We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland in March”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland in March”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is our second visit and we were looking forward to returning and seeing the new Spa area. We stayed in Room 2, which had French windows leading to a seating area by the river, looking over to the fells. The welcome was warm which could not be said about the weather - freezing temperatures for March and not a daffodil in sight! We were on a special DBB offer with a welcoming bottle of champagne. Food was excellent, service first class and the Spa is a bit special! This is a very different Lakes hotel and all the staff work very hard to make your stay special. The snow arrived overnight on our 2nd night turning the gardens and surrounding fells into a winter wonderland. We would highly recommend a stay here, look out for special deals as it can be expensive otherwise.

Room Tip: There are a number of ground floor rooms which are accessible for those with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RydalDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    196
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
44
671
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Just stayed on the this hotel for the weekend only bookt 1 night but love it so much stayed 2 stunning views lovely food and rooms and spa r very nice only thing that spoilt it was receptionist that needs to go on a customer service course but al be back for sure.x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Having enjoyed our first experience here so much, I could not resist a living and socail offer to return. Our room was better than last time with a balcony over looking the fells. Food as good as any we have tasted, and the new spa a verry welcome adition. Highly recomend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I stayed in a 'riverside suite' which comprised a spacious bedroom, bathroom with over-bath shower, and a small lounge area overlooking (and with access to) a small seating area alongside a stream. We took advantage of a 'Travelzoo' offer, which was excellent value, helping us celebrate a 'special' birthday in style, with a bottle of Champagne upon arrival.

The hotel facilities are superb, with complementary robes and slippers in our room that we donned before stepping through to the spa area, were we took advantage of a large jacuzzi, sauna, aromatherapy room etc. - very relaxing...

Evening menu is a four course dinner, with a small selection (five or six choices per course) but excellent quality, finished off with coffee and chocs in the lounge. the wine list is extensive, but quite expensive, with the cheapest bottles starting at over £20; although even these were very tasty.

I cannot praise the staff highly enough - they were friendly and attentive but unobtrusive, and very professional.

Overall, it was a real pleasure to stay there, and I would not hesitate to recommend it for a short (or long) stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have external access to private seating and the well tended garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_J_L_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were met by beautiful hotel grounds and plenty of parking. The receptionist was very pleasant and friendly and showed us to our room. We were in the Stone Arthur Suite which was gorgeous. We had a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived which was perfectly chilled, also handmade chocolates and bottled water. The bed was massive and extremely comfortable. The shower room was lovely with a good size shower. The bath however, was a lovely treat, hidden behind the false wall at the bedhead and with a tv to watch while you soak! The views from our room were almost panoramic of the surrounding fells.
We had use of the lovely spa facilities during our stay which was very clean. The hydro pool was my favourite, lovely and warm with relaxing Jacuzzi seats also the swan neck showers which massaged your back and shoulders, they are so powerful they almost knocked me off my feet initially! The showers had various settings ‘Lakeland mist’ was lovely after the sauna! Towels were provided in the spa area. We liked it so much we decided to use the spa the second afternoon of our stay but were very disappointed that the pool was freezing and the showers were not working, we reported this to reception and they were on the case immediately, unfortunately once the problem was solved the water still needed time to reheat so we didn’t get to use the wonderful facilities as much as we would have liked.
Dinner was included on both evenings during our stay. We headed down a little earlier to sit in the lovely lounge for a pre-dinner drink. The menu had great choice especially for sea food lovers. We had views over the grounds at our seat by the window. Dinner was served quickly and perfectly cooked and presented.

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful village and I can’t wait to stay again!

Room Tip: Stone Arthur suite is simply fantastic. Views of fells from windows on both sides of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keltayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here last year on a three night dinner, bed and breakfast deal. While we visited the weather was simply amazing and we enjoyed some excellent walks (maps provided free at reception), stopping for a few beers along our travels. the Hotel was excellent as was the personalised service and food. We also had some good times relaxing in the spa and the local village grasmere is very nice with lots of tourist type shops and some excellent gingerbread. One particular highlight was the mango ravioli served with blood orange soup - You get to pour it yourself. The hotel bar is small but the service and decor are very tasteful indeed. All in all an excellent place to go and stay. No doubt we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonecraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Rothay Garden last year, in one of the loft suites. Our room was lovely, and the views were beautiful. We booked the hotel on a Groupon deal and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely meal as part of the deal, I could have eaten more of the butternut squash soup it was delicious. The spa area is lovely. The hotel is on the edge of Grasmere village but not that far out, it was a short walk back into the main village that had some lovely little tea shops and other places to eat.

We would definitely go back, we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing