We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rothay Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travellers Rest Inn(Grasmere)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
591
208
59
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
591
208
59
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverside suitearomatherapy roomlangdale roombalcony overlooking the riverlake districtlovely hotelspa facilitydouble showerpatio doorsrobes and slipperspetit foursrelaxing staysmall balconyhigh standardhydro poolvenisoncourse dinner
Filter
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Grasmere, all very good
The Rothey Garden Hotel is certainly one of the, if not the best hotels we have stayed in the Uk
The room was amazing
Spa just heaven
The food, they bent over backwards for our dietary needs.
Looking to book again several times this year

Richard & Donna

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richdonnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here in January 2012. It was the best hotel we have ever stayed at in the UK. We stayed in the Butter Crag suite and it was amazing. The room was a fantastic size, massive bed, bathroom was huge, nice sized lounge area and a balcony over looking the river. The room was spotless and pure luxury. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was perfect on both evenings. The spa facilities are very clean and relaxing, great facilities shame there wasn't a swimming pool. Breakfast was lovely, liked that for the period of your stay staff knew you by name and always gave us the same table. Overall would recommend to anyone, all staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Beautiful hotel, great location, will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Choose a suite!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just returned from another few days break at the hotel, and it was just as excellent as our last visit. Nice welcome off the staff and the rooms were of the usual high standard, spotless and extremely comfortable. Restaurant and food were absolutely fabulous both dinner and breakfast with so much to choose from. I can highly recommend the Spa, so relaxing after a day out and about!
I can't say anything else that hasn't been said in previous reviews, but just Thanks to all Management and Staff for making us welcome and see you all in a few months time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iocasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

To be honest, its hard to know where to start... so lets start at the beginning!
Once you leave your car in the large carpark on the edge of the immaculate grounds, you walk to the automatic slidding doors (nice touch!!). Once through the entrance, you are greeted with a large and very smart looking reception. Resturant to your right and lovely bar to your left.
You will be greeted by very professional reception staff who will show you to your room. The rooms are by far the best I have ever stayed in. Large king size beds, lovely decor and if you opt for a loft suit (and do!!), you will find hand made chocolates in the room.
All in all, an amazing hotel, great food, lovely rooms, gorgeous wines (Massive selection), a wonderful spar and the perfect location!!
I have to admit that I am slightly biased as I have stayed here on numerous occasions.... but there is a perfectly good reason for that..... its the best hotel in the Lakes. We were made so welcome that we ended up moving up here! No only that, but we now only live 25 mins away and still stay here when we can!! :-)

Room Tip: If you can stretch your budget just a little, go for a loft suit. I would suggest Helm Crag but I wont..... just in case I want to stay there at the same time as you and you book earlier than me!! :-)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Brilliant Travelzoo deal with champagne & gingerbread on arrival! Fabulous room (room 1) with seating overlooking river & fells through French doors. Superb room & bed - terrific restaurant staff and superb menu. Thoroughly recommend staying here as walking distance to village centre too. Absolutely spot on - we'll be back next anniversary if not before :)

Room Tip: Room 1 is fell view spacious room in quiet part of hotel, short distance to bar & restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackp00lr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews