We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, service and views!”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at Lancrigg. We had been there for a memorable dinner when staying at a B&B nearby many years ago, but couldn't afford to stay there then. This time during a 3-week vacation to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary, we decided to splurge. The wonderful food, great service, fantastic views, nice room, and great hiking from the front door made it all worth every pound. Great for anyone, but heaven for vegetarians and vegans!

Room Tip: Check out their website for photos and excellent descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VeggieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We chose to spend two nights at Lancrigg as a special treat, and enjoyed every minute. The only disappointment of the visit was having to leave. The staff are exceptional - attentive, polite, relaxed and friendly, in the nicest possible way. The food we chose from the extensive menu was lovingly prepared, delicious, and beautifully presented. Our room was both cosy and elegant, and the promised view did not disappoint. Our dog enjoyed her stay, too. It's clear that many guests choose to return again and again, and this is no surprise. The location itself is wonderful, but really it's the staff who make this such an exceptional place. We'd be back again this week-end if we could!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Good_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Having had a gruelling drive down from the far north of Scotland we decided to stop here " on the spur of the moment" as it were.
We 'phoned in from somewhere on the M74 near the Falls of Clyde I think, and was greeted in a friendly manner, with no need to leave credit card details etc. Last dining was at 2000, and according to the SatNav, we were only just about to make it. "Don't worry" said the hotel, "I'm sure we'll cope if you're a little late, we're quite relaxed here"
And so it was. We shaved a half hour off the ETA and arrived about 1940 in time for a quick shower and dinner.:

The setting in Easedale is beautiful, we have walked past this location on many occasions and have often thought of staying.

Dinner was excellent!
A Long Wall beer for best friend and a Dunkerton's cider for me: Just what was needed after a long drive.
Olives, Meze, Spinch Crepe, Pumpkin Tart all was excellent, including the lovely dessert which I don't usually take. An excellent meal. Washed down by a tasty bottle of white from an extensive organic wine list.

The room (Franklin) was quite small but finished well, it didn't have a view having an outlook onto adjacent grassy slope. The 4 poster bed was comfortable with good quality bed linen. Franklin is on the ground floor, and despite its location it was very quiet.

Bathroom was a little dated, and could definitely done with a better showerhead - I felt that I had to run around to get wet. If I had been walking on the fells I would have liked a good heavy duty shower.

My only real complaint about the room was large gap at the bottom of the door which let the landing light shine underneath: a well placed bag cured this!

The young staff were very friendly and helpful, and fun to talk to.

At a "walk - in" of 80 GBP per person per night this isn't a cheap hotel, and neither is the restaurant cheap. However, the restaurant is excellent, and probably the best in its class, and it represents good value.

Even if the hotel is out of your price range, if you're staying in the area the Restaurant is excellent and an absolute must!

I haven't tested it but according to the tariff Pets are allowed in some rooms at an extra charge of GBP10 per stay.

I would recommend the Hotel and resaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A stay at Lancrigg has been a long time coming. It has an air of Victorian elegance that has been enhanced with much updating. There was a warm welcome with the option of taking tea on the terrace with pleasant views up Easdale Gill and towards Easdale Tarn with Blea Rigg, Sargeant Man, High Raise and the Langdales on the horizon. The room was comfortable and wonderfully quiet.

The meals were deliciously varied. We were introduced to several new dishes during our two night stay. The ambiance is relaxed and there is no rush to finish one’s meal. The service was always friendly and warm.

This is worth a visit for the elegance and the wonderfully scrumptious food. There is plenty of easy walking close by and Helvellyn is accessible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent a long weekend in this lovely country house hotel and spent time wandering in the magnificent grounds. The owners are ever present and so helpful. They guided us to walks which were just right for our needs and we returned to enjoy the wonderfully varied vegetarian meals. Healthy varied and visually pleasing dishes were presented at every meal.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, even if you are not vegetarian.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dickens room which had beautiful views over the hills and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel, but booked an evening meal. Good choice of vegetarian food, good service. Hotel is in a good location, dining room is a pleasant atmosphere. An enjoyable evening and meal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What a hidden gem this is! A short country stroll from Grasmere, a truly delightful village in the Lakes. We had two wonderful days walking right from the front door - no driving necessary. One to Easedale tarn along a beautiful stream and waterfall, and another over the fell to Rydal. The views from the dining room and lawn of the hotel are simply out of this world! The peace and tranquility are overwhelming. The food is probably the best veggie food I have ever had anywhere, and the service is extremely welcoming and friendly. The hotel rooms are decorated beautifully. We will definitely return whenever we are back in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,553 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
731 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £64 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which opens from 8:30am for breakfast and serves a classic lunch menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 6:30pm. The Lancrigg restaurant offers a fantastic a la carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. booking is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing