We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful few days in this idyllic setting. Service was superb as was the food.”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful few days in this idyllic setting. Service was superb as was the food.”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent a long weekend in this lovely country house hotel and spent time wandering in the magnificent grounds. The owners are ever present and so helpful. They guided us to walks which were just right for our needs and we returned to enjoy the wonderfully varied vegetarian meals. Healthy varied and visually pleasing dishes were presented at every meal.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, even if you are not vegetarian.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dickens room which had beautiful views over the hills and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    102
    44
    30
    12
See reviews for
83
443
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel, but booked an evening meal. Good choice of vegetarian food, good service. Hotel is in a good location, dining room is a pleasant atmosphere. An enjoyable evening and meal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What a hidden gem this is! A short country stroll from Grasmere, a truly delightful village in the Lakes. We had two wonderful days walking right from the front door - no driving necessary. One to Easedale tarn along a beautiful stream and waterfall, and another over the fell to Rydal. The views from the dining room and lawn of the hotel are simply out of this world! The peace and tranquility are overwhelming. The food is probably the best veggie food I have ever had anywhere, and the service is extremely welcoming and friendly. The hotel rooms are decorated beautifully. We will definitely return whenever we are back in the Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Another perfect stay at Lancrigg, the staff were wonderful as always, the accommodation (kitty crag) a jewel in the woods, and food and wine excellent. We stayed with 6 others, 5 of whom weren't vegetarian and everyone found the food fabulous! Thank you Lancrigg for making our weekend so special. Wendy & Andi

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have just returned from a two-night stay at Lancrigg House Hotel, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff and our room (complete with beautiful views of Easedale and a whirlpool bath) was fantastic. The food served in the Green Valley restaurant was second to none - our particular favourite was the vegan Chocolate and Espresso Mousse with Coconut Sorbet - delicious! The hotel is just a short walk to Easedale Tarn, which is well worth a visit. We had a wonderful time, and we can't wait to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyVegetarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After hearing great reviews about this hotel from my parents, I came here for the weekend with my family and fiancé and definitely wasn’t disappointed.
We stayed at Kitty Crag which was perfect for our getaway as it was quiet, peaceful and romantic. It is a great place to stay whether spending quality time with the family, or having a quiet getaway as a couple.
The food at the hotel was lovely, and the staff were always very helpful and friendly.
I will definitely be coming back here as it is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I was looking for some rest and relaxation and good food and i got exactly what i was looking for. I can find no fault with my stay at all and was delighted at the extensive vegan menu that was available infact my only disappointment is that i wasnt there long enough to sample it all! Wonderful sorroundings infact i never left the grounds from arriving to departing....everything was available right there even some vegan chocolate! I would like to thank all the staff for such a wonderful time and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Dickens room had a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_newlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,426 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing