We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Return Visit to Rothay Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Return Visit to Rothay Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having stayed at Rothay Garden in the summer a few years ago, I decided to take my wife for a Birthday treat for 2 nights to the re-furbished Rothay Garden Hotel. I booked on-line, 12 days before our visit. The room was not quite as luxurious as the riverside room we had shared before, but nevertheless was very comfortable. The only drawback was the lack of ventilation. Although the hotel has had a thorough make-over, the original sash windows in our bedroom had been retained, but painted up and now immovable! The decor in the hotel is good and the enlarged restaurant a delight. The staff were welcoming and the service extremely good.

Room Tip: Check for opening windows in the room if you like fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    190
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
655
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great hotel with excellent staff we booked for 2 nights but enjoyed our stay so much stayed 4. Food first class, small spa but great to use after a days walking. Hope to visit again soon. The rooms are beautifully furnished we stayed in room 3 which was overlooking the River Rothay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just back from a two night break at the Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere and what a little gem this hotel is.

I booked the hotel on the strength of the website and Tripadvisor reviews and I couldn't have been happier with my choice.

The hotel is delightful. Not too big, not too small it has an elegant entrance which leads into a stylish reception area with bar and lounge areas close by.

We had different rooms as we had 5 twins booked and all were spacious and most with lovely rooms over the river at the back of the hotel.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Friday night and both the food and service was very good indeed.

Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and no rush.

The location of the hotel is perfect - it's easy to reach, plenty of parking and within walking distance of the lovely village of Grasmere

The staff at the Rothay Garden without exception were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had booked dinner in the village on Saturday night and the weather was appalling and Hotel Manager Elliot ferried us to the restaurant in two lots ... poor chap I think is still recovering from the experience. Sorry Elliot but many thanks!

If you're considering booking a stay at the Rothay Garden - don't hesitate. You'll love it.

Thanks to all there for a special birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking the river are extra lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollysouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this contemporary hotel with old fashioned values.
From the porter who insisted helping with luggage to the receptionist who found a birthday balloon with very little notice, you felt that they were there to make your stay easy and memorable.
The food was outstanding, tasty, beautifully served and presented and ample portions.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The river view suites are lovely. Room1 is quiet and out of the way of people going to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeidreEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This privately owned hotel is well run and very well equipped having been the subject of a £5 Million refurbishment only a few years ago. It has one of the loveliest restaurants with huge picture windows overlooking the delightful gardens so that breakfast and dinner can be taken with the feeling that you are almost sitting outside. The spa is compact but very well equipped with a superb hot tub, sauna and aromatherapy room, perfect for relaxing those tired muscles after a day on the fells. We stayed in the Garden Suite overlooking the lawns and close to the spa and were pleased to find a drying room just opposite our room where we could dry out our walking gear overnight and the room was very comfortable only a little dark with low voltage lighting which was my only criticism. The service was excellent although the staff are young and some had limited command of English so casual banter with your waiter is not on the agenda here but they were well drilled and if anything a little over-enthusiastic at times as they seemed to be in a hurry to move us on from our table when we wanted to linger but this was not a major issue. The food was consistently good although I found the menu a little limited in variety but the breakfasts were very good indeed. The last time we came to Grasmere we stayed at the Wordsworth however this hotel is definitely superior in all respects and is slightly removed from the centre of the village which adds to the peace and privacy.

Room Tip: I did not see a lift so if you struggle with the stairs make sure you are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before when visiting Grasmere and enjoyed our recent 2 night stay.Our room, which was a good size, had a riverside view which we found a bit dull. The rooms overlooking the garden are brighter and we would opt for that location in the future.
The food was good and the dining room staff were excellent, very pleasant and friendly. Reception could improve in this area.

Room Tip: we found the riverside views a bit dull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a beautiful room overlooking the river.
Friendly staff and excellent food.
Dinner was very good, although portions were small. Breakfast was of very good quality and quantity. Perfect location for wandering into grasmere. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShakaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing