We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently, with a special offer deal that represented very good value. (1) Accommodation - Our room (Azalea) was very nice indeed - spacious, comfortable, bright and very quiet & peaceful. There is a small "terrace", or outside sitting area, to the one side, which would be wonderful in warmer weather. The bed was kingsize and exceptionally comfortable - we had 2 wonderful nights' sleep. A few small criticisms - I would expect to have biscuits to accompany my morning tea (I very rarely stay anywhere where biscuits are not provided). Boxes of tissues are also usually available in high-end establishments such as this. Finally, although the "spa" bath was fantastic, and there was plenty of hot water, the shower area over the bath was cramped by the less-than-pristine curtain.

The guest lounge is a joy - with wonderful log fire and comfortable sofas. Very relaxing in the evening.

(2) Location - The location is superb, with wonderful walks right on the doorstep - e.g. Easedale Tarn or Helm Crag, and just a short walk into Grasmere, partly on a very pleasant footpath (a permissive path).

(3) General - Food and Service - Breakfasts were very good indeed, with excellent choice of cooked dishes or various delicious breads, cereals with fruit, croissants, all interesting and tasty. We found the evening meals (main courses) to be rather too "hearty" and lacking in refinement, although the choice was varied. The service overall, although perfectly pleasant and efficient (and very good in the restaurant), was somewhat impersonal and did not meet expectations of a warm Lakeland welcome by the owners of the establishment. This was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend for my niece's wedding. She had raved about this place before and I thought she was overdoing the praise a little. How wrong could I be! This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The setting is just idyllic and the hotel is full of charm and history. The owners and staff are great - nothing is too much trouble. The food is AMAZING (and I'm not a vegetarian)! Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KorenBatMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at Lancrigg just before christmas 2012 for a friends wedding and it was incredible! The view and the surrounding area is stunning and there are plenty of long walks, fresh air and space!
The staff are ridiculously helpful and relaxed, more like a family really. The food was delicious and we wish we could have taken the chef's home with us! It probably seems that most of the reviews on Lancrigg are to good to be true but we tell you this it is exactly as people are saying! Thank you so much for making our stay! Peace

Room Tip: We loved this place but it is characterful and if you are into really modern room hotels this is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Having already been back to this hotel for the 3rd time this year with another couple of trips in the pipeline this hotel has been a saviour to me! Completely restful and chilled break - staff absolutely brilliant - know the menus inside out and are always happy to help! Chef is top notch :)

The room we stayed in was great - amazing view - no matter what time of year! The grounds to this hotel are brilliant and the area is breath taking!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBlue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We're just back from a fantastic short New Year's stay at Lancrigg. The food was - as it has been on our previous visits - excellent (vegetarian food at its best), and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Robert and Janet - the owners - and family and staff made a great effort to make New Year's eve special with a quiz and superb canopies with our champagne at midnight. Over the duration of our stay the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed and our late decision to go away for New Year was well rewarded.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a wonderful view. This time we stayed in Dickens, and really li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenandred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed over Christmas 2012. Had been for a meal some years ago, but this was first stay. Not disappointed. Excellent location, excellent food (choice of vegetarian, vegan and gluten free), excellent service, excellent hospitality, excellent company, very comfortable room, reasonable weather. No complaints whatsoever. Even Santa made an appearance! Only one complaint - put on "several" pounds! Roll on next Christmas ...

Room Tip: Front rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountaingoat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lancrigg hotel.....a great location in Grasmere set in beautiful grounds with great walks on the doorstep...Easdale tarn, Silver Howe, Helm crag. Our room, "The Dickens” was comfortable and the whirlpool bath was an added treat after an afternoon walking. The meals were delicious and my husband who is not vegetarian enjoyed every morsel his favourite being the mushroom and Brazil nut roulade. The staff was very friendly and attentive at all times. The whole experience was of peace and tranquillity just what we needed after a busy run up to Christmas. Thanks again and we will be revisiting Lancrigg.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziwong02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale,800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which serves a classic bar menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 12pm to 11pm (last food orders 8:30pm), booking is recommended. The Lancrigg restaurant offers up a 4 or a 5 course al a carte menu or alternatively an 8 course tasting menu. In order to preserve The vegetarian history at Lancrigg we have a full vegetarian menu offering both ala carte and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing