We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & service in a lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel & service in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

A beautiful setting with well kept gardens and a stream. The hotel has sylish decor, fabulous food, caring staff and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    196
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
44
670
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I booked this as a last minute short break with my mom who has been very ill this year, so this was a much needed break for her.

After visiting Kendal, an excellent shopping town with muesums and visiting Ambleside for a 'choc dip' ice cream and a drink the in the pub on the front, We arrived late afternoon, parked up easily in the hotel car park, overlooking the gardens, and entered reception to a very friendly and warm welcome from one of the receptionists. She even carried my moms bag and took my case! Excellent service! She then showed us to our room and left us to settle in. The room was just delightful, on the ground floor, you could tell it had been recently modernised, with a new super kingsize bed, the bed was so comfy! The curtains and wallpaper and bedding matched up, a nice new carpet, table and very comfy chairs, a fab flat screen telly, a lovely double bath and shower and a spacious bathroom. The toiletries were delightful, there are white fluffy robes on the beds for us to use, slippers for each of us.

The hospitality tray was good but there wasn't much milk, always my pet hate with hotels, so went back to reception for more. The nice touch was the coffee jug and coffee to go with it. The patio doors opened onto a patio with table and chairs overlooking the gardens, really delightful. On further inspection around the hotel, we discovered a river and lambs in the field opposite. Truly lovely. My mom settled in very quickly and thoroughly enjoyed the view with a cup of freshly brewed coffee and a cookie!

Grasmere was a short walk away which we went to the following morning, a very nice little village with coffee shops and hotels and the church where Wordsworth is buried.

The only downside as far i can see is that the hotel only offers 4 course meals in the evening. I think a lot of people would prefer the option of a 2 course meal or 4 course, but they currently don't offer this option,its set. Failing that maybe the hotel should offer bar meals in addition to the restaurant. A real shame there was just one option for dining in the hotel, as the conservatory restaurant looked delighful.

For our meal, we went out and walked to the pub, i think it was the Swan. Take a right out of the hotel gate and follow the road around and you will see it ahead of you, about 5 minutes walk. MacDonald Hotels owns it. The young girl in that bar works so hard i can tell you and always maintains a friendly approach to all customers. I cannot commend her more highly. She fitted us in for a meal as it was busy in there, i think you need to book really, and we sat in the pub part, there is a separate restaurant, but the same menu throughout. Had a delicious chicken dish and my mom had steak. They were pricy in comparison to normal pub meals £15 each for just a main course, but excellent quality and good portions and thoroughly enjoyed. Take a torch for the walk back, its down an unlit lane, we used a key ring light to light our way back!

We had a great nights sleep at the hotel until 6am when the occupants of the room above were playing ball and skipping so i presume they were children or very noisy adults! Managed to go back to sleep for 2 more hours. We had our breakfast served in our bedroom, which was complimentary. It was absolutely delicious, a quality breakfast, cooked to perfection with, toast and mini croissants, fruit, yoghurts, juice, tea and coffee, all absolutely delicious.

We didn't have time to try it, but the hotel offered access to a nearby hotel's leisure facilities for free during our stay, which would be good if you have kids to keep occupied when your away.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will certainly be going back next time we want to stay in the lakes. A top notch hotel.






we opened the

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed for a night on our first anniversary this August. We chose it almost by accident as most of the places we'd been looking at wouldn't let you stay for one night on a Saturday in peak season. The Rothay Garden came up for one night as a Super Break option, and as it was in a good position for a walk we wanted to do we decided to go for it. We weren't expecting it to be as lovely as it was. The hotel has obviously been refurbished recently and is very modern inside. Our bedroom was very quirky with it's own staircase with a window at the front overlooking the gardens and a window over the lovely whirlpool bath overlooking the bridge and river.
We didn't stay for dinner because the reviews on here had put me off a bit, we went to the Jumble Room instead which was fabulous. If we'd have had chance to stay another night we definitely would have tried the restaurant though. Going by the gorgeous/enormous fell walkers breakfast I bet it would've been good. The staff were all friendly and helpful with us. And we had a fantastic nights sleep. After our epic walk and dinner we were fast asleep at 9.30pm!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyann38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was our second stay at the hotel having stayed there last year for a walking weekend and we were pleased that the food, staff and accomdation standards were just as good as we had previoulsy experienced.

The food deserves a particular mention as it is very good indeed.

The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a quality hotel in Grasmere you cannot go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Trully wonderful place to stay, rooms are gorgeous, clean and comfy.

As previously discussed the staff need to learn to smile, not all of us can be bothered to get "dressed up" on holiday, don't judge us on our combat pants and T-shirts!!
It's those that have perfectly ironed shirts you should pity!!
(yes, it did feel a bit like that!!)

Menu is fine. if you fancy great food, and breakfasts are superb, (and free in your room), but if you want a pizza there are options in lovely Grasmere, a 5 minute walk.

This place could be absolutely superb, such a shame really.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We just stayed the one night at the hotel to celebrate my wifes birthday and it could not have been more perfect. Before travelling I read some of the negative comments from other reviewers and I have to say that either they stayed at a different hotel, have very diferent expectations to me or just simply just like something to complain about - real or not.
Staff - from the moment we arrived the staff were pleasant and helpful. We were shown to our room, had we had a good journey, had we had a good day, had we enjoyed our room etc etc. One member of staff repeated "no problem" to any request. Oh and yes the so called grumpy manager was most pleasant and professional.!

Room - we stayed in a Grasmere, ground floor, room overlooking the magnificient gardens. The room was a good size with twin beds, settee and chair, flat screen tv and the usual wardrobes etc.. Oh and if you were concerned the hairdryer is more than adequate. Agree there was no fruit, but there was an excellent choice of teas,coffees biscuits etc and a nice touch was the fresh coffee option.
The bathroom was nice modern and whilst it only had a shower, what a shower, described on their web site as a 'monsoon shower' and they were not exagerating. No it did not have any natural light in the bathroom, as one complainer moaned but I honestly cannot remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that had a window in the bathroom. Nice toileteries, bathrobe, slippers and fluffy towels.

Food - unless you book a dinner/bedbreakfast deal the dinner is £42.50 but is a 4 course meal (not 3 as previously reported) and the coffee is included (not extra). The restaurant has 2 AA recs and the choice, food, presentation and service was well worth the cost. Lovely conservatory restaurant overlooking the gardens, nice quiet atmosphere. The breakfast choice was excellent and no complaints. In addition to the Cumberland Grill they offer a 'fellwalkers breakfast' I saw it being delivered and only for the larger appetitie. Would agree that the drinks in the bar are expensive but then you expect them to be at all 4/5* hotels

Location - Nice 4/5 minute walk into Grasmere village with its shops, cafes and alternative restaurant options. Free entry to a pool/spa at a nearby hotel. Free internet.

Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Beautiful hotel in charming surroundings. Would recommend it to anyone. Stunning rooms which if I'm being constructive could have been finished to a slightly better standard (note for the Project Manager). That aside the decor is exquisite and the gardens to die for. Note to staff - could possibly be a little more cheery. Did feel as thought I was checking in at a dentist as opposed to a top quality hotel. A little more conversation with a smile wouldn't go amiss. One further comment would have to be the standard of food. Have read all the comments regarding the quality of food (which is the main reason we booked), however I was slightly disapppointed. The menu read beautifully, however the actual delivery wasn't up to standard. The wonderfully decadent wine list more than made up for any failings on the Chef's part. As stated on the whole I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monty1monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,427 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Property: Rothay Garden Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing