We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
626
215
62
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
626
215
62
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aromatherapy room riverside suite balcony overlooking the river langdale room lake district lovely hotel petit fours patio doors relaxing stay high standard small balcony spa area venison hydro pool wine list course dinner ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The Rothay Garden Hotel is in a beautiful location and perfectly situated. It is about 5-10mins walk from main village shops and pubs so the noise of other tourists and locals is definitely not a problem. The gardens at the hotel are very spacious and comfortable. The staff were a let down. We found them to be somewhat cold in their reception. The minute we walked through the door we were greeted with "name please!" rather than a "hi, how are you." The staff were curt and appeared to be too busy working to tend to the guests in a friendly manner.
The room was smaller than i would have expected and the queen size bed was 2 singles pushed together. Although having said this it was comfortable enough and the seated terrace area outside the french windows were a nice touch. We stayed in room 1 and the noise from the movement in the room above was incredibly annoying - they definitely need to sort this out.. I had booked the Langdale double room, which was an extra cost but i was suspicious we were put in to a standard double as there was nothing outstanding about the room.
The food was overpriced at the hotel so we ventured out to The Wordsworth Hotel for dinner, the food is outstandingand the staff faultless, truely a great night. I highly recommend this hotel for food. Very near to here is Tweedies bar, a wonderful wee find. Again, very relaxing and the staff couldn't have been better.
There is a seated garden area which was perfect as the weather was the best there has been this year.
Overall our stay was marvelous and the few gripes were mostly incidental as we didn't spend that much time in the room. I would still recommend the hotel as everything aside it was a nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Had stayed at hotel several years ago and had not forgotten wonderful dinner. When opportunity arose to spend 1 night in Grasmere, I immediately booked a room (at short notice) in expectation of another excellent meal. Found that the hotel had been completely refurbished to an exceptionally high standard and our room and bathroom were superb. Sadly, disappointed in dinner which, at £42.50, for 3 courses was average and overpriced. Coffee was an additional,£3.95. Breakfast was acceptable without being notable.
Overall, an enjoyable experience but this dinner will not linger in my memory.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JB1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Just returned from a two day dinner bed and breakfast break, we stayed in a ground floor Grasmere room with a terrace overlooking the river. The room was spacious modern and with a fantastic bathroom complete with a tray full of bath treats etc. The food in the restaurant was excellent served by friendly staff. I strongly dissagree with the previous comment about snobby rules about dress, it is polite to make an effort in the evening if you are dinning there.We shall return again its wonderfull.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwestBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Beautiful rooms, sumptuous food and a fantastic wine list! The coffee was divine and the service was impeccable throughout our week long stay. We will be back again… and again… and…!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2000acres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a romantic weekend. We loved the look of the hotel and the destination, our room was amazing. We were dissapointed that we could not eat in the restaurant due to my husband not having any formal clothes but I hate such snobbery in country hotels. We went there to relax not to be sneered at for not wanting to dress to their pretentious code.Luckily we ate at a lovely gastro pub down the road which was some of the best food I've ever eaten in a pub. The reception staff were friendly but had a long wait at the bar and found what I assume is the owner to be 'lacking'.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda26_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews