We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on DB&B basis. Great ground floor suite. Food is absolutely wonderful. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Spa is for hotel guests only and we had it to ourselves for an hour and a half in the afternoon! Such a comfortable and peaceful hotel it was a real wrench to leave!

Wifi in the room was a bit flaky but worked perfectly in the lobby and bar.

Grasmere is a lovely village and only 5 mins walk from the hotel.

We'll certainly be back

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Rothay Garden Hotel for two nights on a mini break for my boyfriend and I in September 2013.
Room: We had a riverside suite so the sound of the river was relaxing and so nice to just sit and listen to. Very large bed, spotless room and big bathroom with an amazing power shower which was tempting to stay under for ages!
Chocolates and champagne on arrival was also a nice touch.
Location: Ideally placed for a quiet break away from any noise. We didnt do much exploring as I am pregnant and tired but it was just a few minutes walk to the lake and village which were also lovely.
Service: The staff were all very kind and the service was excellent throughout. Special thanks to the lady and gent on reception each day.
Food: Very posh! The feathered steak was delicious. The cooked breakfast was also very nice. Room service menu could be more extensive I think.
Spa: Amazing! We had it to ourselves and it was so relaxing to just lay on the heated bed looking out at the garden while my boyfriend enjoyed the spa pool and sauna.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxed few days away. The average age of the guests was definitely over 50 so if you are under 35 you may feel a little out of place but my advice is who cares? Just relax!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirstymcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from the 23rd of September in room 17. We enjoyed a lovely few days there and were completely delighted with our choice of hotel. The Rothay Garden Hotel is certainly NOT Fawlty Towers as described by the previous reviewer. At times when you run an establishment of this size of course equipment breaks down, the fact was the staff responded immediately and repaired the breakdown in the spa as quickly as they could. Yes it was hot in the bedrooms during the night but hardly the hotels fault as the heating was not on and it was in some very warm weather. Fans are provided to help cool guests down in their bedrooms. We found all the staff very friendly and hard working. I was impressed at their professionalism and that for once you have a hotel that is not understaffed but has plenty available to assist guests as and when they need it. We dined in the restaurant every evening and the food is exceptional, we spent all day looking forward to our evening dinner! The soufles are to die for and the meats are locally sourced and divine. If I had a gripe it would be that we hadn't time to stay longer! The setting is perfect, very quiet but within a very short walk to the main part of Grasmere and the mountains around are beautiful and visible from the hotel. If you are thinking of staying here, don't hesitate and ignore the previous reviewer, he must be just plain grumpy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninabelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, Sept 2013, en route through the Lake District.

The hotel is a fairly attractive old building with a modern spa area grafted on. The location in Grasmere is nice, although the hotel doesn't get the best possible views due to the dramatic hillsides being obscured by trees.

The problems we found were:
The staff were not particularly warm and welcoming at reception.
The shower in our room (20) was faulty.
The water heating had broken down in the spa, meaning the jacuzzi and hot showers were, in fact, cold. It was repaired immediately upon reporting, and the showers ran hot. But the engineer told us that it would take about three hours to get the jacuzzi warm. Which was all the time we had to spend in there, so that was ruined.

Our booking voucher said we would be greeted with a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival. This didn't happen. When we queried it, we were offered the wine to have later in the restaurant, which we were happy with.

We found the room to be unbearably hot at night, and slept with the balcony window and door open.

The redeeming feature was the restaurant. The mood was a little bit 'doctors waiting room', and would have benefitted from some background music. The food, however, was pretty spectacular, and we really enjoyed it.

All in all, it wasn't a bad experience - we loved the food - but we were disappointed we couldn't really enjoy the spa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRS186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just come back from the Rothay Garden Hotel, it is our third stay with them and hopefully not our last. As soon as you arrive at the hotel I fell totally relaxed, the staff are welcoming and very professional, the service is spot on, and although all your needs are met it is done in a subtle and unobtrusive way.

The hotel is perfectly situated for fell walking and Grasmere is definitely worth a visit which all adds to the stay. We had dinner and breakfast as part of our stay and they were both delicious. A wonderful choice and all the food was full of flavour and local ingredients were used when possible allowing you to sample foods that you wouldn't otherwise be able to. All diets are also catered for, which is a nice touch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and am looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zedwards74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Fully endorse the positive comments about this small excellent Hotel.
Well trained staff .
Good Restaurant
Great location.
Whilst no swimming pool the Hydro bath and Spa provided great relaxation after fell walking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed one night - Sunday September 15th.
Arrived slightly early as it was raining hard and we were very wet from touring the village - no problem at all. We were very warmly welcomed and all facilities were explained. Luggage carried to our room on of the "Riverside". Small balcony with chairs from which we could watch the river swelling. Wonderful tranquil setting with views over the fells. The room was very well equipped, as expected from a high quality hotel and included a high powered hair drier (very important!) plus a wide selection of beverages.
Couldn't wait to try the spa - wonderful. We were the only ones there so made the most of all facilities. Just a shame that it doesn't open until midday as we would have liked to have had a pre breakfast session.
Evening meal was superb. Coffee and petits fours in the lounge, far preferable to remaining at the table. Staff were extremely attentive at all times.
Very quiet location so we slept well (unlike our previous accommodation). Next morning, asked if we could leave the car beyond the 11 a.m. check out time. Again, no problem.
Overall, an excellent stay. Our only complaint was the service at breakfast - very slow. Had to wait over ten minutes for a pot of tea despite the large number of staff in the restaurant area.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a "special" break.

Room Tip: Very quiet on the "Riverside". Don't know about other areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellersince78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,671 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £147 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing