We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I holiday in the lakes for a few days nearly every month. Normally we visit our chosen hotels prior to booking a stay, but on this occasion we didn't on the basis of their web site description. After this we shall revert to our normal practice!
The hotel is well appointed and in a good location. The Riverside suite room we booked was well decorated and furnished and did (as per the description) have a french door opening onto a shared terrace area (which was rather tatty and allowed you to see the river only if you went out to peer over the stone wall). Tatty terrace area apart the room was perfectly acceptable although quite expensive for what was provided.
Although my wife enjoyed dinner (she only eats small portions and when it is available always has fish so the meal pleased her) I found it average at best. Portions were parsimonious. I ordered the lamb main course which included "roast rack of lamb" (my favourite!) - this element of the dish turned out to be a tiny cutlet which was mostly bone! Serving staff seemed totally disinterested and made no effort to make you feel welcome.
Breakfast continued the theme - it took them three attempts to bring me what I had ordered (1 sausage, two bacon, 2 fried eggs, and mushrooms - hardly a challenge!) and then with only a token apology. The couple on the table next to us had ordered more tea and waited so long they gave up and left!
This is not what you would expect from a hotel which is described as a 4 star luxury boutique hotel.
My main criticism would be levelled at the staff who with the exception of the receptionist on duty when we left (July 28) showed a total lack of interest and did not make us feel welcome in any way. When I booked our stay I told the receptionist how many times we visited the lakes and that we were looking for a base we could use regularly - this obviously went straight over their heads. All I can say is that they knew nothing about us before we went and nothing more when we left. For me this is not hospitality and suggests an urgent need for staff training. A disappointinmg experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    189
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
43
655
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a Saturday to have a break and relax. We could not have wished to have chosen a better location, situated just on the edge of the village just a short walk to all the local bars and restaurants.
We had booked one of the premier suites which was beautiful and even had a TV in the lovely bathroom! We had a small patio which overlooked the river. The best thing about this stunning hotel is the amazing food! The four course meal was really outstanding!! The food is really to be commended, we loved it and heard lots of the other guests making similar comments! Service was efficient and knowledgable. All in all a lovely weekend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our second stay. A great hotel, nice contemporary furnishings, good small spa, very good room service and lovely restaurant offering a very good breakfast. Lovely location in Grasmere and would highly recommend to others. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: The riverside suite has great facilities for people with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Booked by chance on the net superb weekend excellent food great staff only downfall was the room at the top of the building nicely set out but a long way up.will defiantly be back but a room on the ground floor

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a special offer. We had a riverside suite, which was really just a largish room with small sitting area. It had sliding glass patio doors, so you could sit overlooking the river on a shared path.
This path led to the Spa, which was lovely. A large, deep hydro pool, very warm, with room for four to sit and two to lie down! Very relaxing. There were two large showers with a range of settings and four heated shaped loungers to lie on. There are fluffy robes in the rooms and plenty of towels. There was also a sauna and an aromatherapy room. All the spa facilities are included in the room price. The hotel gardens are pleasant and well kept - an attractive and quiet place to sit out with a drink and watch the bunnies!
We had breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was ample and you could order your personal preference of hot food. Dinner was well cooked and presented. There was a good choice and they were again willing to cater for individuals, in that you could request certain vegetables, sauces, etc. The food was hot and tasty.
The staff were all very pleasant , helpful and friendly. I'm aware that the full price is rather expensive, but it could be well worth it for a special treat!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a surprise trip to Rothay Garden. I hadn't heard of this little gem before but was really impressed upon arrival. The manager at the front desk was the person who took the booking over the phone so felt like he knew us already. Though the hotel is ideally placed in the village of Grasmere it still felt like a little hideaway.

We stayed in one of the suites Butter Crag, it was spacious, luxurious and a bottle of champers was waiting for us too. It was a tad pricey but then all the four star hotels in the Lakes offer very similar rates. As we arrived late, we requested room service to enjoy on our balcony rather than dressing up for dinner.

Breakfast offers numerous styles such as a big English fell walker breakfast, bagels, kippers and vegetarian grills all of which can set you up for a day of exploring the local beauty spots.

The spa is small but boasts gorgeous views of the fells. We had it all to ourselves so it was the perfect opportunity to relax. There aren't any treatment rooms available but I enjoyed a wonderful massage in one of the rooms which the hotel had set up in advance.

The therapist was a freelancer but a regular at the hotel and she really listened to me when I explained about neck ache and headaches. It felt like a bespoke massage and left me feeling rejuvenated. There are lots of tables and chairs in the garden area so you can sit back and relax at any point - it seems sitting in your spa robes is quite popular and encouraged here as a lot of couples were doing the same.

Grasmere itself is lovely in the daytime or if you fancy going out after your evening meal with cafe bars and pubs with live music.

Purchasing gingerbread from the village is a must!

A beautiful stay and a wish to return soon.

Room Tip: The suite was spacious and benefited from a huge bathroom, sitting area with plasma TV and balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at what can only be described as a fabulous hotel, not cheap but well worth every penny, we were celebrating our golden wedding anniversary and a birthday, nothing was too much trouble, all the staff were delightful and more than helpful, food and service were first class, special compliments to the chef and Elliott the general manager. will definitely return wow

Room Tip: suites are the best, worth paying that little extra, ask for a ground floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrchidmanWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing