We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel and surroundings”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel and surroundings”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The service was perfect, the staff were really friendly and bubbly. The food was extremely tasty and very filling. Location wise is perfect just a short walk to the local village. The only dissapointment was with the room, the double bed was just two singles pushed together and the room was slightly on the smaller side. Having spoken to other guests it was apparent that all the rooms varied so this would be debatable on the room you were given.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleighrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    102
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
443
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The welcome when we arrived was adequate but slightly impersonal and unfriendly. The room was pretty with a good view and a nice bed, but the bathroom curtain was a bit mouldy and the shower was extremely weak (this was the Wordsworth room). The location and the building itself are beautiful.

We didn't meet the owners, which was a shame as I love the personal touch that you get with some smaller hotels. The staff could have been more friendly overall although this did vary a lot (depending on their mood?). I felt that the personal touch was rather lacking.

The evening meal was nice overall, with four choices of main, all elaborately displayed on the plate. I did get the feeling that parts of my meal had been sitting on the plate for a while (the lentil dhaal had formed a skin). This could be a consequence of the complex meals that they serve - it must take a while to arrange everything on the plate. The desert was served far too hot. They ran out of the house wine but the wine we had was very nice and served at the correct temperature. The food and wine were priced well above the high quality vegetarian restaurants that I have visited in central London (eg Mildreds and Tibits if you know London). I felt that this was unjustified.

At breakfast, the muesli and hot meals were nice. However, the coffee had an unpleasant taste and was served tepid on one occasion. The toast was served cold on one occasion. Again, I felt that they made things too complicated by serving three different kinds of toast as part of the continental breakfast which is unnecessary. They also ran out of croissants.

I was left with the feeling that somebody had put some thought into making it nice, but that their efforts were sometimes misplaced, and that they sometimes failed to get the basic things right before trying to perfect more trivial things.
eg: the toiletries were very carefully chosen (which is unimportant), *but* the shower was very poor (which had a negative impact on our stay).
eg2: The food was complex with about four different components to each meal and was arranged nicely on the plate (which should be the icing on the cake), *but* they often ran out of things, served food at the wrong temperature and the coffee was pretty vile to be honest (so the cake isn't completely there in the first place).

Overall I would say I liked the food and location/building. If the people had been more friendly and the room had been higher quality then the other things I mentioned wouldn't have been an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Flora388
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and we are glad you found so many positive things and we apologise for any shortcomings. Had you mentioned anything untoward to us we would have been pleased to have attended to it. I did greet you, both the owners in fact met you and after reading this discussed your comments and found that we both had the impression that you wished to be left to come and go as you pleased and this level of privacy we find is why many prefer hotels to B and B. Whilst we very much enjoy conversing with guests we would not like to disturb guests if they are here to enjoy space to themselves.
We have had hundreds of guests, of all ages including young people such as yourselves, who recently who took advantage of the special winter offers and Groupons, and we are sorry to hear here to hear that you were less satisfied with every aspect of your stay as we have had excellent feedback from so many. I am glad you found your room pretty with attention to details and that you think we have given a lot of thought to things as this is indeed the case. As a realistic hotelier there are times that we may fall short of some customers’ expectations and this was clearly so in the matter of the less than perfect shower curtain, the preparation of one of your coffees and lack of croissants that particular day. We checked the shower, and found it to be fully operative, and although not a power shower, it has a modern shower head which I have decided to change for a different type. Having investigated these matters with my team it appears that these were not brought to our attention at the time which never gave us a chance to rectify these problems. The coffee is usually well appreciated as it is the finest organic Columbian, freshly ground here, and I have rechecked that all staff are fully trained in the making of it.
am glad you found our attention to detail so good overall and yes a lot of thought goes into all the aspects including sourcing foods and toiletries etc which are of the highest and purest quality, and organic where possible as well as being vegetarian or vegan. This strict criteria means that we use and make many products, foods and drinks unusual to most hotels and restaurants. Despite this, and being in out in the country we rarely run out of many items and if we do, we make amends by substituting an item - for example if we run out of the house wine we offer another organic wine from the list at no additional charge. In response to your comments re our restaurant, we do aim to produce attractive delicious meals and I am sorry that they were not entirely to your liking – everything is put very quickly on the plate to ensure it is hot. On rare occasion we might be told that in fact a guest is not quite ready for a plate to be delivered, for example they may have left the table momentarily etc in which case it might be popped in the oven for a minute or 2. However this in fact virtually never happens as we plate the dish as soon as we know that the starters have been cleared.
We also know and like Mildreds, but to be fair, it is a very different set up to ours, in terms of furnishings, spacing of diners etc which may enable them to set lower prices. Tibit’s with a buffet where you are charged by weight, is also not in our view a fair comparison. These places seem to receive similar praise and criticism to us which maybe proves the old adage that one cannot please all of the people all of the time.
We appreciate all guest feedback and will constantly strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations, i can only apologise that this was not entirely the case for your stay.
Yours Sincerely
Janet Whittington and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Lancrigg which is in a beautiful spot. However there's a touch of faded glory about the place. Although the food and service was good, we did feel that it was overpriced. We came away feeling slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edenholme54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review although we were sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed - the prices reflect many aspects including the level of service, the quality of the food and the location and I am glad to hear that these were appreciated, even if you felt the value of our Winter offers not what you hoped. If you have signed up for our newsletter you will receive details of special offers and we hope that you will be tempted to return.
With Best Wishes
Robert Whittington and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We treated ourselves to one night in the wainwright suite- and treated we were! Amazing walks straight from the hotel door rewarded on return with a cup of tea by the roaring open fire in the cosy hotel lounge. The food was truly stunning accompanied by a selection of tasty bottled ales. Service was fantastic at all times, we were made to feel at home from the first instance. Even after just one night we felt truly re-juvenated and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed four nights in Lancrigg in SilverHowe room & ate in restaurant twice. Just driving up the drive in gives you a feeling of entering another planet. One of the best "Room with a View" imaginable. As a vegetarian for over 30 years, if I ran a hotel like this one I would be very proud.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andyswarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed for one night in January and booked the Azalea suite which was very spacious and had a little verandah area where you could have drinks in the summer. The room and bathroom were spotless with a great range of ethical toiletries to use.

Afternoon coffee with a home made flapjack next to the open fire was lovely and the evening meal was really really nice, Hubby is not veggie but was really impressed.The restaurant was very elegant with friendly staff and excellent service.

We saw red and roe deer in the grounds, which you are welcome to wander around in and recommend a stroll up to Easedale Tarn after breakfast

Came away feeling like I'd had a shot of vitamins and fresh air from the food and the wonderful setting and scenery.

Will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jsalmon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had a three-night mid-week break here, with evening meals included, as a short honeymoon, and I'm so glad we did. We came out-of-season and were immediately given the choice of upgrading to a larger room (free of charge) upon arrival. In the end we stayed in the Richardson room, which was glamourous, spacious, and had the bonus feature of a private door outside so you could exit and enter in your muddy walking boots without causing a mess!
The staff were lovely, and sitting in the guest lounge felt like staying in a friend's house. But the best thing was undoubtedly the food. Breakfasts were perfect for setting you up for a day's walking (didn't even need lunch one day!), and the evening meals were absolutely spectacular. My husband and I are both vegan, and so it was a real treat to have four courses of carefully considered, innovative and delicious food every night, and with enough choice to have something different each time.
Absolutely brilliant: come for the views, the easy access out into the mountains, and the stunning food!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg Hotel is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 1/2 mile from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to residents and non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available and a lunch menu served from 12pm until 4:30pm. The restaurant is available from 6pm to 9pm, booking is reccomended. The Lancrigg is currently a vegetarian Hotel (vegan option available), however we are currently undergoing renovation to offer a flexitarian menu(still vegetarian but with fish and meat available) and a fully stocked bar will be following soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing