We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
619
214
62
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
619
214
62
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaromatherapy roomriverside suitebalcony overlooking the riverlangdale roomlake districtlovely hotelpetit fourspatio doorsrelaxing stayhigh standardsmall balconyspa areavenisonhydro poolwine listcourse dinnerground floor
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Fabulous location, fabulous room, fabulous food and fabulous staff. We wanted somewhere special to go to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary and special is without doubt what we got at Rothay Garden. There was absolutely nothing that we could fault during our weeks stay in the delightful Garden Suite with our own sun lounge and patio area overlooking the lovely gardens (red squirrels and a deer were visitors !!). The food was fine dining at it's best - beautifully presented and so tasty - in such lovely surroundings. And as for the staff - nothing was too much trouble and they were all so friendly and Chris, the owner, was frequently present. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the centre of Grasmere and if you are of a certain age, you can travel for free on the open top bus all the way down to Bowness and to Kendal or Keswick on the regular service !!! Would we go again - you bet we will.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ockbrooksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in September, and wished we'd booked for longer! Everyone we met was friendly and very helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The management staff were very visible, and clearly led from the front, which is not always the case in hotels or restaurants. The staff all knew their roles well and performed them perfectly. Wait staff at mealtimes walked round the restaurant looking at everything to preempt need, and so were always at hand when needed, but not intrusive. The food was wonderful, and my husband's food allergy was taken seriously but not treated as a problem. Our room was very comfortable, overlooking the river, which lulled us off to sleep each night. It was very clean, as were the public areas, and it was serviced during breakfast so was lovely to come back to.

All in all, we couldn't think of a thing to improve, and we'll certainly be back

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CheshireWandererl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

It had been some years since we had last stayed here and we had always loved the location and found the accommodation and service to be pretty good, but the Rothay Garden has now elevated itself to quite another level. The service was faultless (I clumsily spilt a water bottle on our bed and everything was sorted promptly and without fuss), our room impeccably clean and comfortable, with stunning views down to the river and up to the high fells, and the dining of a consistently high quality. The Spa provided a relaxing facility in which to shed the rigours of a day on the hills - it would be even better if space had allowed for a small swimming pool, but the beautiful garden more than compensates. Overall, we found nothing to find fault with and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The drive to the Rothay Garden Hotel was lovely. We drove from Cheltenham and the closer to the lake district we got the more lovely the scenery. Our room faced the stream and loved the sound as we had our drinks on the patio. We had great dinners (two) and met the most lovely couple. So there was nothing but great memories to be had. Enjoyed the spa- jacuzzi and sauna. Staff was also excellent.

Room Tip: river side room, not sure if they all are or not.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Taking a risk to find a hotel that can meet my wifes Gluten Free needs can be tricky however The Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere deep in the wonderful Cumbrian Lake District excelled in meeting these needs. We used a Red Letter Day gift to spend 3 nights at the hotel and each one was spent in a pleasant room overlooking a gentle running stream. Enjoying the sounds of the countryside was a bonus from our room with its own small balcony. Although the weather was unkind it could not take away from the room location and view. The hotel is clean and welcoming with good parking space located just a few yards from Grasmere village with its own simple charm and a number of local attractions including Dove House, the home of William Wordsworth also Alan Bank the home of the founder of the National Trust. A most beautiful location. Staff at Rothay Garden were superb from Reception, Cleaners and Restaurant all were friendly courteous and supportive. A strong recommendation for the Restaurant staff , who also doubled up with other duties, exceeded all my expectations. Not only was the food superb, beautifully presented and tasty but the care in ensuring my wife had no worries about choosing and being advised on the Gluten Free dishes was exemplary. Congratulations and thanks for that. The set price dinner menu at £39.50 plus drinks per person was great value and the breakfast choice very good and sufficient. All hot dishes cooked fresh which was a bonus compared to many hotels who operate a buffet style. One final plus point was the after dinner coffee and petit fours served in a small but pleasant lounge included in the dinner price. A brilliant few days in fantastic surroundings , the Lake District and a hotel to match.

Room Tip: Choose a Langridge room on the first floor overlooking the river
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank irthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews