We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Lancrigg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lancrigg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Thrapston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I can't fault Lancrigg. Lovely food, perfect location, great service, and my room (Maple) in the separate Kitty Crag house was exactly what I needed for a quiet, relaxing walking/cycling break. What a treat to walk with the deer on the way to breakfast. I can't wait to come back, both on my own, and with my family.

Room Tip: Provided you don't have mobility problems, the Kitty Crag house, 5 minutes walk from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    102
    44
    29
    13
See reviews for
83
443
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Markinch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

2 years running we have stayed at Lancrigg on our way south. This time our room was Larch in Kitty Grag. It was great with lovely views. As always the found both dinner and breakfast were good with excellent choice for vegetarians. Again the staff were friendly and helpful, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place is superb, a wonderful peaceful location . It's great for walking in the hills and mountains with Helm Crag nearby. You have 2 options , the hotel or the B and B nearby. We opted for the B and B , Kitty Crag which is lovely. We had a short stroll through the woods every day to the hotel to eat . The food is veggie and vegan and its excellent. They also have a great variety of vegan beers. The staff were so helpful, it felt like we had become one of the family.
Whether you are veggie or not this is a great place to eat and it's open to non residents.
We will definitely be going back its the best hotel in the lakes by miles !

Room Tip: Most Rooms have mountain views ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trashcansinatra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We last visited Lancrigg 25 years ago on honeymoon and it is safe to say that not a lot has changed. We visited as part of a tour of the Lakes, revisiting old haunts and celebrating surviving 25 years of marriage ( and kids!). The magnificent setting in the peace and tranquility of Easedale remain the same. The staff were friendly and the service couldn't be faulted. We ate well in the vegetarian restaurant, a special mention for the rhubarb crime brûlée which was heavenly. The Richardson room was comfortable, quirky and clean but a little in need of a bit of modernisation. We had a lovely two night stay, relaxing and romantic in a truly beautiful building. Modernising might be needed, but it didn't detract from such a special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invinoveritas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lancrigg House is the Lake District lodging that vegetarians and vegans dream about. It offers wonderful food in a lovely setting, plus beautiful, comfortable accommodations. We've eaten many vegetarian and vegan meals in the UK and elsewhere, and Lancrigg House has provided some of the best of those meals. The accommodations feature modern conveniences while being charming and homey. The lounge, open to all guests, contains comfy sofas,along with a variety of reading materials, board games and jigsaw puzzles for rainy days. Beautiful grounds surround the hotel and afford a variety of walks and hikes. You are five minutes' drive from the center of Grasmere and close to Lake Windemere, as well..

Room Tip: The Easedale Room, located on the first floor with a king bed and large ensuite bathroom, features a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

'We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Lancrigg, from the spectacular setting and beauty of the property to the friendly, attentive, unpretentious service and excellent vegetarian meals. The overriding sense of peace and tranquility, following invigorating walks, afforded a cleansing of the spirit and serene sleeping. Wonderful young staff and gracious host (Robert) exuded an easy, understated charm, making our stay particularly pleasurable. '

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our first visit to Lancrigg and certainly won't be the last! Pulled up the long, secluded driveway to be met by a beautiful building with lovely grounds had us won over from the start. The staff were fantastic from the off and were extremely helpful with their time and knowledge of the area. We were placed in the Darwin suite and were greeted with a fantastic, cosy little room with everything you could possibly need. No issues with any of the decor or fittings and the bed was incredibly comfy! Although we are not vegetarians the food very reasonable in price and quality with a wide selection of organic, healthy dishes at our disposal. The surrounding area is simply breathtaking with a great selection of walks and activities to keep you busy. Would recommend the walk to Easedale Tarn which takes you past a fantastic waterfall, with a lagoon for you to dip in (if the weather allows). Grasmere itself is a lovely little village with plenty of helpful locals and an abundance of restaurants and shops to try. The nightlife is not too shabby either with Tweedies Bar providing a host of real ales and live music if that's what takes your fancy. Overall if you're looking for a beautiful hotel brimming with character, history, excellent service and stunning scenery then this is the place for you! Very sad to leave and wish we had booked an extra nights stay! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancrigg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancrigg Hotel

Property: The Lancrigg Hotel
Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lancrigg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancrigg Hotel is set in the totally peaceful and picturesque valley of Easedale, 1/2 mile from Grasmere. The accommodation is comfortable and relaxing and makes a wonderful escape from a busy world. The house has many connections with past and present writers, artists and musicians. The Lancrigg is open to residents and non-residents with a fantastic variety of refreshments available and a lunch menu served from 12pm until 4:30pm. The restaurant is available from 6pm to 9pm, booking is reccomended. The Lancrigg is currently a vegetarian Hotel (vegan option available), however we are currently undergoing renovation to offer a flexitarian menu(still vegetarian but with fish and meat available) and a fully stocked bar will be following soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lancrigg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Hotel
Lancrigg Vegetarian Country Grasmere
The Lancrigg Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing