We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the kind of hotel you can't wait to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We have visited the Lake District several times before and stayed in another hotel in Grasmere once. To us, Grasmere is the loveliest village in the Lakes and the Rothay Garden the best hotel - in fact we wonder why it isn't no.1 in Trip Advisor.
We were very impressed by all the staff and it's obvious that they work well together as a team, and more importantly, look as if they enjoy their work and want to please the guests.
The refurbishment of thehotel has been beautifully done and our ground floor bedroom had a nice little patio area outside with table and chairs ( unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough to use it).
Food was of a very high standard with a vegetarian /special diets menu available. I ate from the vegetarian menu on 2 or the nights we stayed and the choice and quality was excellent.
The owner made an effort to speak to all the guests at some point during their stay -something that is much appreciated.The hotel was full for 3 of the 4 nights we stayed and it deserves to be so.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

The hotel has recently had the benefit of a major refurbishment. The works have been carried out to the highest standard and this is reflected in the bedrooms and all the public areas. Whilst the hotel has undergone this major change it has still managed to retain the charm and elegance that befits its Lakeland setting.

The management and staff are the perfect hosts with an attentive eye for detail. Nothing is too much trouble.Friendliness is the order of the day at Rothay Garden and at the end of your stay you really don't want to go home.

The Restaurant is the only area that has not been refurbished - and why change such a wonderful setting. From the conservatory you look out over the gardens whist enjoying the very best of Lakeland food. The varied menu uses much locally sourced produce. The menu offers a wide choice and is guaranteed to please the most discerning palate.

Having stayed at Rothay Garden over several years we can't wait for our next visit in March.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandCBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Me and my boyfriend were on a romantic get away and stayed at the Rothay Gardens for one night.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful, specially the lady who checked us in and served us some drinks in the bar (probably the Duty Manager as she seemed to be doing everything that night)
However I was very disapointed with our room. Booking through lastminute.com we went for the Luxury Double room option paying a little bit more and expecting to get a special room.
I work as a hotel manager myself and think that room was nothing more than a standard room. It didn't have a great view, or a special bathroom, or a lounge area.
Recently having gone through a refurb the hotel looks very nice and modern, but it doesn't have that home and romantic feeling you would expect in the Lake District.
I would still recommend because of its staff and beautiful looking building but if you are looking for something romantic and special I would advise you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovana_polla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a short break to the Lake District and staying at the Rothay Garden Hotel definitely made our holiday extra worthwhile.
From the moment we stepped foot inside the hotel we were welcomed by friendly staff and escorted to our beautiful room with no fuss.
The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious,modern and trendy and had a lovely view over the back garden. We only had breakfast there but wished we stayed longer just so we could sample everthing on the menu! The food was fine dining at it's best and you can really tell the chef takes pride. All the hotel staff - reception, housekeeping, restaurant, were very friendly, knowlegable and helpful when we asked the best places to go, they certainly knew!
I am jealous for anyone going to stay there as I want to go back! Would recommend this hotel without a doubt. It's located centrally within the Lake District which makes it easy to get everywhere and it's a place I will definitely be going back to.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SarbearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We have stayed at Rothay Garden Grasmere many times, most recently new year 08/09. Perfect location for village and excellent walks. Stayed in different rooms each visit, all exceptionally furnished since renovation. Beautiful decor everwhere.
Owner and staff always make sure that everyone has good welcome and receive everything they need.
Food excellent, wonderful fresh cooked breakfast served to order.
We will keep returning to this very welcome environment.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank visitoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I have stayed at Grasmere before at the red lion which is just along the road and is also a good hotel, but The Rothay GArden is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in , anywhere in the world.
The room was spotless, the staff very very helpful and friendly and polite.
The food was absolutely fantastic, I will definately be returning to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dave_Erimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Rothay Garden Hotel, Grassmere.
January 16th 2009.
Trip Adviser Member, Cheshire, England.

We have stayed at this hotel for short winter breaks over many years, always enjoying the excellent food served in the Restaurant.

Last year the hotel closed to enable a total refurbishment resulting in a more modern and salubrious place to stay, now qualifying a Four Star rating.

The superb makeover has made the place an even better venue for the descerning Walkers who wish to explore the lovely countryside offered in the Lake District and return in the evening to luxury and superb food.

Not one to be missed !!

2  Thank Arnieadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,551 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,415 reviews
9.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £133 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing