We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lancrigg
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travellers Rest Inn(Grasmere)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
481
109
51
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
481
109
51
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegetarian foodvegetarian hoteltofueasedale tarnmeat eaterslake districtcountry housedining roomfour poster bedhelm craghotel groundsopen fireother guestsbeautiful surroundingsred squirrelsevening mealwonderful food
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

As a confirmed omnivore (bar raw celery!), the prospect of a vegetarian hotel was one of anticipation, as in my 47 years on the planet, the veggie option is either ratatouille or something similar masquerading as veggie curry, chilli or pasta. The hotel was found easily, just a half mile from Grasmere town. The driveway was a little rustic, but that's my only VERY MINOR grumble. After parking the car, it was blissful. The weather was a little dull, the birds were singing and that was the only sound. We were met by the lady from Devon (cannot recall her name - sorry!) and given a good look around the fantastically comfortable lounge and equally welcoming dining room. We were than taken to our room - the Wordsworth - and it was warm, cosy, clean and lacked nothing. The shower curtain must have been replaced as it was pristine. After load more chat about veganism and vegetarianism and all things food, we were left to unpack. After a 3-hour walk literally up hill and down dale (Easedale), it was back to the lounge and the log fire and a few bottles of organic beer. OK, so they cost a little more than a bottle of 'the usual', but it was organic and had an ethical pedigree and it tasted superb. The olives were equally good. The evening meal was amazing. I cannot fault it. The goat's cheese tartlet was divine, and the bean and sage pate equally so. Mains were mushroom and brazil nut roulade (better called Wellington) and pumpkin and cashew nut tart with lime. The vegetables were perfectly cooked and the dishes well presented. Who needs meat? Desserts were the cheeseboard and a supreme crumble of apple, cinnamon, nuts and sultanas, accompanied by pouring cream. Simply divine! After, a port and a liquer coffee was the perfect end to a fantastic meal. Breakfast was again excellent, served by an equally friendly lady of Canadian origin. The hotel's owner was engaging during our stay, not pushy or overbearing, just a thoroughly nice guy. Fully booked for tonight and the weekend, this was not a surprise; we would go back again without hesitation. And the next stop is Bookkoob.com for a veggie cook book!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear gordon m
Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review and we are all very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay and enjoyed so many aspects which are unique to Lancrigg. I hope you found a good cook book and if you would like to emai lme we can send you details of some of our favourites and also let you know when we publish ours! I apologise for the long rustic drive needing a few potholes filling in just after we had had some extreme wintry weather, and we do regularly do this, and guests tell us it contributes to the 'getting away from it all' experience of this peaceful spot!
All the best Robert Whittington and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The service was perfect, the staff were really friendly and bubbly. The food was extremely tasty and very filling. Location wise is perfect just a short walk to the local village. The only dissapointment was with the room, the double bed was just two singles pushed together and the room was slightly on the smaller side. Having spoken to other guests it was apparent that all the rooms varied so this would be debatable on the room you were given.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleighrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The welcome when we arrived was adequate but slightly impersonal and unfriendly. The room was pretty with a good view and a nice bed, but the bathroom curtain was a bit mouldy and the shower was extremely weak (this was the Wordsworth room). The location and the building itself are beautiful.

We didn't meet the owners, which was a shame as I love the personal touch that you get with some smaller hotels. The staff could have been more friendly overall although this did vary a lot (depending on their mood?). I felt that the personal touch was rather lacking.

The evening meal was nice overall, with four choices of main, all elaborately displayed on the plate. I did get the feeling that parts of my meal had been sitting on the plate for a while (the lentil dhaal had formed a skin). This could be a consequence of the complex meals that they serve - it must take a while to arrange everything on the plate. The desert was served far too hot. They ran out of the house wine but the wine we had was very nice and served at the correct temperature. The food and wine were priced well above the high quality vegetarian restaurants that I have visited in central London (eg Mildreds and Tibits if you know London). I felt that this was unjustified.

At breakfast, the muesli and hot meals were nice. However, the coffee had an unpleasant taste and was served tepid on one occasion. The toast was served cold on one occasion. Again, I felt that they made things too complicated by serving three different kinds of toast as part of the continental breakfast which is unnecessary. They also ran out of croissants.

I was left with the feeling that somebody had put some thought into making it nice, but that their efforts were sometimes misplaced, and that they sometimes failed to get the basic things right before trying to perfect more trivial things.
eg: the toiletries were very carefully chosen (which is unimportant), *but* the shower was very poor (which had a negative impact on our stay).
eg2: The food was complex with about four different components to each meal and was arranged nicely on the plate (which should be the icing on the cake), *but* they often ran out of things, served food at the wrong temperature and the coffee was pretty vile to be honest (so the cake isn't completely there in the first place).

Overall I would say I liked the food and location/building. If the people had been more friendly and the room had been higher quality then the other things I mentioned wouldn't have been an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Flora388
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and we are glad you found so many positive things and we apologise for any shortcomings. Had you mentioned anything untoward to us we would have been pleased to have attended to it. I did greet you, both the owners in fact met you and after reading this discussed your comments and found that we both had the impression that you wished to be left to come and go as you pleased and this level of privacy we find is why many prefer hotels to B and B. Whilst we very much enjoy conversing with guests we would not like to disturb guests if they are here to enjoy space to themselves.
We have had hundreds of guests, of all ages including young people such as yourselves, who recently who took advantage of the special winter offers and Groupons, and we are sorry to hear here to hear that you were less satisfied with every aspect of your stay as we have had excellent feedback from so many. I am glad you found your room pretty with attention to details and that you think we have given a lot of thought to things as this is indeed the case. As a realistic hotelier there are times that we may fall short of some customers’ expectations and this was clearly so in the matter of the less than perfect shower curtain, the preparation of one of your coffees and lack of croissants that particular day. We checked the shower, and found it to be fully operative, and although not a power shower, it has a modern shower head which I have decided to change for a different type. Having investigated these matters with my team it appears that these were not brought to our attention at the time which never gave us a chance to rectify these problems. The coffee is usually well appreciated as it is the finest organic Columbian, freshly ground here, and I have rechecked that all staff are fully trained in the making of it.
am glad you found our attention to detail so good overall and yes a lot of thought goes into all the aspects including sourcing foods and toiletries etc which are of the highest and purest quality, and organic where possible as well as being vegetarian or vegan. This strict criteria means that we use and make many products, foods and drinks unusual to most hotels and restaurants. Despite this, and being in out in the country we rarely run out of many items and if we do, we make amends by substituting an item - for example if we run out of the house wine we offer another organic wine from the list at no additional charge. In response to your comments re our restaurant, we do aim to produce attractive delicious meals and I am sorry that they were not entirely to your liking – everything is put very quickly on the plate to ensure it is hot. On rare occasion we might be told that in fact a guest is not quite ready for a plate to be delivered, for example they may have left the table momentarily etc in which case it might be popped in the oven for a minute or 2. However this in fact virtually never happens as we plate the dish as soon as we know that the starters have been cleared.
We also know and like Mildreds, but to be fair, it is a very different set up to ours, in terms of furnishings, spacing of diners etc which may enable them to set lower prices. Tibit’s with a buffet where you are charged by weight, is also not in our view a fair comparison. These places seem to receive similar praise and criticism to us which maybe proves the old adage that one cannot please all of the people all of the time.
We appreciate all guest feedback and will constantly strive to exceed all of our customers’ expectations, i can only apologise that this was not entirely the case for your stay.
Yours Sincerely
Janet Whittington and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Lancrigg which is in a beautiful spot. However there's a touch of faded glory about the place. Although the food and service was good, we did feel that it was overpriced. We came away feeling slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edenholme54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review although we were sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed - the prices reflect many aspects including the level of service, the quality of the food and the location and I am glad to hear that these were appreciated, even if you felt the value of our Winter offers not what you hoped. If you have signed up for our newsletter you will receive details of special offers and we hope that you will be tempted to return.
With Best Wishes
Robert Whittington and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We treated ourselves to one night in the wainwright suite- and treated we were! Amazing walks straight from the hotel door rewarded on return with a cup of tea by the roaring open fire in the cosy hotel lounge. The food was truly stunning accompanied by a selection of tasty bottled ales. Service was fantastic at all times, we were made to feel at home from the first instance. Even after just one night we felt truly re-juvenated and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews