We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rothay Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for six nights in August with my wife. We had a lovely spacious room which was modern and very comfortable. We were able to enjoy some good views over the river towards the mountains. The hotel has a spa (relatively new I would say) which was excellent and we made good use of that after some long days out walking. The restaurant was very good indeed and offered some fine food (it has two AA rosettes) with views over the well maintained gardens which boast some splendid copper beech trees. The hotel is well positioned on the edge of the very pretty Grasmere village - an ideal base for this area of the Lakes.
In conclusion the Rothay Garden Hotel is very good hotel indeed - it is modern and well equipped and offers a very pleasant retreat after exploring the wonders of the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omarandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    187
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
645
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently (Sunday 25th August) tried to book a Saturday night for Dinner Bed & Breakfast,at this hotel using a "Time Out" Gourmet Escapes gift box voucher (which we received as a joint birthday gift) for Saturday 2nd November. We chose this hotel because we had stayed there previously.
The phone was answered by a lady with a most unfortunate telephone manner, which led me to think that she was doing me a big favour by speaking to me in the first place. The lady then said that we could not stay for one night at a weekend (any weekend) and would have to book for 2 nights. When informed of the price for the 2nd night (£275 for DB&B) we declined. There was no mention of this restriction in the Time Out Gift Box booklet, but the lady said it was "hotel policy".
So if you are contemplating making a booking for a Friday or Saturday night at this hotel using a Time Out voucher - think again! Or do what we have done and book an alternative Lakes hotel.
We will of course be reporting this matter, under separate cover to Time Out, so that they can add the restrictive caveat to their booklet.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackwil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed last year and were very happy. This year did not disappoint, the hotel and spa has been well maintained and is lovely and clean. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing and even though the weather was rubbish, we really enjoyed sitting on the veranda after a hot spa with an ice cold cider! We had dinner two nights, which were both perfect, very tasty and lots to choose from. Breakfast had a wide variety but the cooked wasn't excellent - just average. The loft suite was spacious and high quality with great views (of the rain!) and the staff were friendly and helpful. The cafe down the road 'greens' was a great lunch. Thanks :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for a second year running with my wife and it was even better than last year. Rooms excellent, particularly the riverside suites (1-4), food great (three courses and great quality - portions ideally sized, not too large). Wine is also good but staff could benefit from reading the foreword in the wine list whereby if ordered early then it would be opened ahead of time. Spa very relaxing with outlook on to the gardens. Breakfast menu varied and of excellent quality. Having experienced what I just have with the Wordsworth I will definitely be back at the Rothay and would encourage others to do the same.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

First visit here as part of a deal. On the edge of Grassmere one of the 'quieter' areas in the Lakes. The hotel is absolutely excellent. Lovely decor and the staff and level of service they provided was faultless. After walking and getting soaked we relaxed in the spa then got rid of the rest of the aches and pains with the complimentary champagne. The food was nothing less than top quality, beautifully presented and served by their well trained and professional , friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All good unless you dont like using stairs as there are three floors no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We did a 3 night break for my 50th birthday the hotel is lovely, spa is fantastic with beautiful relaxing views, food fantastic, staff were really courteous and helpful. If you are visiting the lakes I would definitely recommend it, Grasmere is a lovely little quiet village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NET641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for as long as i can remember. The food, the location, the staff everything is sublime, if i am completely honest its hard to pick fault with anything at all. So it seems only fitting that we came for my anniversary. As expected, my girlfriend enjoyed it as much as i always have, hopefully returning for my birthday and our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped and quiet, comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing