We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely beautiful hotel, just failing on certain points to reach 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely beautiful hotel, just failing on certain points to reach 10/10”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Beautiful hotel in charming surroundings. Would recommend it to anyone. Stunning rooms which if I'm being constructive could have been finished to a slightly better standard (note for the Project Manager). That aside the decor is exquisite and the gardens to die for. Note to staff - could possibly be a little more cheery. Did feel as thought I was checking in at a dentist as opposed to a top quality hotel. A little more conversation with a smile wouldn't go amiss. One further comment would have to be the standard of food. Have read all the comments regarding the quality of food (which is the main reason we booked), however I was slightly disapppointed. The menu read beautifully, however the actual delivery wasn't up to standard. The wonderfully decadent wine list more than made up for any failings on the Chef's part. As stated on the whole I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monty1monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    196
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
44
672
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in one of the loft suites. Fantastic! Decor excellent and walk in shower superb! Food top class. If you are looking for cheap and cheerful do not book the Rothay. This is a top quality hotel with top quality staff, food and location. My wife and I will be back as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in Grasmere at the Rothay Garden hotel. Staff very welcoming on arrival and shown to a spacious ground floor room. We were allocated this room by chance but in the summer its definitely the best option as there were patios tables and chairs for the ground floor rooms. The hotel has just been refurbished so the standard of decor was excellent. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we do not like 4 course dinners but the menu sounded good and the conservatory setting overlooking the garden was beautiful. Breakfast was of a very high standard with a good selection of fresh fruit and a wide variety of cooked food. We would recommend it for a romantic break or special occasion. We also liked being on the edge of the village but only 5 mins from the centre. Plenty of great walks from the door.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have visited this hotel twice in the last 12 months ~ staying almost a week on each occasion. On our last visit we met a couple who regularly visit this hotel 5 - 6 times a year. This speaks for itself!
It is expensive, but this renders satisfaction that cheaper hotels don't ~ in other words the extra expense is worth it.
The staff are excellent ~ one visitor shared with us that they thought the staff really enjoy their work. Rooms are exceptionally clean and well serviced with the only hotel bed I have ever found to be really comfortable. We thoroughly injoyed the fine dining and the fact we prefer to have water rather than wine "was not a problem".
If there was any failing, it was the sausage with the Fell Walker's Breakfast ~ this was a lot to be desired !
This Hotel with its garden is perfectly situated in Grasmere. The Manager and all the staff should be proud of their hotel. Can't wait to return in this Autumn.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynesider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

It's a shame. This seems to be a nice hotel but the bedroom and it's contents let it down. Our room was billed as 'superior' but I feel it was sadly lacking given the price charged. The bathroom was the biggest disappointment. Despite being a 'superior' room the bathroom was very small with no natural light and only had a shower. The fan was practically useless and the mirror took two hours to defog after using the shower. There were no flannels, there were only flimsy plasic cups and nowhere to put a toothbrush. On the second day our 'clean' towels smelt very stale. Yes, there is a hairdryer as billed but only one of those that you usually find screwed down in cheaper establishments with a switch that had to be manually kept down in order for the thing to work. We had a king size bed but the duvet barely touched the sides, it was more suited to a double bed. There was no fridge so no fresh milk, just longlife stuff. On the subject of staff the guy who appeared to be in charge of the restaurant was very pleasant but everyone else looked like they'd rather be somewhere else. I purposely went to check out rather than just dropping the key and was met with the response "Oh, right, that's OK" rather than being asked whether I'd enjoyed my stay. I expected a lot more and feel somewhat ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingscoobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The Rothay Garden Hotel is in a beautiful location and perfectly situated. It is about 5-10mins walk from main village shops and pubs so the noise of other tourists and locals is definitely not a problem. The gardens at the hotel are very spacious and comfortable. The staff were a let down. We found them to be somewhat cold in their reception. The minute we walked through the door we were greeted with "name please!" rather than a "hi, how are you." The staff were curt and appeared to be too busy working to tend to the guests in a friendly manner.
The room was smaller than i would have expected and the queen size bed was 2 singles pushed together. Although having said this it was comfortable enough and the seated terrace area outside the french windows were a nice touch. We stayed in room 1 and the noise from the movement in the room above was incredibly annoying - they definitely need to sort this out.. I had booked the Langdale double room, which was an extra cost but i was suspicious we were put in to a standard double as there was nothing outstanding about the room.
The food was overpriced at the hotel so we ventured out to The Wordsworth Hotel for dinner, the food is outstandingand the staff faultless, truely a great night. I highly recommend this hotel for food. Very near to here is Tweedies bar, a wonderful wee find. Again, very relaxing and the staff couldn't have been better.
There is a seated garden area which was perfect as the weather was the best there has been this year.
Overall our stay was marvelous and the few gripes were mostly incidental as we didn't spend that much time in the room. I would still recommend the hotel as everything aside it was a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Had stayed at hotel several years ago and had not forgotten wonderful dinner. When opportunity arose to spend 1 night in Grasmere, I immediately booked a room (at short notice) in expectation of another excellent meal. Found that the hotel had been completely refurbished to an exceptionally high standard and our room and bathroom were superb. Sadly, disappointed in dinner which, at £42.50, for 3 courses was average and overpriced. Coffee was an additional,£3.95. Breakfast was acceptable without being notable.
Overall, an enjoyable experience but this dinner will not linger in my memory.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing