We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled for choice!”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant at Lancrigg to celebrate my birthday and were absolutely bowled over by the welcome we received. As long-standing vegetarians we have got used to a choice of one or two items on a regular restaurant menu if we're lucky. So when we found the Lancrigg website and took a look at their all vegetarian menu we decided to give it a try. When we arrived the receptionist invited us to take a walk in their woods to build up an appetite before dinner, which we did. Such fabulous views and beautiful surroundings deserve to be admired so leave plenty of time before you sit down to eat! The food was superb and the service was warm and friendly. I even got a special candle on my blackberry and apple crumble to blow out on my special day! Many thanks for a really special night out. We both heartily recommend visiting Grasmere especially so that you can enjoy the Lancrigg!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

The view from the hotel and the restaurant is fantastic -- extremely beautiful. The food was excellent, as was the service -- especially by the server Helena, who combines efficiency with gentle humor. Since we live in Cumbria, we do not stay in hotels here, but we often eat at restaurants, and the Lancrigg Vegetarian is one of our absolute favorites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EggplantCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

After staying three nights in Elterwater we spent a night at the Lancrigg. It was a very different experience.The room could do with an upgrade but the views were absolutely wonderful. A couple of chairs in front of the window would have been good too. Dinner was lovely and I can certainly recommend the polenta pancakes with beans. The very berry sundae was also well received. My partner had the green Thai curry which she was not so impressed with.The bed was very comfortable and to wake up to the views was lovely. However the time it took to get breakfast was 40 minutes which would have been more frustrating if we were in a hurry to go walking that day. Potentially more staff needed for a busy weekend?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to get away from the city, stunning location, quaint rooms and with the option of bringing your four legged friend along! We loved it, as did our dog! Friendly helpful staff and the food is excellent even if you're vegetarian or not, breakfast is great and dinner was delicious, one night we stayed out late in grasmere and brought back a takeaway and the staff were more than happy to bring drinks and cutlery etc to the room.
The walks around the hotel are stunning.
We had a great stay, my boyfriend left some shirts in the wardrobe behind by accident and the hotel called us to say they could post them back to us no problem!
Would love to stay again shame it is such a long way from london.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parakeetsinmygarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Thank you for the wonderful stay at your beautiful Hotel. It is in the perfect location, immersed in stunning scenery and we loved exploring the local area. The Whittington suite was lovely, spacious yet cosy with great views! The food has inspired me with my recent change to Vegetarianism. "Every mouthful is a delight" were Marcus the non-vegetarian's words; the food was enough to turn a bacon butty loving builder ;-) I could taste the loving attention in every ingredient used, I particularly enjoyed the variety in the salads. Also we really appreciated using your local and environmentally friendly bathroom products.
Thanks to the staff for making us feel so at home. The service was exceptional.
The only bad part was leaving. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

On navigating the narrow track up the hill to Lancrigg, we were greeted by a stunning looking old country house, nestled in its own grounds with beautiful views out over the Lake District countryside. Our rooms were nicely furnished and cosy, with clean bathrooms and very high quality toiletries. A short stroll towards the cragg before it got dark was enough to show us the true beauty of the surroundings here and work up an appetite for dinner...

And what a dinner! In the lovely relaxing dining room, we enjoyed an unrushed three-course vegetarian meal of the very highest standard. As others have described in reviews here, the food is top notch and some of the finest vegetarian fare we have experienced anywhere in the world.

The isolated location meant a very comfortable and quiet night's sleep and we only had time for a short early morning walk the following day before the filling and varied breakfast saw us ready to leave Lancrigg to journey on. We left here feeling that we'd experienced somewhere very special indeed - and we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times for weekend breaks while visiting the lakes. This is a very special place, a large county house with grounds in which to walk and set overlooking the beautiful Easedale valley. The service is personal and genuine, and the restaurant deserving of a Michelin star - it is vegetarian restaurant and I am a meat eater but would eat here every time. Breakfast too, is a revelation. In short, this is a place of retreat, tranquility and lakeland beauty; my only regret is that we didn't find it a lot earlier.
Nick Jones

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.8 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £64 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 800 meters walk from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a truly wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available from both the restaurant and The Poets cafe bar which opens from 8:30am for breakfast and serves a classic lunch menu from 11am till late. The restaurant is available from 6:30pm. The Lancrigg restaurant offers a fantastic a la carte menu to suit all diet. Booking is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing