We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Time”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My partner and I statyed at this hotel for only a few nights but were sad to leave. The staff were all friendly and helpful and a pleasure to talk to. The food was excellent and I would recommend it to everyone (vegetarian or not), so if you're in the lake district check it out! We were very pleased with our room (Azalea) it was a great place to come back to after a day out by the lakes!
And as mentioned by other guests the views are stunning and so peaceful. I could have sat out on the lawn all day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getouttamytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this great review and recommendation and myself and the team are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time here at Lancrigg. Yes folks, if you are in the Lake District come and check us out - the grounds are great for a wander and the gardens and rooms are a great place to sit and enjoy the peace whilst enjoying a drink, teas or a lunch and we enjoy showing prospective guests rooms in this old historic house.
Thanks again and we hope that you will be returning to Lancrigg in the near future
Yours Sincerely
Janet Whittington and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    102
    44
    29
    12
See reviews for
83
442
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing two night break - stayed in The Wordsworth Room - the earlier problems have clearly been sorted - strong shower, piping hot water, spotless bathroom and comfy four-poster bed.

The food is excellent - nice to be spoilt for choice for a change - and although the hotel was short staffed, we were none-the-less made to feel very welcome (we just had to wait a few minutes as the girl on reception was taking a telephone booking). The breakfasts in particular are very good and it was a nice change to be waited on rather than buffet style.

The setting, as others have mentioned, is perfect. We were lucky as the sun shone throughout the weekend - if you wanted to you could just sit out in the garden and watch the world go by as the scenery is fantastic - we did a small walk on our first day and a big yomp on the 2nd - we saw wild deer and herons, heard the woodpeckers but sadly the red squirrels remained elusive.

The drinks are a little pricey but they are all organic - we tried the house merlot (£20) and Samuel Smiths lager/ale (£4.95) - both very good.

If you like the countryside, veggie food and yomping - this place is hard to beat - enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Helen
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review of your recent stay and we are all very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg in the near future.
yours sincerely Robert Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

This is such a relaxing spot, a mile outside Grasmere nestaling below Helm Crag the views accros the valley are just stunning. Sit on the lawn facing Lancrig and you are confronted at this time of year with a high back thick with daffodills, the birdsong in an evening is captivating interspersed with the hammer of what must be several woodpeckers in the adjacent somewhat overgrown arboretum. For new visitors remember to fill in the sheet on reception each morning with a time you would like dinner then be sure to be in the sitting room at least half an hour before dinner where you will be offered drinks and choose from a spendid menu. Breakfasts are just as good as dinner i loved the homemade toasted granola. Staff are always friendly and it is all defiantly a bit quirky with each room having a very differnt character I have stayed about 4 times over the last few years the time between Chistmas and new year is very special.
Walks are many and you have a great choice starting from the front door whether it is an easy 20 mins into Grasmere, a 3 hour round trip to the captivating Easedale Tarn or a full days walk you don't need the car at all.
We have met some facinating people here over the years and look forward to going back again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank timm586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Tim M Thank you for your great review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed being at Lancrigg again. It is our aim that all guests have a truly relaxing stay and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of Lancrigg which indeed is full of Lakeland character which we try to preserve. We too enjoy meeting the wonderful people who stay here. we look forward to welcoming you back to Lancrigg
Best Wishes Robert Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have stayed at Lancrigg many times over the past few years and we always enjoy the warm welcome, the awesome setting and the excellent food. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. We particularly like the John Richardson room with the wonderful bath. We meet such interesting people in the comfortable sitting room. Great walks straight from the hotel and close to Grasmere village so no need to get into the car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buxtonbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Buxton belle
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review and myself and the staff wre very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. the Richardson Room is certainly full of character and history as this is where John Richardson planned his Arctic expeditions and is a regular favourite with guests. We look for to welcoming you back to Lancrigg again soon.
Yours Sincerely Robert Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our third visit to Lancrigg and we will certain return again. It was the first time that we had stayed in Kitty Crag. We were in Larch, which has fabulous views across the dale, with tawny owls calling in the trees and even a roe deer in the garden on one morning. The walk through the wooded gardens to the hotel was a delight, though we were blessed with fine weather. Our room was full of character and very comfortable. The owners and staff were helpful and attentive and the food absolutely delicious. You don't need to be vegetarian to enjoy the beautifully prepared and presented meals at Lancrigg. Its a good job that the fells are there to work off the excess! A splendid weekend. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a walk to the main hotel, Kitty Crag is the perfect hideaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely positive review of your stay at Kitty Crag and myself and the staff are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable return visit. The rooms at Kitty Crag which have recently been refurbished are proving very popular for the extra getting away from it all factor in this already very peaceful valley, and the woodland walk to the hotel has delighted many who often rebook Kitty Crag for their stays. I look forward to welcoming you again to Lancrigg or Kitty Crag and thanks again for your review.
Yours Sincerely
Janet Whittington and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stressed out, Tired and in need of rejuvenation and what we received was so much more, a very Warm welcome and a tour around ground Floor which included Dining Room,Lounge and our bedroom ' The John Richardson Room' which had the most amazing views of Easedale and grounds of hotel. Comfortable seats in the bay window which we sat and rested our weary legs after a long days walk listening to the birdsong and admiring the views- utter bliss... The roll Top bath in this bedroom was sheer luxury. The staff were very friendly and would go that extra mile to make sure your needs were meet. Although we were not vegetarians we throughly enjoyed the food,it was full of flavours and well presented Top marks to the chef.... The treat of the day for us was Flask of tea and chocolate brownies-HEAVEN

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Ian B
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely account of your recent stay and we are all pleased that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating stay here at Lancrigg. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lancriig n the near future.
Best Wishes
Robert Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recently stayed here for our wedding anniversary, courtesy of a Groupon voucher. We were housed in the Kitty Crag annex which is only a very short walk through the woods to the main hotel. We initially had Juniper room, but moved to Larch the next day as there was no hot water. The owner was however, very keen to make this good by moving us to a room with ample hot water for a lovely bath following a drenching, freezing walk upto the Langdales! It's been a number of years since we've had the priviledge of staying here and yes I agree the main hotel could probably do with a bit of a spruce up, but in someways, the shabby-chicness adds to the ambience. I would hate to see the place modernised and turned into something it isn't meant to be. The food was great, as we remembered it to be. The staff were all very friendly and efficient.
Staying in the two rooms was a happy accident in some ways, as we got to see the different characers of the rooms, which are very individual and so personal. Loved the fact that there was no TV in the room - why would you need one when you have the scenery, the birds and routes to plan?
Our only criticisms would be that the rooms aren't very soundproof and that there is no drying place for boots and waterproofs and the like - something which is fairly essential in the land of rain and torrents! Otherwise, we couldn't have been happier. Thank you so much again for sharing your home with us.

Room Tip: Larch room had lovely views up to the fells and the front of the annex. A beautiful view, regardless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stargirl6673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sequoya, Owner at The Lancrigg Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
dear Stargirl Thank you for taking the time to post this great review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in both the rooms due to the the hot tank immersion problem which was fixed ready for the next guests. As none of the bedrooms actually adjoin another bedroom they are very quiet, and because you were the only people those nights I was a little perplexed as to how you found the the rooms not very soundproof - i wonder if it was because I was using the sewing machine ( a rare event!) in the office below when I thought you were out and I can only think it this that you heard for which I apologise! Otherwise please email me to let me know of any other disturbance as providing peace and quiet is always our aim. Thank you for your helpful comment re you would like drying facilities and though we don't have room for a dedicated drying room we are always pleased to assist with this and I will ensure that I notify guests of this in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back to Kitty Crag and I hope you will be returning soon for another stay..
With Best Wishes
janet Whittington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg Hotel is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 1/2 mile from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to residents and non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available and a lunch menu served from 12pm until 4:30pm. The restaurant is available from 6pm to 9pm, booking is reccomended. The Lancrigg is currently a vegetarian Hotel (vegan option available), however we are currently undergoing renovation to offer a flexitarian menu(still vegetarian but with fish and meat available) and a fully stocked bar will be following soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing