a DVD player would be a useful addition.
The ambience of the hotel is very relaxing, quiet and sophisticated. The conservatory restaurant was excellent, well designed with different floor levels, food very well prepared, small portions but enough courses to fill. Enjoyed lingering with last of wine and cheese board before returning to bar/lounge for coffee, petit fours and drinks. Majority of staff were very attentive and helpful, one or two could just smile a little bit.
Did not use the spa but does look a little goldfish bowl as you can be seen from hotel and garden!
Overall a lovely short break although a little more expensive than similar in the lakes.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead, Berks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

For my Wife and I, another pleasant week spent at this hotel. We have been returning here annually for a number of years. It has always been comfortable and welcoming with good food but over the last 4-5 years the proprietor, Chris Carss, has spent a fortune on upgrading works and the amenities are now second to none. We particularly love the new split level restaurant which, wherever one is sitting, affords views out over the well manicured garden - an experience to be savoured in conjunction with an excellent and varied Dinner menu, especially as, with this month, the nights start to draw in and the lights in the garden illuminate. Just one minor criticism: the wines tend to be a little over-priced but I think we can put up with that, given all else that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary at the beginning of September.
Wow!! What an absolutely amazing hotel, with fantastic facilities, and wonderful restaurant. We stayed in the Butter Crag Suite, which was decorated beautifully. We were very much looking forward to our weekend break, and once we had arrived and checked in, could not believe the room we were shown to. Stunning just doesn't cover it. We made use of the new spa during our stay, and to our surprise we had it all to ourselves. A really lovely treat, and relaxing way to spend an afternoon in the Lakes! If you are thinking of staying here, we would highly recommend it. We are already trying to think of an excuse for a return visit!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE22
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at start of September for a few days walking. Room (21) was very good, very clean and spacious, amenities excellent and food was also very good. Cannot fault, arranged flowers and cake for my wife's birthday and made her day very special. Staff were efficient, friendly but not stuffy - will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing