We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed retreat”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I visited Grasmere for two days to explore the area and enjoy the scenery. It is a very cute, what I would call quintessentially english village, with the Wordsworth museum, a perfect tea room complete with dainty china cups and of course, one can't miss the authentic 150 year old recipe that makes Sarah Nelson's Gingerbread. With some Kendal mint cake to keep us going and some excellent hiking tips from an informative employee at the Cotswold store, we explored the countryside surrounding Easedale Tarn. One of the highlights for us was our stay at the Rothay Gardens Hotel. We stayed in a cosy Langdale room, overlooking the bubbling brook outside. It was a warm and romantic setting as the rain poured outside. The spa was small but comfortable and relaxed our aching joints. The three course dinner we enjoyed was one of the best meals we have had. My husband had the ham hock terrine with its modern take on piccalilli and my disconstructed tuna nicoise was light and tasty. For mains we had the salmon with hollandaise and a delicate john dory in saffron cream sauce. Filling, comforting but light all at the same time. The flavours were classic yet modern. It was nice to see chefs doing something well and not trying too hard. I would highly recommend a stay at Rothay gardens. The staff are helpful and unassuming. And, with the parking being limited in the village, it is only a 2 min walk from other lovely cafes and restaurants. Take your husband/wife away fro the night. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 423Robyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    193
    56
    28
    11
See reviews for
43
664
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Travelling from Reading to Edinburgh we found this hotel was more than ideal for our needs, shame it was only an overnight stay! Very comfortable with a real touch of class, wonderful dining and a fantastic spa area which was a real treat on our return from an energetic walk. Surrounding area offers lots of opportunity for outdoor exploration so we will be coming back. Staff all very helpful, attentive and very hard working. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the stream at the back with a small seating area which was very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfingkingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wonderful intimate small hotel with superb service and the most exquisite restaurant. We will definitely return here again. Bedroom a little small but furnishings beautiful so didn't really matter. Bathroom nicely fitted out. Hotel has a lovely staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Also the spa area was a nice addition to the hotel and we enjoyed using it. Breakfast was good but dinners were exceptional don't eat anywhere else is our advice!

Room Tip: All rooms of good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of August and can't wait to go back again. This is a truly stunning hotel, a couple of minutes walk from the village. Our suite overlooked the stream at the back, it had lovely decor,a spacious bathroom and a scrumptious bed. As part of our deal with with secret escapes we had a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us and there was also a box of beautiful handmade chocolates ( we discovered they were from the little shop in the village and bought more for presents).
The food in the restaurant was divine -everything we ate was just perfect and it was included in the deal. There was also a good choice at breakfast.
We had a chill in the spa and were lucky to have it to ourselves-nice.
I think this is definitely an adults haven and it would be wasted on children! ! as much as we love ours , it was a relaxing treat to be childfree.
The service was wonderful in fact all of the staff were very friendly and professional. We would recommend this hotel for a special weekend away for couples-beautiful.

Room Tip: We were allocated a quiet suite at the rear next to the stream- there are different standards/prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliebee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We travelled to the Lakes to meet up for a girls weekend and selected this hotel because of the reviews and the spa. We weren't disappointed. We had a twin room and a double - one of which had a balcony over the river, a lovely place to sit and relax. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable with large bathrooms. We had taken a dinner, bed and breakfast option and I felt it was really good value for money. 2 of us were coeliacs and nothing was too much trouble - we even managed GF French Toast on the second day. Dinner was excellent both nights with a great choice of starters and mains and the lamb and the venison were particularly good. The wine list is also very extensive and good value. We enjoyed the spa on the Saturday, whilst most of the other guests were out walking, and it was fabulous; there are only 4 sunbeds but the other facilities are top notch - the hydro pool, showers, steam room and sauna. We then spent a relaxing afternoon in the hotel being looked after by the staff who were incredibly attentive and helpful but not continually in your way. The only minor disappointment was the lack of GF sausages but my waistline was grateful. We will be back - with more walking next time as the setting is beautiful. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHT-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights bank holiday weekend, had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the rear garden. Had a little table and 2 chairs, which was great in the good weather with a glass of wine.

Used the spa, but as some have said it is very small, and not a lot of places to sit and relax, in fact only 4 beds, which were a race to get as soon as someone left!

We had dinner 1 night which we thought was excellent and great value!

Would stay here again, breakfast great, clean hotel and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Rothay Garden. The whole ambience as you enter the hotel and your room makes you feel at home and welcome. Our room overlooked the river with a small balcony, it was a delight to watch the herons, dippers and once a kingfisher. It was a special weekend with a birthday and a wedding anniversary, the complementary bottle of Prosecco in the room and the excellent cuisine really made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Riverside room are the best unless you prefer a garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossPrestonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing