We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here on a 'Red Letter Day'. The...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed here on a 'Red Letter Day'. The only thing I would improve would be the car park - we got the last space, we would have had to find somewhere else to park if we had arrived any later. The staff are courteous. It's maybe true that they could smile a little more but this certainly would never spoil my stay and having worked in a customer facing environment there is nothing worse than having to wear a false smile. The staff are polite and will engage in conversation if you make the first move! Rooms are perfect, clean, lovely bathroom, real luxury. Food lovely, though not superb, possibly a bit over presented but maybe that's just me. Breakfast was superb though. Overall a great place, would highly recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Me and my wife(in our 50's) stayed in the Stone Arthur Loft Suite as an anniversary treat,on arrival the staff was nice and pleasant.Our room was amazing and ultra clean(as is all of the hotel),nice touch with the chocolates.The bed was huge,so was the bath.Room was large and had plenty of storage.I have read past reviews about this hotel saying how bad this hotel was,if I had gone on their reviews we would have not stayed here(glad we didnt).Some reviews moaned about the meal prices,on one occasion we had homemade soup with numerous homemade rolls at £4.50, could have gone down the road and had soup in one of the caf'e or bistro's and paid £4.00,have soup in a lovely plush hotel or in a bistro with plastic tablecloth's(Mmmm no brainer).Even met the infamous owner Chris,who was as nice as his hotel.The room was pricey but to us it was worth every penny.Will visit again,and many thanks to Chris and his wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebus115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Clean and friendly with good food and a picturesque location. Breakfast can be tailored to suit your appetite - from the large Fellwalker grill through the Cumbrian grill to smoked salmon or bacon and eggs. The staff were always willing and helpful whilst not obtrusive. The key phrase was "ask and you shall receive". Slightly off the beaten track so is tranquil and thoroughly relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

A beautiful setting with well kept gardens and a stream. The hotel has sylish decor, fabulous food, caring staff and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I booked this as a last minute short break with my mom who has been very ill this year, so this was a much needed break for her.

After visiting Kendal, an excellent shopping town with muesums and visiting Ambleside for a 'choc dip' ice cream and a drink the in the pub on the front, We arrived late afternoon, parked up easily in the hotel car park, overlooking the gardens, and entered reception to a very friendly and warm welcome from one of the receptionists. She even carried my moms bag and took my case! Excellent service! She then showed us to our room and left us to settle in. The room was just delightful, on the ground floor, you could tell it had been recently modernised, with a new super kingsize bed, the bed was so comfy! The curtains and wallpaper and bedding matched up, a nice new carpet, table and very comfy chairs, a fab flat screen telly, a lovely double bath and shower and a spacious bathroom. The toiletries were delightful, there are white fluffy robes on the beds for us to use, slippers for each of us.

The hospitality tray was good but there wasn't much milk, always my pet hate with hotels, so went back to reception for more. The nice touch was the coffee jug and coffee to go with it. The patio doors opened onto a patio with table and chairs overlooking the gardens, really delightful. On further inspection around the hotel, we discovered a river and lambs in the field opposite. Truly lovely. My mom settled in very quickly and thoroughly enjoyed the view with a cup of freshly brewed coffee and a cookie!

Grasmere was a short walk away which we went to the following morning, a very nice little village with coffee shops and hotels and the church where Wordsworth is buried.

The only downside as far i can see is that the hotel only offers 4 course meals in the evening. I think a lot of people would prefer the option of a 2 course meal or 4 course, but they currently don't offer this option,its set. Failing that maybe the hotel should offer bar meals in addition to the restaurant. A real shame there was just one option for dining in the hotel, as the conservatory restaurant looked delighful.

For our meal, we went out and walked to the pub, i think it was the Swan. Take a right out of the hotel gate and follow the road around and you will see it ahead of you, about 5 minutes walk. MacDonald Hotels owns it. The young girl in that bar works so hard i can tell you and always maintains a friendly approach to all customers. I cannot commend her more highly. She fitted us in for a meal as it was busy in there, i think you need to book really, and we sat in the pub part, there is a separate restaurant, but the same menu throughout. Had a delicious chicken dish and my mom had steak. They were pricy in comparison to normal pub meals £15 each for just a main course, but excellent quality and good portions and thoroughly enjoyed. Take a torch for the walk back, its down an unlit lane, we used a key ring light to light our way back!

We had a great nights sleep at the hotel until 6am when the occupants of the room above were playing ball and skipping so i presume they were children or very noisy adults! Managed to go back to sleep for 2 more hours. We had our breakfast served in our bedroom, which was complimentary. It was absolutely delicious, a quality breakfast, cooked to perfection with, toast and mini croissants, fruit, yoghurts, juice, tea and coffee, all absolutely delicious.

We didn't have time to try it, but the hotel offered access to a nearby hotel's leisure facilities for free during our stay, which would be good if you have kids to keep occupied when your away.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will certainly be going back next time we want to stay in the lakes. A top notch hotel.






we opened the

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed for a night on our first anniversary this August. We chose it almost by accident as most of the places we'd been looking at wouldn't let you stay for one night on a Saturday in peak season. The Rothay Garden came up for one night as a Super Break option, and as it was in a good position for a walk we wanted to do we decided to go for it. We weren't expecting it to be as lovely as it was. The hotel has obviously been refurbished recently and is very modern inside. Our bedroom was very quirky with it's own staircase with a window at the front overlooking the gardens and a window over the lovely whirlpool bath overlooking the bridge and river.
We didn't stay for dinner because the reviews on here had put me off a bit, we went to the Jumble Room instead which was fabulous. If we'd have had chance to stay another night we definitely would have tried the restaurant though. Going by the gorgeous/enormous fell walkers breakfast I bet it would've been good. The staff were all friendly and helpful with us. And we had a fantastic nights sleep. After our epic walk and dinner we were fast asleep at 9.30pm!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyann38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was our second stay at the hotel having stayed there last year for a walking weekend and we were pleased that the food, staff and accomdation standards were just as good as we had previoulsy experienced.

The food deserves a particular mention as it is very good indeed.

The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a quality hotel in Grasmere you cannot go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £139 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden
Rothay Garden Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing