We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vegetarian food in the country - a taste sensation!”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
“The best vegetarian food in the country - a taste sensation!”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I found Lancrigg on Trip Advisor whilst planning a trip to Grasmere and being a Vegetarian I couldn't not try it. I was staying in another hotel in the Grasmere area, so this review is for the restaurant only. My mother and I enjoyed a leisurely stroll to Lancrigg (about 15mins walk from the centre) after being advised by a local person that there was no need to travel by car. When we arrived we thought the location was beautiful and we were greeted by Rob at the front door who was ever so welcoming and friendly, as were all the staff. Once in the restaurant the menu was extensive with plenty of choice of mains, starters and desserts. It was so difficult to choose! When each course arrived I was in veggie heaven! The servings were plentiful and cooked to perfection. My mother is not a veggie but she was amazed by the way that Lancrigg made veggie food appetising to the eye and the palate. Afterwards you feel nurtured and wholesome. When we were preparing to leave, Rob kindly offered to drive us back down to the town as the night had drawn in and we had foolishly walked without a torch (there is no street lighting on the road up to Lancrigg), we were ever so thankful! I enjoyed my time at Lancrigg so much I'm planning another trip to Grasmere and I will ensure I pay another visit. A massive thank you once again to Rob and all his staff for such wonderful food, hospitality and going that extra mile and taking us back to our hotel safely!

Room Tip: If you walk take a torch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C11PRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    102
    44
    30
    12
See reviews for
83
443
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llandysul, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights in Lancrigg and enjoyed everthing about it.
Until you stay at Lancrigg you cannot really appreciate the relaxing nature and ethos of this hotel .
The room was very clean, well appointed with a king size bed (excellent sleeps!) and an excellent view of Silver Howe.
The hotel is in easy walking distance from Grasmere where there are numerous shops .
The food served at the hotel is of good quality and presented well . Lunch on the lawn went down nicely !

Room Tip: Silver Howe room has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0nty2_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield, nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I've just spent a wonderful week at Lancrigg and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. First of all is the location; it couldn't be more perfect, right at the foot of Helm Crag and overlooking beautiful countryside. It is incredibly peaceful, having no through traffic and no streetlights. Then there is the food - fantastic, healthy and very tasty. I expected to get a set menu, as I was staying half board, but I got to choose from the al a carte, so there were around seven starter and main courses and every one of them delicious. It made such a difference to eat homemade, fresh, organic and nutritious food every day. I stayed in Nightingale, which was the perfect size room for me - my room was clean and cosy and I'm missing the lovely deep bath already! There was no shortage of very hot water, the room had tea/coffee making facilities as well as a TV with a DVD and video included. I had lovely clean towels and in answer to the critics re room cleaning - there is a sign that you can leave on the door saying that you're out on the fells, so please clean the room, so my room was serviced when I felt it needed to be. The rest of the hotel is gorgeous - lovely 'chill out' lounge with big soft settees, with a marvellous vista, and very nice dining room. Last but certainly not least, everyone made me feel very welcome - I spent some time chatting with Rob about recipes (please send me the Cauliflower and Brocolli soup one!) and Nikki, Anita and Marta couldn't have been more helpful - it's apparent that everyone works very hard to make sure guests are looked after. I came away from my holiday feeling thoroughly relaxed and healthy. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneMaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My partner and have never written a review before, but felt a need to state what a fantastic place this hotel truly is.
The owner Rob and his staff could not be faulted. The food choice was extensive and truly delicious.
The hotel surroundings and character enabled us instantly relax...in addition to our spa bath!
We loved our stay so much we changed our plans to stay a further night and certainly cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed two night's at this fabulous hotel. Great location, great food, staff were lovely. Our dog loved it. Will definatley go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Amazing place to get away from it all. Beautiful room (the Azalea, a mini suite). Shame about the weather, but it made no difference. The food was 5 star. Even though I am not vegeterian, I think I could quite easily become one after eating here! The location, in it's own grounds with local wildlife, deer, rabbits etc was fantastic. Just the place to get away from it all.
Thine hosts, Robert and Janet, make it feel better than your own home! Even an impromptu classical guitar recital from the waiter!
Will definitely make this hotel a regular haunt. Well done Lancrigg!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We booked this trip as a special treat for our Christmas break. The package was three nights from the 24th to 27th of December. We were more than spoiled with good company and great, imaginative and good-quality food; greeted with mulled wine and mince pies on the afternoon of arrival was just the beginning. We had champagne breakfast, six-course Christmas Day meal and a splendid buffet in the evening. Everything is vegetarian (vegan options available) and organic, and my partner, a non-vegetarian, said it was some of the best food he'd ever tasted - and there was certainly plenty of it. Fantastic! (Apparently a high proportion of the guests who stay are non-vegetarian but leave - if not converted - more than happy with the delicious fare.)

Our room was in the owners' house, a short walk away from the main hotel, through a charming, wood, which added much to the romantic time, especially when we woke up on Boxing Day to find there was fresh snow lying on the ground.

Our break at Lancrigg was all so much better than we expected and the good company of the other guests was excellent. It felt for us as though we arrived as strangers and left as friends. Hopefully we can repeat the good experience again this coming Christmas and want to give a big thank you to Robert and Janet and their brilliant staff, and son Michael, who all looked after us so well in that very special time of year.

Many thanks again and we definitely will be back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear CaptainZ
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review and we are very happy to hear that you both enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at Kitty Crag - also that it was all so better than you dared hope from reading the various reviews! Thank you for choosing Lancrigg as a place to spend Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back. We all enjoyed Christmas here too with such an interesting mix of people and to receive a great review like this helps make all the hard work worthwhile as it is the enjoyment of guests which is of paramount importance to myself and the team.
All the best Robert Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing